We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried Galore!”
Review of Catfish Charlie's

Catfish Charlie's
Ranked #13 of 703 Restaurants in Corpus Christi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fried Galore!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Good family oriented place.
Hushpuppies were delicious.
Gumbo looked and tasted day old, everything tasted the same.
Misleading menu in that it advertise Red Potatoes, but get frozen steak fries. A good place to go if you don't care about details.
Catfish was good, but nothing to write "excuse the pun" about. I mean it wasnt seasoned or raw.
All in all it was a fair visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank persaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    85
    32
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just awful!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Really poor service, bad food and filthy restrooms. Guess my experience was different from others. Worse, no one even asked about our meal! Try a truck stop!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LibraryLurker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“If you like shrimp - you'll love Catfish Charlie's”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

As indicated in my last review of Catfish Charlie's some two years ago, we returned there tonight (Tues., Mar. 4). What a meal!!! I told our server, Carrie, that this was our second visit and about the review I gave following our first visit. I told her not to disappoint us and believe me, she didn't.

Service was fast and very efficient. The food was delivered hot and fresh. And the atmosphere had not changed and as before most suitable for a seafood restaurant.

The appetizer consist of a basket of six hush puppies that were wonderful. And should the basket become empty, additional hush puppies will be served if desired.

My wife had the "adult" shrimp dinner which consist of a smaller portion of shrimp. Her only regret was she failed to cut the fries and have a second bowl of beans. She said her dinner was extremely good.

I had the full shrimp dinner which consisted of six very large butterfly shrimp along with slaw and fries. I don't eat beans so I had an extra portion of slaw. The slaw was great. The fries were large and done to perfection. As to the shrimp they had a bread coating that was relatively thin and did not detract from the shrimp itself. Without doubt, this was some of the best shrimp, I've eaten and believe me, I have eaten a lot of shrimp.

Along with the dinner came another basket of hush puppies. Speaking of the hush puppies, they have a slight spicy "bite" to them as do the beans (according to my wife). I suspect it was do to this being a Cajun style restaurant.

My only regret was discovering that I ate too much food.

I sure wish we had a Catfish Charlie's in San Antonio. It would definitely give Sea Island and Red Lobster a run for their money.

Thank you, Catfish Charlie's for a wonderful meal. We'll be back during our next visit to Corpus Christi.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank harrygjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good service + good food = Good Tip!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We wrote this comment on our receipt so the owner and the server could identify our review. One thing that really stood out to me about the visit was the waitress's attitude towards our requests. She was delightful and offered solutions. My hubby wanted to try the frog legs, but didn't want to order 5 or more that came in a meal or appetizer. He just wanted to try only 2. The waitress had no problem. She brought out two right away. Then on the menu they had this huge $9 salad. I only wanted a small salad to compliment other items I wanted to order. Again, the waitress responded, No problem. Then gave me a small side salad that hit the spot. They bring out these warm fresh hush puppies with butter. It's the best we ever had, no joke. For my meal, I had this tomato based shrimp sauce over rice. Fantastic, warm, loaded with shrimp. My hubby had the red beans, fries, and fried oysters. Very tasty, not greasy, good portion sizes. last, we tried the key lime pie, it was amazing. My hubby tried their cheese cake. The sizes of these slices rivaled the cheese cake factory in Austin and the taste was outstanding. We were really pleased with the staff, the food and the service. We'll be back and we'll recommend our friends go too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 123welovetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, fun place”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We were in Corpus Christi on a getaway and have fun trip when we came across this place. We were looking through Trip Advisor hunting for a great place to eat and decided to try Catfish Charlies. We were Not disappointed. We had the fried frog legs and boy were they huge. The waitress said they were "Texas size" frog legs and that they were. Great food and great atmosphere if your looking for a casual fun place to eat.

Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catfish Charlie's also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Catfish Charlie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing