We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great remodel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Certificate of Excellence
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great remodel!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is my second stay in six weeks at this hotel. They are in the process of a remodel and my wife and I stayed in one of the newly remodeled suites. It was very nice and the room upgrades were very nice. The new bed is great and we were very pleased. We were part of 30 person group staying at the hotel and everyone was very complimentary.

One nice feature is that drinks and fruit are left out for guests all day. That was great for snacks

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side are larger. They gave us an upgrade because it was available. Nice touc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boxster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    96
    27
    6
    11
See reviews for
158
55
22
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

WE read the reviews on trip advisor before we booked our trip two weeks ago for a family wedding. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. The staff especially Opal at breakfast were very accomodating. We especially liked the proximity to shopping center. We will remember this hotel as one of our favorites when we visit again! Plus was also they honored military discount.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary ella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here late August. We wanted to shop but also be semi close to beach. This hotel is in the heart of the shopping district. We were about 20 min from bob hall. The place is older but being remodeled which wasn't an issue and they let us know when we called to reserve. The pool is indoor but small and shallow...very clean though. The room is decent and cleanexcept for the chairs that needed to be thrown away. No bugs. The staff is excellent and friendly and the breakfast is pretty decent. We would stay here again. Oh..and you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We go to Corpus / North Padre often but usually stay on the island. This time we had business in Corpus so wanted to stay in town. We chose the Country Inn & Suites because it was close to the event we were attending and was also close to SPID so we could get over to the island and beaches. This hotel used to be the Hampton Inn and was bought out by Carlson, so they are renovating. Portions of the 2nd floor were blocked off by workmen for construction, but we never heard any noise (we were on the 3rd floor). We DID hear noise from people in the hallway, mostly kids yelling and running up and down.
The room was small considering it was supposed to be a "suite". The "suite" part turned out to be a sitting area with a couch that pulled out into a queen-sized bed. We didn't use it for a bed so I don't know if it was comfy or not. There were extra linens in the closet for it though.
There was a king size bed and the mattress was extra super comfy, but the down (I think) pillows were HARD! They were fluffy but very very firm. We were about to go to the Walmart down the street for pillows but found some in the closet that were "down-alternative" and they were perfect! Soft and dreamy. OH and the covers were warm but heavy weight. We could barely move our legs after we covered up. It was quite funny actually because one of the blankets fell in the floor and it took 2 of us to pick it up. LOL
There was a free breakfast in the dining room every room, it was average food, but hey it was free. The eating area was kept clean but it was packed full of people every morning no matter what time we went down. They had scrambled eggs, bread, bagels, waffles, cereal, juice, coffee, tea, water. They also had complimentary tea / coffee / lemonade and cookies in the lobby all day and into the evening. Very tasty and fresh!
The lighting was sufficient in the rooms but I was glad we had taken extension cords with extra plugs because there weren't enough outlets for electronic devices.
The free WIFI ... what a joke! If you are on the 3rd floor do not expect to get a connection! That was our one major complaint.
And be careful in the shower because the basin is very slick ... they need a mat of some sort in the tub.
The A/C unit was hard to adjust to keep the room comfortable. It was either icy cold in there or hot and sticky, we couldn't seem to find a good setting.
I do want to mention how friendly and happy all the people were who worked there. Even the hospitality staff was smiling and seemed eager to help.
All-in-all this is a good place to stay and the prices are much lower than the "touristy" areas on the island.

Room Tip: Beware the WIFI is very bad (at least on the 3rd floor) so get on the 1st floor if you really need c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ned4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We recently stayed for a couple of nights while on mini vacation in Corpus. This was the first time that we stayed at a County Inn & Suites. I choose this hotel due to the price and convenience of getting to the beach. The manager checked us in and was very nice. The room was small but smelled so good and clean when you walked in. No musty smell. The air conditioner was actually cold and felt good. The bed was the softest and most comfortable bed I have had at a hotel. Husband said bed too soft, but I loved it. Rooms do not have microwave or mini fridge, but desk clerk said the hotel is in process of remodeling and the rooms will have them later. When we took a shower, the water was actually hot. We loved the hot water!! Kids loved the free cookies at front desk. The indoor pool is very small and the spa jets did not work. I prefer outdoor pools, but I did not go there to use pool. The breakfast had the normal offerings - waffles, pastries, fruit, yogurt, cereal, bacon one day, sausage patties the next. The only thing we did not like was the fake eggs were really watery. I could not eat them. The breakfast lady was really sweet and constantly checking to see if you need anything. The location is great since it is between town and beach. Really convenient to everything. Overall, for the price, we were pleased with our stay. If the price stays decent after remodeling, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I visit Corpus Christi often since my son goes to school there and have tried different hotels. I haven't been too happy with many of the hotels until I found the Country Inn & Suites. It was very comfortable, clean & convenient location. The staff was super friendly as well. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Corpus Christi
6.4 mi away
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
Omni Corpus Christi Hotel
#3 of 80 in Corpus Christi
2,767 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by HIlton Corpus Christi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi
5.9 mi away
Best Western Corpus Christi
Best Western Corpus Christi
#9 of 80 in Corpus Christi
815 reviews
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Corpus Christi
SpringHill Suites Corpus Christi
#4 of 80 in Corpus Christi
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi
Address: 5209 Blanch Moore Drive, Corpus Christi, TX 78411-4211 (Formerly Hampton Inn Corpus Christi)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Corpus Christi
#2 Family Hotel in Corpus Christi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Corpus Christi
#8 Business Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Corpus Christi hotel is designed with you in mind. Our Corpus Christi hotel's services and amenities are sure to please both the business and leisure traveler visiting Corpus Christi, Texas. Located just a short drive from Selena Museum, Texas State Aquarium, American Bank Center or sunbathing on the Corpus Christi beaches, this Corpus Christi Texas hotel has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Corpus Christi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing