We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“March 5, 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malaquite Beach

Malaquite Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beach on Padre Island is a great camping and beach-going spot.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“March 5, 2013”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The wife & I drove down past the commercial beaches to Malaquite and the National Seashore to "get-away;" and that we did! If you drive past the Welcome Center a few miles, the road ends on the beach. We drove down the beach several miles to a point where there were no others in sight. It was wonderful (and a stark contrast to the commercial beach). We had a 4WD, and I recommend the same! It would be real easy and very expensive to get stuck!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank usscvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    75
    27
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Go There Now!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

There are some amazing park rangers here who can tell you so much in person about the park's efforts to save sea turtles and other endangered creatures. You can go shelling on the beach, and there is are picnic areas available both at the park office and right on the shore. The water is simply amazing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Visitor_041998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Part of a calming site”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Let us enjoy the sound of the waves. Let us enjoy the different birds that come our way. Getting out and breathing the air that we are given,,,,,WOW!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flamingogal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good beach for the Gulf.”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Not many people go down there, because it's very far from any gasoline stations, restaurants, and any convenient stores. If you don't mind that, it's great for bon fires and a more quiet beach experience. It's also relatively cleaner too, since there are fewer people there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank KatHud7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Its such a nice place to be relax and enjoy the veiw . love taking my family and friends, its a nice place to go fishing and love cook outs.

Helpful?
1 Thank JuanOrnelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malaquite Beach also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Malaquite Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing