We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“wonderful manager, sub par hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“wonderful manager, sub par hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We booked here because we were attending a week long convention in National Harbor and an educational class in the Comfort Inn's meeting room one day. When we( 2 women) arrived, our cab driver advised us, "do not walk around outside of here, this area is not safe. Please be careful" That was our first red flag. Then when we were checking in at 4pm, our rooms were not ready..despite the fact that we had booked 2 months prior. The desk staff suggested we have a cup of coffee while we waited, which was nice..We asked them if the area was safe and they stated "yes, just don't go out after dark, but otherwise it is fine":A short time later, our rooms were ready. While entering our individual rooms, which were spacious, we both noticed a strong sewage smell in the bathrooms. The fridges also had a strong odor. We unpacked and decided we would walk next-door to buy an air-freshener at the grocery store. We literally stepped about 400 feet outside the hotel and were immediately inundated with cat calls, horn blowing, whistling and yelling of some pretty unsavory comments. A man mowing the lawn in a restaurant adjacent to the hotel kept eyeing us in a lewd manner. Needless to say we immediately returned to the hotel where we noticed several rodent traps in the stairwell. We also happened to pass the "laundry room" which was open and extremely dirty. While reviewing with each other the idea of staying here for a full week, we decided that this just wasn't a safe environment for the two of us to deal with. We called the front desk to check out and they sent the manager up to see us. We discussed our dismay with him and he was very considerate. He said he would refund our week-long stay but encouraged us to find another hotel who could accommodate us first. We were able to locate one room with one bed in the National Harbor and opted for the change.The manager was so polite that he drove us to this new location at no charge. We did go back to the Comfort Inn later in the week to attend our educational class and saw this gentleman again. He asked how we were enjoying our stay in Maryland and was very gracious. Unfortunately, several of our other classmates had also decided that the accommodation at this particular hotel were sub-par as well and left for other venues . I would not choose this hotel unless you were only here for a night and were traveling with a man or some kind of security device:)

Room Tip: I wouldn't choose ANY room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cruisingcoppertop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    41
    22
    14
    17
See reviews for
23
14
9
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, MD
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The hotel room was very clean. The maids did an excellent job cleaning every day. They replaced ammenities we used daily. Nice after working 12 hrs to go to a clean well stocked room. The breakfast was pretty good. It included scrambled eggs and sausage. Negative side was sticky lobby and elevator floors. The pool hrs not great! 3:30 -10 pm on weekdays. Staff was very friendly!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madresam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Went to a wedding in Maryland and opted to stay at the Comfort Inn due to the affordability. I booked online and had requested early check-in. Sure enough, when I go there my room was ready at noon. The young lady at the reception was exceptionally cordial and very professional. She recommended I take the room on the first floor and it was a great choice.

While the hallway smelled a little stale, the room itself was great. It was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The room had a nice size TV, there were ample towels, a functioning iron (quite helpful considering I had all my wedding clothes to iron). The room had multiple lightning fixtures so the lighting in the room was decent. The window was somewhat small but considering it was the first floor, it served its purpose.

The only problem I encountered was the night before I was going to check out. Apparently the rainstorm had knocked out the power in my room and this disabled the combination on the safe. When I asked the lady at the front desk (a different lady from the one I had initially spoke to on check-in) she informed me that the technician would be in at 7:00am. When I went to the desk at 9:30am the young man said he didn’t know how to work the machine to open my safe and the technician would not be there until 10:30am. Being that I had to be on the road before 10:30am he called on one of the guys that cleans up around the hotel, James. While this was not James’ job, he said he would try. James called someone and they ran him through the procedure. It took all of 10 minutes to get the safe opened. While I was grateful that James was able to open the safe, there is NO excuse for both of the individuals at the front desk not to know how to do such a simple procedure. Especially when he said that it happens quite often.

Nonetheless, it was a very good experience and would definitely stay at this hotel again. Most of the staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms are a decent size and very comfortable.

Room Tip: The first floor is quite convenient but not sure if the musty smell was just the weekend I was there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Android90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Our church group (38 in group) spent a night at this hotel and we were quite pleased with the amenities. We were there for a quick tour of the sights in DC and made the best choice of hotels for our trip. The hotel is only 8 miles from the National Mall. The rooms were recently updated and were very clean, nice linen and a flat screen TV. The Manager, Mr. Patel, and his staff were amazing. They were very friendly and accommodating. They recommended restaurants for dinner and provided directions to the monuments. The check-in and check-out was so easy, it took only minutes. They provided a breakfast room just for our group. The breakfast was free and quite tasty. Would definitely stay here again! Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I checked reviews on this property before booking and they were mixed; however, the bad reviews were much older than the good ones and the price was right, so I judged it'd be ok. It was far more than OK. The staff were quite friendly and helpful with directions to the Metro, the rooms were sparkling clean and smelled wonderful, the environment was quiet, and the free breakfast was quite good. We did not use any facilities here besides room, breakfast, and wifi, but all were of the level I'd expect from a more expensive place. Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Spent a night in 4th floor quite close to ice-dispenser. Had a horrible sleep because of the noise of the dispenser. Room was ok. Toilet quite clean. I guess, price is quite reasonable considering its location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jic2863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Excellent. It was very clean & comfortable. Customer service was great. Location is good, as there is a shopping mall and restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxon Hill
0.7 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC - Oxon Hill
7.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#32 of 52 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 9 in Camp Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
8.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Pentagon City
Comfort Inn Pentagon City
#41 of 49 in Arlington
3.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 6363 Oxon Hill Rd, Oxon Hill, MD 20745-2200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Oxon Hill
Comfort Inn Oxon Hill
Oxon Hill Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing