We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lady gaveme Free Shrimp Sample”
Review of Tropical Ocean Cafe - CLOSED

Tropical Ocean Cafe
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lady gaveme Free Shrimp Sample”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Never had that kind of shrimp before, it had creamy white sauce with pecans. Wow. I wanted more but it was something they were just getting ready toput on the menu, pecan shrimp i think, at least i got a Picture of it but I ate my other food. sorry , OK Picture looks better than I thought from my cell phone I went there on there Grand Opening and they had Jumpy Houses for the kids and a Band. My Grandkids played for free since we went there to eat. Fried Fish was good and my Husband had the Fried shrimp. Very Meaty. Good service and Hot Food. Don't know if it's always this much fun but I'll try them again next time I'm in Corpus Christi.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Grandmaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stigler, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place, staff, and food. Best we found.”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

The staff was great, with laid back atmosphere. We found the restaurant and walked in and they were watching the football game and we knew right then it was the place. Plus the only place we found that served a shark steak. Michelle is great, and when ya go in tell her the boys from Oklahoma says hello. I'm going back that's for sure.

Helpful?
3 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Under new management”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I really hope to see all of y'all come back and try us out...It's a nice places to hang out with..Come check out are special ..We are offering catering,Book your next party there are meeting,

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 184Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aransas Pass, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Really great people and atmosphere, heard about this place from some friends and the food was really good what's Kewl is the safari trip in there and a little gift shop with some real pretty jewelry and things for the kids so if you are in corpus I urge you to check this place out.

Helpful?
2 Thank Deadguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great people but dry food”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I really liked the people that either own or work at this restaurant but the food was awful dry, inedible. The people were so very nice, but no on the food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank blakeshuskermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Ocean Cafe also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing