We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont go on Valentines Day”

Aka Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #267 of 694 Restaurants in Corpus Christi
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Granite Falls, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dont go on Valentines Day”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We were sat down and told since it was Valentines Day, they had no happy hour. We got up and left. Sounds to me like they were trying to take advantage of their regular customers, not happy about it. I responded to their website but have yet to hear something back from them. May not ever return....

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fairbanksishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    5
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great sushi experience...”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

My husband and I had dinner at AKA before a performance at the Selena Auditorium. We were fortunate to hit the Happy Hour menu so our delicious sushi orders were at a reduced rate. We had the veggie roll, Philadelphia roll, and a crispy, spicy tuna roll. All were excellent, beautifully plated, and w/ the Happy Hour prices, very reasonably priced. Service was excellent. We did not have Happy Hour drinks but our wine was still quite good and reasonable. We plan to return...

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MZC-Grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Don't miss out on the happy hour. This is the best sushi I found in this rinky dink town. It's not Uchi in Austin but it's good.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Falls, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Awesome Food!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My wife and I go here every two weeks to eat, they have a special Monday through Weds, some half price Sushi. Love the MonkeyBrains!!!! Awesome service too!! Only had water spilled on me once!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fairbanksishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clute, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Tasty!”
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Good value. Good food. Really liked the tempura -- others in party liked the sushi (I'm not fond of fish). Beautiful presentation on the plate.

Helpful?
Thank cathybettoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aka Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Aka Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing