We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”

Texas State Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.95*
and up
Houston City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Transport to Kemah Boardwalk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the amazing underwater world of the Texas State Aquarium! Thousands of animals representing over 320 different species are ready to enchant, entertain, and inspire you. Corpus Christi's most popular cultural attraction has welcomed over 12 million visitors since its grand opening in July 1990. Conveniently located on North Beach, the Texas State Aquarium is just minutes from Corpus Christi's downtown district, convention center complex, and museums.The Texas State Aquarium Association is a not-for-profit, educational institution that does not receive any city, state, or federal funding for its operations. Every visit to the Texas State Aquarium is a new and exciting discovery of animals that remind us all of our responsibility to those whose world we share.The Aquarium's Second Chances Wildlife Rehabilitation Program is federally permitted and operates under rigorous standards established by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA). Each year, thousands of protected, endangered or threatened species along the Texas coast become ill or injured. Most are brought to our facility with problems caused directly or indirectly by humans. The goal of the Texas State Aquarium's Second Chances Program is to rehabilitate, and whenever possible, return the animals to their natural environment. The Aquarium is an accredited member of the Association of Zoos and Aquariums and is a member of the World Association of Zoos and Aquariums. The Aquarium's mission is to engage people with animals, inspire appreciation for our seas, and support wildlife conservation.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Great place for the grandkids!!! They sure will learn alot about the ocean and different species of fish!!! Nice!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Divina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    864
    596
    305
    83
    38
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“nIce displays”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We enjoyed the dolphin show, but get a seat early. The displays were fun and nicely done.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovetoeatMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Aquarium wasn't as big as I thought”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

There wasn't much to see, a few fishes here and there, an alligator, turtles etc. We went through the whole aquarium pretty quick. The most exciting part were the dolphins. There were 3 of them and super cute. They played with they're toys and toss some balls. We missed the dolphin show and didn't want to stay an extra 2 hrs for the next show. It was worth it if you have nothing else to do but don't expect to be there the whole day.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Velezclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“At last exhibits at stroller eye level!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I took my 2 year old and 8 month old to the aquarium. Entry for them was free, my ticket and parking came to just short of $22 with taxes etc. To be honest having to pay or parking didn't create the best irst impression.
The exhibits are great, someone must have thought his through as when I "parked" my little girl in her stroller in front of hem she could actually see the ish, all to often things aren't at stroller eye level! She was delighted by he is. Make sure you see the dolphin display. My 2 year old is now besotted with dolphins and was sad when we had to leave them behind.
One word of warning... In my option the prices in gift shop are a bit steep. $9.99 for a small snow globe is expensive in my book. It was double he ost and half the size of the one we got at USS Lexington.
The aquarium is stroller friendly and taking oth the kids on my own was easy.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A fun and educational place to spend the afternoon”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

My kids never get tired of going to the Aquarium. There is so much to see and do.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Bentley440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas State Aquarium also viewed

Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
Corpus Christi, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Texas State Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing