We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Padre Island
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Certificate of Excellence
arlington tx, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Excellent Value”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent 3 days on Padre between the National Seashore and Port A. Best Western was ideally located for our daily activities. Best Western was a great place to end the day and begin with a tasty breakfast! See you again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    113
    40
    10
    6
See reviews for
128
121
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anoka, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

An excellent value! This quiet little hotel is close to the national seashore, stores, restaurants, and has some cool fishing spots within walking distance. I cannot say enough good things about the staff here! Joe at the front desk was extremely personable, knowledgeable and welcoming. The cleaning staff was friendly, and helpful. The breakfast was pretty standard: waffle maker, cereal, toast, fresh fruit, and eggs and bacon. Nothing fancy, but a nice bonus. The only thing keeping this from a 5 star rating is that the WiFi did not work the entire time we were there. It was inconvenient, as we were unable to look up directions, restaurant reviews, etc.
I found the hotel to be VERY pet-friendly hotel! The pet rooms have nice tile floor instead of carpet, and they tend to put you on the far end, nearer to the grassy area. My two dogs were very happy. A pleasant stay, at a very peaceful and small hotel. Excellent value, would stay again for sure.

PS - "On the Island" does not mean that it is on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We will only use the Best Western on the Island for all of our needs and any future needs including any visitors that we may have in the future, the price, staff, location to the island and all the island has to offer is paramount, the staff members are always cordial and accomadating and everyone we know is always advised to os this particular facility!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Byron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padre Island, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The staff was very informed and could direct you to most places, destinations. Staff was very quick to address any problems or questions. The rooms were very pet friendly, and the pool was beautiful. Plenty of food available at breakfast, nice variety, and refilled very promptly. Everything was easy to use and handy. We had 3 grandchildren and our dog with us and everyone looks forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Options for accommodations are limited on North Padre island, especially if you're like us and traveling with a dog. Surprisingly not many hotels are pet friendly here. So we chose this hotel because it was close to the beach (although do not be misled to think that it's located ON the beach) and had a reasonable pet policy of $20 per night.

Still, you should know what you're getting, right? This hotel is essentially a motor lodge where you park outside your room and enter from the outside. All rooms face west in this hotel.

There is a small pool on the other side of the parking lot, sort of detached from the hotel. Breakfast is included, but nothing to write home about.

Because of the motor lodge design, rooms are fairly noisy, and you can hear cars and voices outside.

The room itself was spacious and mostly clean if bare bones. There is a small table and two chairs, a small fridge, and microwave. The whole room is tile floors (no carpet) on the first floor where the pet rooms are located. There is plenty of grass property to walk your dog but beware of the little sticker thorns in the grass.

This is basically the first hotel property you encounter when coming over the JFK causeway to the island. It is located near a souvenir shop, mini golf, and convenience store...although you do have to drive anywhere you go.

About 2 miles down the road is a beach called White Cap beach which is very nice for families. You can drive right on the beach with a parking permit. But the this beach has no facilities or lifeguards.

So, how much would you pay for all this? Normally anywhere else I would pay somewhere in the range of $79-$99/ night for a place like this. But definitely not more than $100. However, during the high season, like now, they are able to gouge you for a whopping $209/night plus pet fees. Crazy. But like I said, options are limited.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was very clean and had no foul odor. Staff was very helpful. It's near the beach and resturaunts. Easy to find. Nice pool. I will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Erika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Excellent accommodations, service, and staff! Our family would definitely return to this hotel because it was a good price and great service. It also had a beautiful location, overlooking the bay, but very close to the beach of which we took advantage. It was also close to a nice souvenir shop across the street, plus other shopping just down the main road of the island. It also had nice restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
15.8 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
2,839 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi Padre IS
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpu...
#18 of 80 in Corpus Christi
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Isl.
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Ch...
#31 of 80 in Corpus Christi
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Best Western Corpus Christi
Best Western Corpus Christi
#8 of 80 in Corpus Christi
841 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cor...
#35 of 80 in Corpus Christi
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Padre Island

Property: Best Western Padre Island
Address: 14050 S Padre Island Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78418-6026 (Formerly Best Western On The Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Corpus Christi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Corpus Christi
#8 Family Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Padre Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to this Corpus Christi, Texas hotel located on beautiful Padre Island and enjoy convenient access to the beach, Laguna Madre, and Padre Island National Seashore within minutes. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN on the Island where guests will be greeted with warm Texas hospitality and find unbeatable amenities for an affordable price in a location offering all the luxuries of island relaxation close to city excitement. Guests staying at this Corpus Christi hotel will enjoy well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable satellite television with HBO, microwave, refrigerator and free high-speed Internet access, some with Corpus Bay views. Start the day off right with a complimentary continental breakfast or with a refreshing dip in the outdoor swimming pool. To help making traveling to North Padre Island even more comfortable, the BEST WESTERN on the Island features complimentary boat parking for all guests. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN on the Island is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Corpus Christi, Texas. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Island Hotel Corpus Christi
Best Western Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing