We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, good breakfast, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Certificate of Excellence
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean room, good breakfast, great location.”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Very pleased with our visit. The location is perfect. It's close to shopping and restaurants, and not too far from the beaches. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. We had a mini fridge and microwave inside the TV stand. I could hear the staff's conversations as they walked by, outside our door, but it wasn't so loud that it was annoying. Breakfast was certainly good. There was two waffle makers, scrambled eggs, sausage, some mixed fruit along with the usual cereals and muffins. The hotel seemed very clean. The pool was smaller than I imagined though. I didn't use it, but my husband took my daughter and she had fun. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Jenn B,
Thank you for reviewing your stay here at the Country Inn & Suites Corpus Christi. I'm so glad that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, location and clean rooms. We hope that you will come back soon.

Warm thanks,
Betty K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    96
    27
    6
    11
See reviews for
158
55
22
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We just happened upon this hotel on an overnight visit to Corpus. We would definitely stay here again! Clean, quiet, & convenient...along with a great hot tub, breakfast, and polite staff. It's located just off S. Padre Island Drive, too, so it's convenient to a trip to the island.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Ann B,
Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Country Inn & Suites Corpus Christi. We appreciate you letting others know about our complimentary breakfast, friendly staff and indoor pool. We look forward to your next stay.

Warm thanks,
Betty K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We booked this hotel through hotwire for a last minute trip. We were greeted by a warm friendly staff and hot cookies even though it was late at night. The hotel was completely booked. We found a clean room with comfortable beds. All the linens and towels were spotless and soft.

Above all, the room was quiet. We only heard two doors slam the whole time we were there. We heard no other noise from the hall and no noise from the plumbing or rooms beside us.

The hot breakfast was good and hearty. They served scrambled eggs and crispy bacon along with the usual assortment of fruit, pastries, breads, and cereals. Our daughters loved making their own waffle. The coffee was hot, tasty, and plentiful. And, again, the breakfast staff could not have been nicer. These ladies really pampered us.

We were very happy with our stay here and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Julie M,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and clean rooms. We appreciate you letting others know about us and hope to welcome you back to the Country Inn & Suites Corpus Christi again soon.

Warm thanks,
Betty K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Jeremy Buller, the so-called front desk manager, gave away the rooms we reserved for my wife and kids after I reconfirmed the reservation and requested a late check in that same day. When they showed up at the hotel after driving four hours, he said he tried to call and warn us our rooms would be given away; only problem with that story is he never called. With no where to stay at 8 pm at night, I asked to talk to the manager and he said "she will talk to you in the morning". Unbelievable arrogance and ignorance on his part.
Avoid this hotel at all cost. If you can't count on the room being there, what can you count on?
Add the extremely uppity attitude of Jeremy Buller as a representative of the motel and you have a nightmare on your hands.
If you want to jeopardize your family's well being, make a reservation there. Otherwise, run from the place like a roach infested motel.
Nice job Jerry - bet your hotel owners are proud of the way you treated a mother with two little kids late at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Charles B,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the negative experience you had. We strive to impress our guests and it is clear that we came up short this time. Please allow us an opportunity to make this up to you and your family on your next trip to Corpus Christi.

Sincerely,
Betty K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We only live 30 min away from this hotel but like to stay overnight for the shopping opportunities and this is our favorite location. The staff is always friendly and the rooms are newly decorated and very clean. Will stay here again in the future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wan32370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Wan32370,
Thank you for reviewing the Country Inn & Suites Corpus Christi. I'm glad that you enjoyed our friendly staff and clean rooms. We look forward to your next stay.

Warm thanks,
Betty K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

For value it is hard to beat this hotel. The location is so conveniently near to every kind of shopping you might need. You can spend more money by staying on the beach or you can stay here and drive to the beach and save your money. I don't understand people complaining about the rates because we have traveled to Corpus many times and the beach rates are usually quite a bit higher. This weekend they were about double on the beach when we booked. We stayed here three nights over the Memorial Day weekend and we were very happy with our stay. Our room was clean and the staff was very nice. Thirty minutes after arriving, the girl at the front desk called to make sure we were happy with our room. In all the times we have stayed at hotels this has never happened. There were four of us and when we arrived, there were plenty of towels (another thing that almost never happens). Free breakfast was served in the lobby every day (more savings) with lots of hot, cold, and fresh choices. There were two people (not one as is usual) managing the food and breakfast was served until 10:30. Both of these things allowed people to come down and eat in an orderly way. There never was a group of people standing, waiting for a table as is also usual with these free breakfasts. It is only about a fifteen minute drive to the beaches and we stopped more than once at the Walmart in Flour Bluff (conveniently on the way) to buy beach necessities.There is also a Dollar Tree near the hotel where you can also spend your money on beach needs before heading to the beach. There is a Starbucks nearby too but to be honest, the free coffee every morning tasted pretty good! We have stayed at three or four different places in Corpus over the years (we stayed here once before before Carlson bought it) and for family value and convenience it is really hard to beat this location when staying in Corpus!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Mike M,
Thank you for your wonderful review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you took the time to tell others about the Country Inn & Suites Corpus Christi. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind thanks,
Betty K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My family and I wanted to visit the Texas State Aquarium so we stayed the night in Corpus. We read good reviews about this former Hampton Inn and we figured it was a decent place to stay. Great location because it is next to the Palmera Mall and all the nice restaurants like PF Changs, but overall a horrible place to stay. The room was humid and wet the whole time. Small gnats on our pillows. We had a cricket and fly in the bathroom.Our sheets had two small holes. The sheets and pillow cases had small stains and they seemed super old. Not nice, clean, white and crisp like they should be. I asked the front desk clerk for a new sheet and she rolled her eyes. As she walked to our room i saw she went into the lobby bathroom with the sheet in her hand. What a horrible thing. I took sheet and threw it on floor. Who knows what she did in the bathroom with the sheet. The floor had hair. Clearly this room had not been fully cleaned . I am all about cleanliness and this place was not. The TV kept going in and out. The satellite service sucked so we never got to watch anything. The hot tub was out of service during our stay. After a bath the whole room had water. The mirrors were fogged up and it took at least ten minutes to clear. This is an indication of a possible mold problem. Overall a terrible stay and I would not recommend it to anyone. Hated it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dolfinn_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Dolfinn_21,
Thank you for your review of the Country Inn & Suites Corpus Christi. In reviewing your response, I see there were quite a few issues, all of which are below what I consider to be acceptable, including the service of our staff and quality of your guest room. If you have a moment and are willing to share any specifics on these items it would help me to remedy these concerns. However, regardless of your response to my request I want to make sure that you feel your comments were heard. I'm hoping that you'll visit us again. If you'd like, you can reach me at the phone number listed below. It would be a pleasure to personally discuss with you any specifics and / or suggestions you'd like to offer.

Sincerely,
Betty K.
General Manager
361-985-8395
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
6.4 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
2,767 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by HIlton Corpus Christi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi
5.9 mi away
Best Western Corpus Christi
Best Western Corpus Christi
#9 of 80 in Corpus Christi
815 reviews
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Corpus Christi
SpringHill Suites Corpus Christi
#4 of 80 in Corpus Christi
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi
Address: 5209 Blanch Moore Drive, Corpus Christi, TX 78411-4211 (Formerly Hampton Inn Corpus Christi)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Corpus Christi
#2 Family Hotel in Corpus Christi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Corpus Christi
#8 Business Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Corpus Christi hotel is designed with you in mind. Our Corpus Christi hotel's services and amenities are sure to please both the business and leisure traveler visiting Corpus Christi, Texas. Located just a short drive from Selena Museum, Texas State Aquarium, American Bank Center or sunbathing on the Corpus Christi beaches, this Corpus Christi Texas hotel has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing