We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eh, sure isn't Germany”

JB's German Bakery and Cafe
Ranked #1 of 14 Dessert in Corpus Christi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
311 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Eh, sure isn't Germany”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The pretzel bread is good, but everything else we had was just average or below. The service is laughable. You order at the counter and they give you a crochet topped bottle or something and that is what is supposed to guide them to who ordered what according to color. Except it doesn't. A server comes out from the kitchen, after quite a wait, and wonders around until someone says, "hey that's my order". Nothing we got for lunch was anything I would go back for, and the schnitzel coating was soggy and salty. The cheesecake was light and fluffy like a fake cool whip combo. The breakfast strudel looked like it had been sitting there for two days, although it was on sale.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TheMaven2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    84
    35
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Variety of Breads & Pastries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our family had supper here just before the shop closed for the evening. Orders are placed at the bakery counter but brought to the table. I had a Reuben sandwich that was on fresh bread.It was good but the meat was a bit tough. They have a large selection of bread and buns to choose from and have specials on multiple loaves. We were disappointed that they only had pork schnitzel. My husband enjoyed a bratwurst sandwich. We bought a cherry danish and upon our request they heated it in a microwave. It was flavorful and tender. Another chocolate strudel type pastry was a bit dry. The cup of shortbread cookies with sprinkles that we bought for our grandson were excellent. The owners were very friendly and did not rush us. I would like to try their breakfast and buy bread next time we are in S. Padre.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Does Not Follow Health Codes”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The bakery has good bakery items but does not follow health codes.
The bakery stores ice in an ice chest with a ice scooper (including handle) in ice chest. They often throw the ice scooper into the ice chest and allow the handle just touched to also touch the ice. This is a huge health code violation which can lead to a lot of health problems.
I would not return there due to their lack of care in proper handling of ice and customers health.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelgirlvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Rich, fruity and heavy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have never eaten at a German bakery but this one had great food. The pastries were rich, fruity and heavy. The coffee was very good and the waffles were sweet and unique.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel2012_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great German Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I'm pretty fussy about my German food and for some reason here in the States, it's hard to find good German food.
But the food here in excellent and authentic with good service. I recommend the schnitzel as it's very well done. Certainly the best German food you're going to find south of Austin.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank utpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JB's German Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to JB's German Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing