We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Migas are a Must”
Review of Hi-Ho Restaurant

Hi-Ho Restaurant
Ranked #72 of 700 Restaurants in Corpus Christi
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Migas are a Must”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Went with friends to try this family owned restaurant with traditional Mexican home cooking. I let them order for me, migas with bacon, refried beans and fried potatoes. With warm and yummy homemade flour tortillas. Enjoyed viewing the photos on the walls of famous people from Corpus Christi who have visited.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CORPUS CHRISTI
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Taquitos in Corpus Christi”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Taquitos are made with fresh flour tortillas. Delicious! Open from early morning to 2:45 P.M. for breakfast and lunch. I also enjoy their migas plate. My husband usually orders the huevos ranchero or enchiladas plate. This is an unimposing, neighborhood, family cafe with good, inexpensive food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MARY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty & Affordable”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The daily lunches are delicious and the prices are great. There is not a lot of atmosphere just good food. Love the Pork Chops and the big flour tortillas.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food...ANYWHERE.”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Hi-Ho is the best...period. Having grown up in South Texas, I've had the opportunity to eat at plenty of good spots. I currently live outside the state, but always make a point to stop by Hi-Ho when I return to Corpus. A few of the things that make Hi-Ho so wonderful...
- Homemade flour torillas served with every dish
- Price...not much over $6.00 on the menu
- Breakfast tacos...made perfectly
- Cheese enchiladas...made with the best (soft) cheese
- Soft chicken tacos (corn tortillas) are spot on
- Daily lunch specials (chicken enchiladas, lengua, menudo, chalupas, etc.) all for under $6.00 (includes drink)
- Refired beans and mexican rice made the right way

And this is just the start. The place has been around forever and it is always packed. Don't show up looking for a the healthiest dish around...Hi-Ho serves up tasty, real Tex-Mex fare. Simply put...IT'S THE BEST!!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great homestyle Mexican Food!”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We were very satisfied customers and found the food to be some of the best we have eaten a long time. We highly recommend Hi-Ho to those searching for a casual dining experience and authentic tasting Mexican food, from the charro beans to the outstanding homemade flour tortillas! The very affordable prices positively topped off an enjoyable eating experience.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank starfortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hi-Ho Restaurant also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hi-Ho Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing