We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”

Executive Surf Club
Ranked #21 of 700 Restaurants in Corpus Christi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Love the atmosphere here...the bartender was very accommodating and nice. My only complaint is that the veggie burger was very bland and tasteless...they should look at upgrading their recipe for their veggie burger.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tiffany7_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    81
    21
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Executive Burger!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We've enjoyed going here occassionally over the past 15 years and listening to the bands. My favorite food here is the Executive Burger w/refried beans and Fritos and a cold beer. They have a nice happy hour, too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cctex54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Fun Place, Even in the Rain With Pets”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stopped by here for a quick lunch while in Corpus. It had a good rating by Trip Advisor Reviewers, so we were game. It looked like rain, and we were traveling with my dog, so we checked in and the waitress said we could bring her onto the covered patio.

It was an interesting place. You order at the counter, so no tipping. We were going to have a big dinner so we ordered a few munchie-like plates.

While the chalupas were very skimpy on refried beans, the other ingredients were fresh. The tortillas tasted home-made. They were light and delicious. The onion rings were lightly battered and good, too.

The atmosphere is more college-like. There was welcomed grafitti on all the walls except a few that had large signs NOT to grafitti THIS wall! We thought that was odd, but did give a break in all the busy-ness of decor.

We weren't really in a drinking mood, but it looked like you could close a good deal here if your clients were beer aficionados. But, I imagine it gets pretty loud at night in a busier atmosphere.

The help was unusually friendly. Could be the dog drew them in. But everyone who walked by on their way to the stock room said hello and asked if everything was okay.

I might not dream of going back to this place. No huge memories from our visit, but it was pleasant enough place to pass a few hours in an infrequent rainstorm in Texas.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TallyHoHoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A place for food and fun”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Order at the counter and don't forget a cold beer to go with excellent food. I had fish taco (grilled fish) and enjoyed every bite - very fresh. Others had burgers and nachos and we all agreed it's a great place. The downside is you have to pay for parking in that area of downtown Corpus, but other than that it was a good time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank travlingirl3457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“go for atmosphere, not the service”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We went to this place on the recommendation of our hotel bartender. It has a cool, beachy feel even though it's 2 blocks off the water.

No wait staff, bartender didn't come around to us even though the place was not that busy, or even give us a shout (we were 6 feet away). We sat there a while before figuring out we needed to go to the bar. We ordered food, again at the bar. Then you pick it up when the kitchen staff shouts out your number.

We started with the hot wings. Tasty enough but not very hot (spicy). They were supposed to be served with celery, but they weren't. When we went back to kitchen to ask, we were told they were out, no substitute was offered.

We had burgers and fish & chips. Burgers were OK, but not great. Fish was mushy.

By time we left, still no wait staff and it was busy. We ended up tipping the bar back who cleared our table 3 times and was busting b$tt all over the place.

We won't go back or recommend but it's obviously a local hang out so our review won't matter too much.

Note: beware of the surf board tables. Things will slide off the arched surface.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank volleymom58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Executive Surf Club also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Executive Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing