We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what Padre Island needs” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JB's German Bakery and Cafe

JB's German Bakery and Cafe
Ranked #1 of 14 Dessert in Corpus Christi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Jacksonville, NC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just what Padre Island needs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have visited this wonderful addition to the island food scene numerous times. I always have whatever quiche is the quiche of the day. This time it was tomato quiche made with cherry tomatoes. It was yummy! That and sugar cookies shaped like a surfer and surfboard were all I needed. I highly recommend taking an assortment from the bakery case home with you to enjoy later.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NCTraveler107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    82
    33
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad Attitude”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was my second trip to Corpus Christi this year and my second stop at JBS German Bakery and Cafe. On our first visit we had a lovely breakfast and really enjoyed our visit but on our second visit the service and attitude we received was not good at all. I always try to look the side of the workers but this time I was just not very pleased. It was a late breakfast and I asked for the Bratwurst with curry sauce and I was told, with attitude, that this was a lunch item and I could not have it. I did explain to the lady that I had the same item last time I was in, just a few weeks earlier and it was about the same time. But noooooo, could not have that item. So I ordered another item. When getting our coffee, my wife asked another server if we could not have the item I wanted and they said they would check. To my surprise I could have it. Our original server was not happy and told the new server she could wait on us. Not that I cared for the first servers feelings, but really...customer service is what makes and breaks restaurants. I just hope the owners replace some of their help. I will not revisit this restaurants and I will advise all my friends and family the same. Pity, the food is very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidfromHitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, TX
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My wife loved their Bee Sting cakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We visited this place 3 times during our 3-day vacation at Corpus Christi. My wife loved their bee sting cakes. We also had their lunch special. They were not heavy and good for a light lunch. It was very casual to eat there and good services.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KL_RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
171 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great bread and sandwhiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were late for dinner so settled for a Reuben and the last Pork cutlet. My Reuben was fantastic - on toasted rye, of course! It came with an odd German potato salad and sauerkraut. It was a puddle of potato salad - don't know what else to say except that I did not like it. My husband liked his pork cutlets with sauerkraut which was sort of potato-y. We took our food out on the deck and enjoyed the cool breezes. Dessert was Apple Strudel which was quite good tho I'd have used less sugar and made a lighter crust. Total was just $22!
We came back a couple of times for the bread which is the best! We stocked up on rolls for the trip north and enjoyed them even the next day with lunch meat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kay036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Staff needs training”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Just finished lunch there. Not a good experience. My wife ordered a chicken strudel. I asked what made a Germanburger different. Counter person didn't know and had to find someone who did. After getting that info I ordered one, at that time my wife's lunch came out of the microwave! It took quite some time for my burger so my wife was done well before mine came out of the kitchen. I saw the kitchen person place my order on the counter and heard her yell "order". My burger sat there while the counter staff was selling pastries. I finally got up and asked if I could have mine before it got cold. It was given to me but I had to ask for tableware. I ate half of my lukewarm burger and asked for a box intending to bring he the leftovers so I could warm them and eat them hot. Not one person asked us how our food was or even acknowledged our meals weren't done at the same time. I would not go to this place again. The food isn't good enough to put up with their poor service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alpinebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JB's German Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to JB's German Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing