We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pier 99

Pier 99
Ranked #42 of 690 Restaurants in Corpus Christi
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“Food was amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Food tasted great.....especially the shrimp. Service was great ....loved the atmosphere.Band was great as well...very upbeat!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidRonda143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    182
    125
    80
    104
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food, sub-par service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Beach restaurant. Food was very good, and the seafood was quite good. Only had one drink refill and that was after I flagged down our server. Had to ask for my salad. Had to remind her about condiments we requested. Looked around at other tables with other servers, and they had the same issues.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GaryMarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Food OK but Waiter was Awful!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I ate here for lunch on a Saturday. We'd spent the morning wandering around North Beach and the aquarium and were feeling the heat when we stopped for lunch. We just wanted some cold drinks and a light meal before touring the Lexington. Our waiter acted really irritated that he couldn't talk us into ordering more than just non-alcoholic drinks and a couple appetizers. Since we were dressed like summer tourists in shorts and tee-shirts and only ordered about $30 worth of food, I guess the waiter thought we were cheapskates and provided service accordingly. He took our order and he didn't stop by our table again until it was time to leave the check. Someone else brought our food and we couldn't get the waiter's attention to refill our drinks. The staff didn't seem inclined to help each other since the two other servers that we asked for refills said they would tell our waiter but didn't offer to take care of it. The food was okay but nothing special. The prices seemed about average compared to other restaurants offering similar fare. When the waiter brought our check, we asked for drink refills. My husband tried to give him the credit card to pay then, but the waiter said he'd be right back. After 10 minutes we asked another server if she would get him. She said he'd be right back. We waited five more minutes without him showing up with drinks or to take care of the credit card. By then we were really irritated and ready to leave. We don't usually carry much cash, but we managed to scrape together enough to cover the bill and a small tip so we could get out of there.

The restaurant is in a great location between the aquarium and Lexington and the outdoor seating was nice with the sea breeze blowing through. Even though the food wasn't great, the atmosphere is casual and should be tourist friendly. However, the service was just so terrible that I couldn't possibly recommend Pier 99.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kyriecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I ate here yesterday with a friend who was visiting out of town.
she has eaten here a few times and even said its.not the greatest (but her daughter really wanted to eat here ).

Staff seemed really nice and a bit rushed, they were pretty busy.

We sat on the back porch with an amazing view of the Lexington.
Sadly it was pretty windy outside but with no seats inside we just dealt with it.
(not the staffs fault obviously)

Now the food.. The food wasn't great. The friend shrimp were fried for to long and some almost completely burnt.
The salad was decent but made me sick after.
(I'm allergic to most dish soaps used in restaurants, and since normally the soap leaves behind residue I get sick..)

Maybe another day they would.be better...



Helpful?
Thank Sierra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food but the service is a little slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

The place looks like a run down shack and it probably was before it was made into a restaurant. Eat outside as that area seem to be better kept up for some reason. The shrimp was extremely good! It was fresh, tender, extremely flavorful, and you get a lot for the asking price. The only reason I did not give the place a 5 on the score is the service. I was there twice and the 1st time the staff had a great attitude, willing to answer questions about Corpus Christi and the surrounding area. The 2nd time, even though half of the staff were the same people they were completely closed off and ignored questions.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MLRushing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier 99 also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pier 99? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing