We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be deceiving.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Corpus Christi
Ranked #15 of 79 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Let me start with why I picked this hotel. My family and I went to Corpus Christi for my daughters orientation at Texas A&M. The hotel was a short drive to the college and close to the mall for us to do some shopping. This was our first time staying at a Hyatt and we had heard so many good things about their hotel. We weren't enthused about the price initially, but in the end, the location and Hyatt's reputation convinced us.

When heading to the hotel, we had to uturn and circle back around because the entrance is impossible to catch.

We showed up a couple hours before their scheduled check in time and were unable to check in. Which wasn't a big deal, except when we came back at 3, the young lady working the front desk had to go to the back to check which rooms were cleaned. She didn't seem like she enjoyed her job very much and was somewhat rude. This was just mildly annoying, but again, not a huge deal.

We got to our room and everything looked nice. It's a new hotel and everything initially reflected that. My husband sat down and attempted to turn on the TV and got a fuzzy screen. He called the front desk and they tried walking him through how to fix it but it didn't work. They said they would send someone up to fix it but never did. Later, my daughter noticed a line of ants along the wall where the window was. I went down and told the front desk and they offered to move us to a different room but only had king rooms available so we declined.

The next morning we woke up and had no hot water. We let the shower run for 20 minutes and still no change in temperature. My husband called the front desk and was told that it happens all the time and they unfortunately couldn't do anything about it. So we all suffered through cold showers and then headed down stairs for breakfast. The breakfast is included in your stay which was great for us (and another reason we decided to deal with the price of the hotel.) The breakfast area is cute, it's buffet style with a little sunroom off to the side. However, they kept running out of items and when the staff was asked to retrieve more, they huffed and made us feel like we were bothering them. The tables were sticky and the buckets for dirty dishes were over flowing. The food was good though.
When we checked out, the girl helping us was wonderful. She apologised for everything that had went wrong and quickly took down our name and phone number when we requested a follow up. She wasn't able to give us a receipt since we booked through Priceline, which again, was mildly annoying but not a huge deal.

We never heard back from the hotel. Which was unacceptable. The reviews that we have heard from friend about other Hyatt's made us expect an outstanding stay and while most things just mildly bothered us, we left with a very unsatisfied feeling. We don't plan on staying at a Hyatt again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JessRod159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretta C, General Manager at Hyatt Place Corpus Christi, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We must express regret for your unpleasant experience at our hotel. We understand that the price of our hotel in the summer months is quite higher than what other destination city prices are. Most important to us is that you did not experience what you had expected from us. We have made many changes since your stay, including management. The team that is currently in place is working diligently to right the wrong that has been prevalent in the past few months of operation. Most of the problem has been that the staff had been severely under-trained to operate our property. Our staff, now, is undergoing rigorous training so that experiences such as yours do not happen to guest s going forward. We have made great strides in improvement and every day we see the brighter “light at the end of the tunnel.” The shining moment will be when we are able to have you back to see how we can exceed the expectation that you have for us. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 477 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

It was kind of an impluse stay as we intended to camp on the beach, but a little sunburn and a lot of wind convinced us we'd had enough "roughing it". The Hyatt place is located near some really great restaurants and the aquarium we visited the next day. Also the staff was wonderful. Zack was awesome, he recommended a great place to eat and was all around genuinely helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLuca12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretta C, Manager at Hyatt Place Corpus Christi, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We thank you for noticing our hard working team’s efforts. We are here simply to provide you the stay experience that is hard to come-by. We hope the impression that we left with you will urge you to return and experience Hyatt Place Corpus Christi even more. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We used our Hyatt points for a weekend stay. The hotel is less than 2yrs old so it is nice and clean. The staff up front was very courteous and helpful during check in. The indoor pool and weight/exercise room were good amenities to have. We were off to a great weekend until we had an issue with our room or reservation. Apparently, they checked us out or did something with our room andother another party. It was a bit of a hassle and I had to call Hyatt passport because they said I only had my reservation for one night with my points when in reality I booked the entire weekend. Well I gotta say Micah and I may be spelling her name wrong but she made things right. Whether it was a system issue or not she definitely took care of us and followed thru on her promises. She was great and even did a late cleaning of our room because we got back from the beach on Sat. and no one came by to clean because apparently they had us checked out. Well after we got over that the rest of the stay was great! One thing I have to say and I know reviewers before have commented on the same thing. Breakfast service does seem short staffed and cleaning is non-existent. They almost need to hire another body or so and dedicate one to clean up after people leaving tables like other hotels do. It is a mess with so much traffic and you have to clean your own table.

Room Tip: From SPID, exit Airline to avoid the impossible exit off of NIle. This way you can just ride the ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LjGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretta C, Manager at Hyatt Place Corpus Christi, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate that you took notice of the efforts of one of our team members. We try to present you the experience that is second-to-none. We sometimes fall short of that goal; however, we continue to put forth the effort to make this hotel a great place to stay. We are in constant training and are supplying our staff with better tools and more man-power to make the change that guests, like you, see that we need. We hope the positive feelings that we left with you will urge you to return and experience Hyatt Place Corpus Christi even more. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with family of 6. Hotel staff was friendly and very accommodating. Love the options from the front desk, assortment of snacks, soft drinks, pastries, or a drink from the bar. Room was large with 2 Queen beds and queen sofa sleeper all comfortable. Breakfast was delicious with many options.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Sherri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretta C, Manager at Hyatt Place Corpus Christi, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Thank you for supplying a review of our hotel. We are happy that you were are set and comfortable during your stay with us. We are happy that you were able to make your way down to our Gallery market for snacks and drinks. We are even more delighted that you felt welcomed by a friendly and accommodating staff. That is most important to us and that what we are here for. Hope to see you again, very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Location - Generally a nice location near other hotels, restaurants and businesses near Padre Island. Quirk: It is easy to miss the hotel entrance.

Room - Large room, with large comfortable couch/sitting area. Beds are comfortable. Quirk: the sink is in front of the bed, forcing you to turn on the light and wake the family to wash hands. The family next door was a little noisy.

Service was very responsive handling some problems -
- Somehow our tv remote disappeared. The staff was quick to replace it and made sure it worked with the tv.
- We received a call requesting our billing address due to a computer problem. Instead I went to the front desk to fix it; they immediately informed me this was an attempt at ID theft. I believe they slipped notices under guests doors requesting them not to give personal information over the phone.

Food service - Pretty good, not spectacular. There is a small dining area at the front desk.
Free breakfast was good, filling and included unique dishes, but was not made to order.
Evening menu is prepared for pickup in the lobby. Doesn't taste bad. Limited cocktails are available.

There is also an indoor pool

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TWueste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretta C, Manager at Hyatt Place Corpus Christi, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We understand that there are some moments during your stay that left a bit more to be desired. For that, we apologize. Our staff has since been going through training that will bring about a much better experience for our guests. We hope that you will try us again in the future to see the change that we have made. Management will stand by the product that we provide and do whatever it takes to make sure that our guests find the satisfaction that they deserve. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed ( as always) at the Hyatt while on our anniversary in beautiful Corpus Christie Texas. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, the room spacious and clean. The distance to the beach was a spectacular drive across the scenic causeway. Loved it.

Room Tip: I stayed in RM 401 , top floor, back of the hotel, quiet except for an occaisional hum from the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWestHardin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretta C, Manager at Hyatt Place Corpus Christi, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We thank you for noticing our hard working team’s efforts to provide you with a great product. We are here simply to provide you the stay experience that is gratifying. We hope the impression that we left with you will urge you to return and experience Hyatt Place Corpus Christi, again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very nice hotel and great service. We were there for a graduation and they were good to our family letting our family gather for the celebration. I will stay again. Love the design and the cleanliness of the rooms

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretta C, Manager at Hyatt Place Corpus Christi, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Thank you, so much, for your great review of our hotel. We are glad that everything went well for your graduation and hope that you will find a way to make it back to Corpus Christi for a vacation. It feels great when a guest tells you that you are doing something right and that they would return. We thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
7.6 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 79 in Corpus Christi
3,098 reviews
3 mi away
Embassy Suites by HIlton Corpus Christi
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi
Hilton Garden Inn Corpus Christi
#11 of 79 in Corpus Christi
598 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Corpus Christi
Best Western Corpus Christi
#6 of 79 in Corpus Christi
901 reviews
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Corpus Christi
Courtyard Corpus Christi
#21 of 79 in Corpus Christi
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Corpus Christi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Corpus Christi

Address: 6773 S Padre Island Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78412-4903
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 79 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Price Range: $116 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Corpus Christi 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located conveniently in the heart of Corpus Christi, Texas the newly built Hyatt Place Corpus Christi is your home away from home. The hotel's many amenities include 103 spacious guestrooms, indoor pool, fitness center, Bakery Café, gallery dining and a business center. Traveling for business? Hyatt Place Corpus Christi is centrally located along the busy commercial corridor of South Padre Island Drive. The hotel is convenient to numerous major company offices, Texas A&M University Corpus Christi, Naval Air Station Corpus Christi and the Corpus Christi Army Depot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Corpus Christi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing