We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harborside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harborside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Phenix City, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were on a school trip to the D.C. area and stayed at this hotel for two nights. The rooms smelled like smoke at first, even though it was supposed to be a smoke free hotel. The air conditioners were not working the first 24 hours, and the rooms were just so-so. No fridge as most places have and really strange bathroom set-ups. The beds were comfy though and the food that they had for us in the mornings was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacie016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    14
    19
    14
See reviews for
27
6
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on a school trip with 48 kids and 5 chaperones. On the first night, we had to switch two rooms due to the bugs in the beds and on the walls. When we awoke the next morning, none of the three elevators were working and for the next two nights we had to walk down/up 6 flights of stairs.

The breakfast we had was okay, but as all the workers stood around, they yelled at the kids to clean their own dishes and service the tables as the workers just stood around.

We bring our students every year to Washington DC but will never return here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank pdonohue40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxon Hill hotels

Fort Washington, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Clarion Hotel is in a great location near the Harbor but you would think since it is a great location they would do a better job keeping the hotel clean the rooms are not in good condition the have bugs and dirty sheets on the beds and the halls are dark and dull looking the furniture is not clean and it looks like second hand furniture i think when you use the name harbor you could go the extra mile to make your guest stay a pleasant one. CONCERN GUEST

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnie m H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilion, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Comfortable beds and friendly staff are the only perks found here. The furniture had ink marks all over them upon check-in and rather than take care of the problem maintenance/housekeeping said it would get wiped down after our stay. The high-speed internet did not work properly regardless what hour it was tried - hotel desk staff stated there were too many people. HBO was listed as a feature of the room but was not provided until well into the stay and a complaint filed. The fitness center had two machines broken down with no notice to guests which limited use. The 24/7 available coffee was not kept fresh and full 24/7 and front desk staff had to be notified. The indoor pool hours were horrible limiting children from enjoying their stay. There was no courtesy breakfast offered for guests and prices of breakfast was not worth the value. For the price - it should have been nice but unfortunately what you see is not what you get.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We asked for wake up calls. Wrong tea, both mornings. The heater went on with a loud pop during the night, then continued in a dull roar. It was very cold out, so turning it off was not possible. They served a marginal breakfast.

Staff was nice, but the desk did not answer unless it was late at night.

The elevators opened directly across from rooms, at least on Several floors. Bad enough, but a large part of their clientele is student education trips--many bus loads of older children, many badly behaved, loud groups. The location close to Washington, DC.

We did not use the pool, but it looked nice.

If you go, make certain to request rooms far from the elevators if sleeping is of interest.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLSNapa_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Creepy neighborhood, outdated rooms, musty smelling halls, slow and unsecured internet connection. The room was clean, but just outdated. The reservation said there would be a fridge and microwave in the room, but get there and find that's an additional charge (even though it was listed as included during the reservation). The staff were very nice, but that's not enough to make me stay again (or for more than 1 night). Switched hotels asap.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaddTish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Friendly staff even at our 1:30am arrival, accommodated our request for adjoining rooms, very quiet so we were all able to sleep in until after 9:00am after late arrival. Comfortable beds and A/C worked well. Appears there are some recent upgrades in bathrooms (although the new soap dish had clearly fallen off in both showers), water pressure in shower was GREAT and everything was very clean. We missed breakfast, but the IHOP within a mile was a nice treat for the kids. Only suggestions: consider adding fridge to the rooms. If ever back in this area will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakohls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxon Hill
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Oxon Hill
3.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area
1.8 mi away
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Westin Washington National Harbor
0.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC - Oxon Hill
1.7 mi away
AC Hotel National Harbor Washington, DC Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel

Property: Harborside Hotel
Address: 6400 Oxon Hill Rd, Oxon Hill, MD 20745-1116 (Formerly Clarion Hotel National Harbor)
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Harborside Hotel ... Sleep, Shop and Explore Our Nation's Capitol Like Never Before The Harborside Hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 95/495 (Capitol Beltway) Exit 3A in Oxon Hill, Maryland, just steps away from the New MGM Grand Casino site and minutes from downtown Washington, DC, National Harbor and historic Old Town Alexandria. The neighboring area offers a variety of restaurants and year round entertainment at National Harbor as well as shopping at Tanger Outlets less than 1 mile away. This modestly priced, non-smoking, full service, high-rise hotel is comprised of 194 well appointed large guest rooms and suites with double queen or king-sized beds. All rooms are equipped with coffee iron & ironing boards, cable TV, telephones with free local calls and free Wi-Fi is available throughout the facility. The Harborside Hotel amenities include: the Gallant Fox Restaurant & Lounge, over 7500 sq.feet of banquet and meeting space, room service, indoor heated swimming pool, fitness center, business center and ample free parking. The goal of our hotel is to provide outstanding service to our guests focusing on individual business and leisure travel, as well as travel associated with a variety of groups. Our well trained, enthusiastic Harborside staff is always pleased to be at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Oxon Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing