We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nothing amazing but nice location in Downtown Corpus”

Water Street Oyster Bar and Sushi Bar
Ranked #11 of 703 Restaurants in Corpus Christi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good food, nothing amazing but nice location in Downtown Corpus”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We ate there and had a nice meal. The Tuna was good, but pricey. The shrimp enchiladas were good, but nothing special. Chicken entree was very good. Wine selection was good, prices reasonable (we had a J Lohr Merlot for $30). Service was good, attentive, but the place was pretty much deserted at 7:30 on a Sunday night. I'd try the Oyster Bar next time, but this is a good option for dinner downtown. Needs a freshening, seemed to be a bit dated/old.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GGWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    133
    43
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good seafood restaurant”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had dinner here on Presidents Day. Even At 6:30 p.m. it was not very busy. The service was good, and the food was good. My wife had the Gulf Sampler, and said it was good. I had a steak, and it was also good. Nothing exceptional, but all quite good. Our only complaint was it was pretty loud. We would go back if we are in the area again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeldiKlutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING QUALITY”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Fabulous restaurant which is very very popular - Need to arrive early as seems full to the rafters every night, but well worth the extra mail to ensure you dine here for the Texan Gulf of Mexico fare experience :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Freshest Seafood in Corpus Christi”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I first visited Water Street in the 90's when it was a small oyster bar in the exact location; at that time they had their oysters outside on ice in a several big Coke ice chests (not sure what to call them) and you could literally choose your oysters. Even thought it has been modernized and expanded to include the Water Street Restaurant, this is still the place to get the freshest seafood, most of it directly from the Gulf of Mexico, in Corpus. Eating seafood, or at least some oysters, at Water Street is a must when in Corpus Christi.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank leeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moulton, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Food was great, service excellent had take out the first night and came back the second night and enjoyed the restaurant. Had excellent shrimp and my favorite oysters.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Street Oyster Bar and Sushi Bar also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Water Street Oyster Bar and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing