We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not A Happy Birthday ”
Review of Catfish Charlie's

Catfish Charlie's
Ranked #10 of 694 Restaurants in Corpus Christi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not A Happy Birthday ”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

My Husband and I ate here tonight on 02/11/2014.Today is my Birthday. We stopped here on our way to Port Aransas.As soon as we sat down it seems our waitress only wanted to hurry us through our meal.We got there an hour and ten minutes before closing so it is not like we got there before closing. My husband got chicken fried steak that was burned on the edges. I encouraged him to send it back but he is one of those who is afraid of what they might do if you send it back. I got the seafood feast which was very good and was the only good part of our experience. I am a real people person and am disappointed when people in the service industry are not friendly in return.I heard our waitress asked the people next to us if they wanted dessert but never asked us.As we were leaving she was too busy watching TV to say good bye.It will be a while before we go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank gem21159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    83
    30
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
176 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fun and Good”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Yes, fried is the main preparation but it is not greasy and very tasty. We had excellent service and both oysters and catfish were very tasty .

Helpful?
Thank Hancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, the Lone Star State
Level Contributor
338 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Seafood Heaven”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I've finally found a seafood joint I like in Corpus Christi. Catfish Charlie's is IT.

Not a fancy place - not an elegant place - but delicious food and great service, at attractively low prices. Their entrees and side dishes are all excellent. This is where the locals eat. Don't waste your time on the expensive chain restaurants. Eat here, you won't be sorry!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover
Level Contributor
182 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Too Much Fried”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Not sure why this place is rated so highly by others. The only plus seemed to be the waitress who was very pleasant and helpful. Otherwise, it just seems like the same old deep fried stuff in a pretty plain room.

Not worth making a special trip for.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really Good!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been going to corpus for years and have had very bad luck with restaurants. Other then the obvious chain ones. While there this month we visited Catfish Charlie's. It was a pleasant experience. Our waitress was awesome and the food was great! We will be going back again.

Helpful?
Thank yleija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catfish Charlie's also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Catfish Charlie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing