We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay on North Padre Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Padre Island
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good place to stay on North Padre Island”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here on Easter weekend 2014. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. There were more pillows than we needed. The wall-mounted TV worked fine. Our room also had a microwave oven, a small refrigerator, and a coffee maker. We didn't use any of them but it was nice to know they were there just in case. The bathroom and sink area was spacious. Our only complaint regarding the plumbing is that the shower head had several settings but no matter which one you selected, there was no change in the strength of the spray, which was rather weak. We could have done with a stronger spray setting. There is a small, apparently well-maintained pool on the property, which owing to the early season was too cold to suit us but our grandson didn't mind. We liked the safety gate that was designed, apparently, to make sure little kids didn't get inside the pool area unattended. The hotel location is good. The moment you come over the JFK causeway and bridge from the mainland, you can see the hotel over on the left. It is necessary to do a U-turn to reach it though and the other drivers are going fast (about 55 mph) so be careful! There is a souvenir shop with a huge sandcastle and mermaid immediately opposite the hotel on the other side of S. Padre Island Blvd. A miniature golf course is also across the street. There are several gas stations and restaurants of various kinds within a five minute drive. Padre Balli Beach is only about a five minute drive down S. Padre Island Blvd., which for some reason is identified on street corner signs only as Park Road 22, which confused us at first when we arrived and drove past the hotel, thinking it was further down the road. When I called the front desk to verify the address and name of the road, the clerk said the hotel was on S. Padre Island Drive, which is true, but he did not appear to know that the street signs said something different. (He told me after we arrived that he is new to the area.) In any case, S. Padre Island Drive and Park Road 22 are one and the same road so don't panic. Padre Island National Seashore is about a 10 minute drive, more or less. The free full breakfast, served from 6 to 9 a.m. was good and plenty of choice: scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, hot and cold cereal, freshly-made waffles, toast, muffins, orange and apple juice, yogurt, and plenty of good hot coffee. One note of caution: If you pay with a debit card, even one that doubles as a credit card, be prepared for the possibility of your bank holding one night's stay on your account. I didn't realize this until after we checked out and I got home and looked at my online banking, I thought we had been charged three times instead of two but the hold disappeared the next day so all was well. The owner seems eager to please. When we first arrived the wi-fi wasn't working but once the owner was made aware of it, it was immediately fixed. Our only complaint (other than the shower spray being weak) is that when we made the day staff aware of a rather scary looking centipede on the pavement, nothing was done to remove it. But since we were at the beach most of the day we just made sure to avoid stepping on it after we returned to the hotel. Since it hadn't moved, it may have been dead. Even so, it would have been nice to have it gone. All in all, this is a good hotel for staying on the island. Nothing fancy but not a dump either and good value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    109
    38
    9
    5
See reviews for
117
119
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We wanted a place that was close to the beaches and this Best Western served our needs perfectly. The staff were polite and attentive, the rooms were clean and comfortable. We experienced problems with the small frig and this was taken care of very early the next morning. We will stay here again if we are heading to Padre Island.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Joe at the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly. He got our stay off on the right foot. The hotel lobby and breakfast area along with breakfast was good. The room was clean and comfortable and the rate was very reasonable. Good value over all. I would stay again and recommend it to others. The only downfall was that there were very few eateries within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room back from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

PROS
Breakfast offers cereal, waffle maker, juices, coffee and sausage or biscuits and gravy.
Clean rooms with a outside pool.

CONS
Not good for running in the morning or walking around with family as there are no sidewalks
Main traffic vein right along hotel route so it can be noisy
No fitness center
Must do U-Turns to access entrance if coming from Corpus Christi
Housekeeping forgot new towels and soap on 2nd day

If I ever make it down here again, I doubt I would stay here again. Was hoping for a little more and got a little less.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgtmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The hotel was very clean and it was quiet . I would recommened this hotel. fair price for the hotel up to date rooms. Not a lot of resturants down that way. but it was a decent hotel only stayed one night went on a fishing trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This hotel offered a special for minimum 3 night stay, which made it extremely attractive compared to pricing in the area during spring break. The room was very clean, bed comfortable, however, lighting above sink/mirror kept going dead (bad bulb or ballast?). After 2 days of spotty lighting while trying to get ready, I called the front desk. They offered to move me, but I wanted to have the bulb replaced first. I thought they said maintenance would be by, however, the cleaning lady told me they don't have a maintenance guy, she was told to go "fix it". By the next morning, it wasn't working again. The hot breakfast was hot, but very limited in choices. I would stay again if I was on a limited budget & they were offering discounts, otherwise, I'd opt for a higher-end hotel. The biggest con for me was all exterior doors.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here. The hotel was very clean and the staff were polite. The room was beautiful and very spacious. My only concern was the lack of activity near the hotel. It is nowhere near beach that can be used for anything other than fishing and there wasn't much else to do close by. We drove into Corpus Christi bay area often. But, overall a very good place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 766ashlynk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
15.8 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,671 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi Padre IS
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpu...
#21 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Best Western Corpus Christi
Best Western Corpus Christi
#8 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cor...
#38 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Isl.
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Ch...
#30 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Padre Island

Property: Best Western Padre Island
Address: 14050 S Padre Island Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78418-6026 (Formerly Best Western On The Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Corpus Christi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Corpus Christi
#8 Family Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Padre Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to this Corpus Christi, Texas hotel located on beautiful Padre Island and enjoy convenient access to the beach, Laguna Madre, and Padre Island National Seashore within minutes. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN on the Island where guests will be greeted with warm Texas hospitality and find unbeatable amenities for an affordable price in a location offering all the luxuries of island relaxation close to city excitement. Guests staying at this Corpus Christi hotel will enjoy well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable satellite television with HBO, microwave, refrigerator and free high-speed Internet access, some with Corpus Bay views. Start the day off right with a complimentary continental breakfast or with a refreshing dip in the outdoor swimming pool. To help making traveling to North Padre Island even more comfortable, the BEST WESTERN on the Island features complimentary boat parking for all guests. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN on the Island is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Corpus Christi, Texas. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Island Hotel Corpus Christi
Best Western Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing