We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run Away! Do not stay here. Welcome to the ghetto!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC - Oxon Hill
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I can't believe this place represents the Red Roof chain. I filed a complaint with corporate after the lady at the front desk said, and I quote (" Sorry,I guess to you we all look alike ..huh?") My jaw dropped!! I had to endure 4 weeks of staying here. They didn't tell me I had to register every week so on Saturday morning they sent the police to my door beating on it telling me I need to get out. I told him I had a four week reservation and he said that's not his problem. I had to go to the front desk and they said this was standard procedure. You can't believe the attitudes here. They are rude, unapologetic,bull headed and stubborn here. They just don't give a crap. The area is dangerous. There is always a cop in the parking lot. The rooms have bugs in them. I woke up in the morning and a roach actually managed to crawl his way into my lighter!! (I will attach photo soon) I hope you think twice about stopping here. I wouldn't wish this place on anyone!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stevo4256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 153 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2010

I travel a lot throughout US and Latin America and have stayed in very poor and humble hotels, specially in Latin America, but this is, by far, the filthiest, disgusting place I've had the bad luck to stay at.

First of all, we arrived by 8.00 pm and the lobby was already closed for "safety" reasons. That gave me an initial idea of where I was. We had to go to a small room, where there is a vending machine and ice maker and a window to the lobby where the front desk person would check you in, but the room was hot as hell.

My reservation was not right, of course.
The person checking us in managed to get us the three rooms, only after begging her to do so.
We all asked for non-smoking rooms and the actual rooms had non-smoking signs but smelled like the hell.

Carpet was filthy and sticky, walls were stained.

Shocked, I walked out to my friends room to find out wether I had been the "lucky one" getting this room. Turns out theirs were the same filthy ratholes.

We had to leave, smelling like we had been at the smokiest bar in the world.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LunaAtMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

The price was reasonable but it kinda seems like a shelter the way people hang around outside all day. Room was reasonably clean, free wifi.......

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NikiaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2007

Decided to book here when going to washington for sights.Found the hotel fine and the staff friendly but the area oxon hill was terrible. Didnt feel save their at all. Went to local bar the first night and realised the area was a getto. Long distance out from DC sites. Car essentinal to get to local subway.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank tyrlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2007

The first 3 nights of our trip we stayed at a Best Western for $113 per night. The 4th night was jumping up to $180. We didn't know what a good deal we had.

To save some money, we found this Red Roof for $85 a night. NO POOL, no free internet, only 2 towels in a double room, beds that made you hurt the next morning, no vending machines, no breakfast, no ironing boards & irons, no microwaves, NO INTERNET and NO POOL.

It was very quiet, clean, renovated very nice, seemed like a much nicer neighborhood than where we were before (downtown DC), plenty of places to eat, but did I mention that there was NO POOL! You can't go on vacation with kids and have NO POOL! Definately an $85 a night room.

The public library was close, and got a 30 minute visitors pass to use the internet to print our boarding passes for the flight the next morning. Saved money on hotel, but had to rent a car for $200 for 2 days to drive to musuems. Did we actually save any money? NO-and didn't get any comfort either. Took a week to get the aches out of my shoulder.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank txbluemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Massachusetts
213
Reviewed August 21, 2005

We stayed here for one night; leaving two days before we were scheduled to. It is a remodeled inn and seemed fine during the day. That night, we went to get extra towels and the attendent was in a locked office and said he couldn't come out to get towels; he was waiting for the usual police detail! Things got very loud at night, with fighting right outside our door. A woman knocked our friend's door and offered some illegal activity. (The police officer never arrived) We got absolutely no sleep all night and couldn't wait to pack up and leave in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany B, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC - Oxon Hill, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxon Hill
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 4 in Oxon Hill
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harborside Hotel
Harborside Hotel
#2 of 4 in Oxon Hill
98 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
1.6 mi away
MGM National Harbor
MGM National Harbor
#1 of 4 in Oxon Hill
279 reviews
4.7 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC - Oxon Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC - Oxon Hill

Address: 6170 Oxon Hill Rd, Oxon Hill, MD 20745-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range: $71 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC - Oxon Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC - Oxon Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Washington Dc - Oxon Hill Hotel Oxon Hill
Red Roof Inn Oxon Hill
Oxon Hill Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing