We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a mistake!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Corpus Christi
Ranked #58 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Denison, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a mistake!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

First off, we found no wash cloths, and when we asked the maid for one. We were told that they didn't have any. But the next morning, we went to front desk, they immediately had the maid bring some to us. The 1st. night the tv worked well. The next morning it wouldn't give us nothing but snow, the remote quit working all together. The computer has been slow since the beginning. The stove, shoved in a closet wouldn't boil water to boil an egg. The refridgeator Would not keep food cold.The toilet ran continuously after flushing. No hot water from sink or shower. Beds are comfortable. Found no bugs in room, yet. Carpet spotted either with bleach or mud from workers boots. To all our church friends and camping club friends, stay somewhere else. Motel management and corporate offices don't car, so don't bother with them. We made a costly mistake. This Howard Johnson not like the ones we grew up with, back in the days when these people were decent and cared about service and their image.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    72
    80
    77
    83
See reviews for
173
65
21
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

great place good breakfest,everybody was very helpful and took time to satisfy us including telling us about the b est places to eat and vist

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Many, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I used TripAdvisor to select this hotel. I made my decision to stay based on price and the fact that there were so many excellent reviews. When you make selections based on mid to low range price level you should adjust your expectations accordingly. I certainly didn't expect this hotel to be top notch but I expected them to excel in the necessities.

Positives:

1. Clean
2. Remodeled with new furniture
3. Low price 42.00 per night

Negatives

1. Did not receive clean towels daily
2. A/C leaked on floor
3. Ice machine was sketchy
4. Wi-Fi did not work at all
5. Hot water was sporadic
6. Limited breakfast
7. Poor tv picture
8. Door stuck

This hotel was tolerable but not a diamond in the rough which was what I thought at first.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank lilwhirly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Corpus Christi hotels

sanantonio tx
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I've been staying at the corpus christi location for a fair amount of time now.I have had no problems at all rooms are kept clean,property has nice clean appearance. Furniture is comfortable, rooms are spacious.Employees are great .special thanks to cindi at the front desk for going an above and beyond normal expectations.to help me reserve my stays here and elsewhere.rates are very fair.overall great.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjeessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
4.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#37 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Corpus Christi
WoodSpring Suites Corpus Christi
#49 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plaza Inn
Plaza Inn
#52 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corpus Chr...
#48 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
11.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Corpus Christi South
Red Roof Inn Corpus Christi Sout...
#40 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Corpus Christi
Super 8 Corpus Christi
#61 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Corpus Christi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Corpus Christi

Property: Howard Johnson Corpus Christi
Address: 6301 Ih 37, Corpus Christi, TX 78409-2719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Corpus Christi 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Corpus Christi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing