We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good aquarium”

Texas State Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.95*
and up
Houston City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Transport to Kemah Boardwalk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the amazing underwater world of the Texas State Aquarium! Thousands of animals representing over 320 different species are ready to enchant, entertain, and inspire you. Corpus Christi's most popular cultural attraction has welcomed over 12 million visitors since its grand opening in July 1990. Conveniently located on North Beach, the Texas State Aquarium is just minutes from Corpus Christi's downtown district, convention center complex, and museums.The Texas State Aquarium Association is a not-for-profit, educational institution that does not receive any city, state, or federal funding for its operations. Every visit to the Texas State Aquarium is a new and exciting discovery of animals that remind us all of our responsibility to those whose world we share.The Aquarium's Second Chances Wildlife Rehabilitation Program is federally permitted and operates under rigorous standards established by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA). Each year, thousands of protected, endangered or threatened species along the Texas coast become ill or injured. Most are brought to our facility with problems caused directly or indirectly by humans. The goal of the Texas State Aquarium's Second Chances Program is to rehabilitate, and whenever possible, return the animals to their natural environment. The Aquarium is an accredited member of the Association of Zoos and Aquariums and is a member of the World Association of Zoos and Aquariums. The Aquarium's mission is to engage people with animals, inspire appreciation for our seas, and support wildlife conservation.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Carrollton, TX
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good aquarium”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I was expecting a little bit more since this has been reviewed as the best aquarium in Texas, but we enjoyed our visit and it is a nice aquarium. The turtle tank was fun to see, and my kids enjoyed trying to feed the stingrays. The dolphin show was OK -about 10 minutes after waiting an hour so that we would actually have seats.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank dawisemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    863
    596
    305
    83
    38
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Place was expensive and it didn't take long to see and do everything, we were only there an hour or so and were done to quickly in my opinion for the price you pay to get in.

Helpful?
Thank Nightstalker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice stop if you are in town”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I love aquariums. Never pass up an opportunity to visit one. This was our 5th visit to the TSA in about 7 years. There have been significant additions to the facility since our last visit - the raptor arena, stingray pool and larger tidal pool area with viewing dock. There is also apparently a $250K splash area that's geared solely for the younger set - 6 or 7 year olds would soon be bored with it. Several times during our visit I had to remind my children (ages 11 & 14) that this was not SeaWorld, and that the "shows" were educational not entertainment. Still.... the raptor/wildlife "show" was less than 15 minutes long. The dolphin "show" about 10 minutes. The bottom line is that the TSA seems to be in flux. Additional entertainment aspects (shows, water play area, concessions) are clearly attempts to add value to the visit - but they miss their mark. The shows aren't fully shows, the splash park is geared for an extremely limited age range, and concessions are overpriced. With parking we paid $72 for a family of 4. This is admittedly about half the price of say the Monterey Bay Aquarium and about 1/3 of the price for 1 day tickets to SeaWorld. But, at either of those locations you get an entire day of activities and enrichment. In the past I have been able to utilize my San Antonio Zoo membership or C&VB coupons to lower my ticket cost. This year I was unable to use either, as the girl selling the tickets said there are no discounts available in July.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traci A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lots of Fun!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have been here a few times. The shows are great! Be sure to see the dolphins from under the water. We went when they first opened in the morning and had a great time before most of the crowds arrived.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeachFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lots to "sea"”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Texas State Aquarium has many good shows and lots of fishy things to see.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas State Aquarium also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Texas State Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing