We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Staff ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plaza Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Inn
Ranked #52 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Staff ”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a pleasant stay here at the Plaza Inn. Breakfast was great, rooms where nice and of course the staff polite and friendly, one individual was superb, very friendly , husky gentlemen w/ glasses didn't catch his name but good job. Great work Plaza Inn will be returning in the near future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank warningace30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen_futrell, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I am so happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will choose us when planning your next family vacation to Corpus Christi. We are currently under renovation and look forward to showing you all of your updates and "brand new" look! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    24
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
24
14
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The wifi only worked 10% of the time, and when we called to ask about when it would be fixed they never gave a straight answer. The rooms were never clean to begin with. The carpet made our feet dirty. They didn't clean our rooms. Out of date technology. The staff was unhelpful. Breakfast buffet wasn't even breakfast worthy. Unsafe location for pool (next to gas station). By the way the rooms connect. The toilets didn't even work and our neighbors had to borrow our restroom. So be prepared to be close to the people you don't know around you.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smurfpitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Plaza Inn was an adequate hotel to stay in. The room was clean and functioning, except that the shower didn't work. The lobby was nice, though it is clearly not a smoke-free environment. The breakfast was sufficient, though for some odd reason there were no packets of jelly for the toast. Otherwise, there was a good variety of food. The pool area was as described. We knew nothing about the area when we booked the hotel. Somewhere on Padre Island there are lovely beaches, but we did not see them. It is located in a fairly industrial area. That was disappointing, but it was a place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfluerville
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

So after a long drive from austin tx
we arrived at Plaza inn we had reservations for two double beds when we were arrived our room was taken so we ended up with just one king size bed for my family the lady in the front desk didn't really didn't care as well I check it because we were exhausted and I did not have time to look for another hotel so while I was resting I had another room for a family member coming in town I was disturbed at 2 o'clock in the morning telling me that my other reservation wasn't reserved howeverhowever I was upset and tired then next day spoke with the manager Toni and she was very helpful and satisfied all our needs of our room she got a double bed and we were comfortable when we first checked in our reservation was taken however it was hot all night the AC didn't work and they went in our room twice to fix it and still was hot and uncomfortable overall manager the next a had helped the breakfast was great the rooms were comfortableI never had a chance to speak with the GM however I really would like to say thank you to the manager Toni for pleasing our family because we had a wonderful stay afterwardsif you ask me if we will stay there again yes I would hopefully we have the right reservations next time and have Tony to take care of us again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vrod33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were taking a mini vacation before the start of school with other family and when making the reservation asked that the 3 rooms be together. We were all seperated by at least 3-4 rooms in between. The 2nd floor hall smelled of pet urine and was filthy. The room we had had mold on the wall next the AC, broken glass on the floor which was hidden by the old reclining chair they had in the room. Not to mention there was roaches in the room, the shower ran ALL night long. When we checked in the girl behind the a counter was very rude, argumentative and acted like she was put out because we asked to change rooms. The website completely misrepresents this hotel..said it was newly remodeled (not sure when maybe back in the early 90's according to the decor). They never had enough of the breakfast items out for the amount of guest. When you ask to speak with the manager/GM they were NEVER available.

Room Tip: do not choose this hotel period!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trouble a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I was surprised to see how small the room and the restroom were. However it was very clean. The tolite is small and old, ran all night. The bath room has no suction vent but AC vent yes. The good thing is it is a separate room from the sink. The tv was modern, but no phone charge plugs or refrigerator. The breakfast was powder eggs and the service was terrible. Dirty tables and no paper towels. It has a gated parking and an in out camera. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buda, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Dont know if they are under new management , I have been there the past 13 years and this was my worst stay ever . No communication with the GM at all ,. Rooms were the worst shape ever . Some of my Family members rooms were really bad . Some had roaches , some sugar ants , some there toilets were not working , others the AC went out and the worst one of all had CONDOMS on the floor and that family member had a baby crawling on the floor . Family had to change rooms at the most 3 times. When we got there everyone got there rooms I had to wait 2 hours for mine . We tried to talk to the GM who never was available , to busy to talk to us or was gone for the day . I suggest you fix this if you want people to come back or they wont just like us . So we will take our 5 rooms that we get every year and upgrade to a better Hotel .

Room Tip: Check the floors for CONDOMS if you have a baby crawling on the floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
3.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Corpus Christi
WoodSpring Suites Corpus Christi
#44 of 80 in Corpus Christi
30 reviews
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#39 of 80 in Corpus Christi
130 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
Red Roof Inn & Suites Corpus Chr...
#49 of 80 in Corpus Christi
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Airport Hotel & Conference Center
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi Airpo...
#46 of 80 in Corpus Christi
147 reviews
10.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Northwest Corpus Christi Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Northwest Corpus Ch...
#25 of 80 in Corpus Christi
72 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Inn

Property: Plaza Inn
Address: 2021 N Padre Island Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78408-2231 (Formerly Drury Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plaza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want it free? This is your hotel! At Plaza Inn, our guests wake up to a complimentary Full Buffet Breakfast. This will keep you going all day as you take in all that Corpus Christi has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Plaza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Corpus Christi
Drury Corpus Christi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing