We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Padre Island
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Certificate of Excellence
Abbotsford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very happy to stay here”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This motel was centrally located for everything we wanted to do. 10 - 15 minutes from the National Seashore Park, on the island which is much quieter than on the mainland side --yet only minutes away from dining, shopping and attractions. The breakfast buffet was much better than expected. Loved the waffle maker, bacon, scrambled eggs, plus all that one usually gets. The front desk staff we met --- mainly Kim & Joe-- were very friendly and helpful with advice about the area. We had never been to Corpus before so we had many questions. Pool is not heated which made it quite cold for the time of year we stayed. Also a hot tub would be a super addition to this property. Air conditioner was louder than most, but didn't keep us awake. Bed very comfortable. Lots of towels & face cloths. Room lacked for nothing. Very good value.

Room Tip: Motel is 2 floors. Top floor has no pets. Top floor rooms have vaulted ceilings, ceiling fans and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    110
    38
    9
    5
See reviews for
119
120
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Central location on Padre Island, near access to Mustang Island and Corpus Christi mainland. About 10 minutes to National Seashore access. Nicely appointed room, clean, includes microwave, mini-refrigerator and coffee maker.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank GlenJRN64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We chose Best Western on the Island due to its Tripadvisor rating. The room was clean and the bed was fine. That is where the good things end. The furniture was very cheap. The air conditioner was so loud you were afraid a hurricane was blowing outside. The couch/hide-a-bed was so bad you really couldn't use it.

The breakfast was terrible, thank goodness for dry cereal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 639RickH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_on_the_Island, Front Office Manager at Best Western Padre Island, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your concerns and opinions are first priority to us. We apologize for the unsatisfactory experience you had with us at the Best Western on the Island. As the only pet friendly hotel on North Padre Island, we have made our first floor pet friendly with tile for the many conveniences and sanitary reasons. As a result, the air conditioner sounds louder on the tile flooring. We have remodeled within the last twelve months and are still continuing to make upgrades in all aspects of our hotel amenities from furniture décor to breakfast. Our breakfast has been upgraded from a free continental breakfast to a free hot breakfast with a different daily menu ranging from eggs, bacon , sausage, biscuits and gravy, breakfast tacos, and to all the enjoyable basics. Thank you again for taking the time to give us feedback of your stay. We take great pride in our hotel and hope that if you ever visit Corpus Christi again that you might give us another chance to change your mind about the experience here at the Best Western on the Island. Safe travels in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our family would highly recommend this Best Western. We were impressed with the facilities and this was our first trip to the Padre Island area. Front desk personnel were very friendly and informative on which beaches/visitor areas to see. Continental breakfast was great each morning too. We stayed in an upper level room with vaulted ceilings and carpeted floors. Very nice. Also enjoyed the outdoor pool a couple of nights. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank bcdarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during our Texas road trip and have to say that it is the absolute worst place that we stayed. The room was stark, uninviting, in desperate need of renovation, especially the bathroom, the towels were worn out and the bed sheets had holes in them.
Breakfast was disgusting - needless to say we only went once. Cheap cereals, bread and english muffins that were stale, boiled eggs that were off, withered fruit, bad coffee - need I say more?
It reeks of penny pinching.
Funnily enough we stayed in another Best Western in Houston on the next leg of the trip and it was exactly the opposite .... for the same price!
I must add that Padre Island as a whole was not impressive at all and unless you really have to, don't go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mistyweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_on_the_Island, Management at Best Western Padre Island, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy North Padre Island nor your stay here at the Best Western on the Island. We pride ourselves on our friendly and professional staff that takes great care in making sure the rooms are beyond standard. Our hotel has been extensively renovated in the last twelve months including rooms, front desk, and breakfast area. We appreciate the breakfast feedback and have since upgraded the free continental breakfast to a free hot breakfast. We assure you, and every guest, any decisions made are always made with the concern of our guest. We strive to make every guests experience the best one possible, and will continue to make decisions that will enable us to improve our hotel and enhance the experience of our guest to be even better than the last. We hope that if you ever decide to visit North Padre Island or Corpus Christi that you might consider staying with us again. Thank you again for taking the time to review us, safe travels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
241 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Hotel is located right off of Padre Island drive; very convenient location. The rooms have a view of the bay. However, this is not a "romantic hotel"; it is more for families and fishermen. The rooms are clean, and the hotel staff is professional, courteous and very friendly. The food is very basic; cereals, yogurt, gravy and biscuits and it's all free. Coffee is okay. Waffles are great! One thing that we weren't satisfied with was the water pressure in the shower; low pressure. The front desk staff is professional and friendly. It is obvious that the cleaning staff do an excellent job, not only in our room, but in the other rooms. The lobby and dining areas are spotless. I suggest you rent a room upstairs and toward the back of the hotel for less noise. It is a pet-friendly hotel, but only if you stay downstairs; upstairs rooms are off limits to pets. Phone number: (361) 949-2300

Room Tip: The hotel has two floors; the 2nd floor rooms have valted ceilings, so they look a lot larger. For g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great customer service as usual! The hotel is right on North Padre Island and an absolutely convenient location if you're planning for some fishing/boating fun. The do have available boat parking, laundry facility, and ice machine. The definite must haves! If you want beautiful vaulted ceilings check out the 2nd floor. The 1st floor is ceramic tiled for those avid fishermen that don't want to deal with carpet coming back from the muddy coastline. My husband got frustrated with the remote (it had no battery charge)...I called late around 11pm and they were there in less than 5 mins to replace the remote. Great service indeed! I did rate the value as very good because when we previously stayed during a non-holiday rate it was at a much lower rate. I understand now that the upgrades have been made to each room it is necessary to increase the rates. I don't like the mini pillows though...I found it odd to lay my head on. There is no fitness center so I rated that average. The food can be alittle bit better. A bit of diversity would be great. Other than that I have no complaints and this place still remains our favorite mini-vacation go-to hotel.

Room Tip: Book online for the internet rate! Saves a few bucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
15.8 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,683 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi Padre IS
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpu...
#20 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Best Western Corpus Christi
Best Western Corpus Christi
#8 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cor...
#38 of 80 in Corpus Christi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Isl.
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Ch...
#31 of 80 in Corpus Christi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Padre Island

Property: Best Western Padre Island
Address: 14050 S Padre Island Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78418-6026 (Formerly Best Western On The Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Corpus Christi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Corpus Christi
#8 Family Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Padre Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to this Corpus Christi, Texas hotel located on beautiful Padre Island and enjoy convenient access to the beach, Laguna Madre, and Padre Island National Seashore within minutes. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN on the Island where guests will be greeted with warm Texas hospitality and find unbeatable amenities for an affordable price in a location offering all the luxuries of island relaxation close to city excitement. Guests staying at this Corpus Christi hotel will enjoy well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable satellite television with HBO, microwave, refrigerator and free high-speed Internet access, some with Corpus Bay views. Start the day off right with a complimentary continental breakfast or with a refreshing dip in the outdoor swimming pool. To help making traveling to North Padre Island even more comfortable, the BEST WESTERN on the Island features complimentary boat parking for all guests. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN on the Island is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Corpus Christi, Texas. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Island Hotel Corpus Christi
Best Western Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing