We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harborside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harborside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

This is an older building, but well-maintained. Halls and elevator were quite nice, and my room was spotlessly clean--I had no reservations about putting my yoga mat on the carpeted floor.

My room was spacious, and furnished with a large desk and workspace. There were many outlets, well-spaced, for my laptop computer and various electronics that I wanted to recharge.

My room was quiet, and the hotel was generally quiet, possibly because it's not peak tourist season right now. Bed was comfortable. The heat and air conditioning unit in the room was a bit noisy, but completely functional.

The free WiFi had several networks, some slow at times, but no problem finding an adequate Internet connection as needed.

Bath area was spacious; there was plenty of hot water whenever I wanted it, and a powerful shower head.

The in-room coffee maker and coffee were better than average. I enjoyed the free Wall Street Journal.

Front desk and other staff were friendly and attentive.

The location is near many places of interest; free parking. I didn't find the immediate neighborhood particularly interesting; neither did it make me at all uncomfortable.

It is likely I will return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine-McK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    13
    18
    11
See reviews for
23
5
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed from July 28-31 for a family reunion. There were two family reunions that weekend and one night was an event with 20 or so vendors and a DJ. With that being said there were no incidents of loud noises or disturbances.

Location - good location, close to fast food restaurants and stores. I read reviews about the area being a little “iffy” and “urban”, I agree but had no problems.

Room – for the most part it was clean however there were quite a few tiny ants in my bathroom. I heard a lot of other guests complain about ants as well.

Front Desk – very courteous and helpful

Pool – I didn’t take advantage of the pool but it looked clean and well kept (the kids loved it)

Restaurant – I only ate in restaurant on Sunday for breakfast buffet; food was good, nice selection and they had an omelet station. A couple family members ordered breakfast on Friday morning and waited over 30 minutes for their food! It seemed as if the restaurant was understaffed. I was glad I avoided that headache by driving down the street to McDonalds.

Bar – I didn’t utilize but did see plenty of people sitting there and the lounge area was nice and spacious.

Parking – ample parking but the rear of the building was not well lit.

There really isn’t much else to say, it’s just a regular hotel, no bells and whistles.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NeeNee34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, OH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Visit to DC for Cherry Blossom Festival with 1,000,000 of our closest friends! Found this location across the Potomac from Alexandria, VA and right around the corner from National Harbor for almost $100 less per night than any other major chain. Easy access to highway 10 minutes to Southern Blvd Metro. This is not the best best neighborhood, and those not comfortable in a very urban area might want to look elsewhere. We had no problems, and were heading into the city early each morning, and returned late each night.

Room was clean, large and quiet. There were two or three school groups there at the same time, but we simply requested a floor they were not on, and never had a problem.

Front desk was efficient and friendly, as well as all the staff we encountered.

We only used the pool once, but it was adequate. We didn't eat or drink at the restaurant/bar.

Parking was ample and secure. No large chains within walking distance, but national Harbor with restaurants and shops was right around the corner, and Old Town Alexandria was right back across the Potomac with hundreds of place to shop and eat.

Bottom line is this was a great value for a visit to DC.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasperboy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

My husband and I had to travel from MI to Ft. Washington for a friend's funeral. This hotel was 1 of 3 recommended to us by the deceased's family. Upon arrival I was met by a very pleasant and professional receptionist name Denise. I explained why we were in MD and that we were very tired from the long drive. I wanted to upgrade to a suite if possible. Denise found us a lovely suite (#828) on a quiet floor. The bed was so comfortable we slept all thru the night with no disturbance. We travel often usually staying @ 4 & above stars hotel. This stay @ this hotel certainly rates as a 4 stars. The restaurant food and service was great.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bjc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel about a dozen times during the last 12 months. It is absolutely the cleanest, best appointed hotel near DC, in our opinion (and we have been forced to try other hotels during the same period). Every one on the staff treats you like family, makes you feel welcome, goes out of their way to be helpful.

Rooms are quite large and well appointed. Bed linens smell so fresh and clean.

Restaurant provides a really good evening meal for the money.

Short commute to anywhere you need to be.

Cannot say enough good things about this place. Thank goodness we located this hotel on our first trip to visit a sick friend. By now, it always feels like being home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KathyinVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whatanutt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

I had several problems with my stay. The cable went out on night one at 9 pm and didn't come back the whole night. When it did come back the next day, the free HBO was gone from my room. One both nights I took late showers, both times there was no hot water after 9pm. No laundry service unless you pay for staff to do it for you, fee/price list not given. $10 fee to rent a microwave and there is no fridge in the room. For a 'smoke free' facility, the place reeks of cigarettes. The person who cleaned my bath, left there rag behind. It's a bit out of the way. The bed does offer both real and artificial down pillow, which was nice. No comp. breakfast. The room had a constant damp feel. Very no frills. For this price, you can get more somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatanutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxon Hill hotels

Southern Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

The hotel was nice enough. Bed was extremely comfortable. TV was seriously out of date (small tube style with poor quality). The neighborhood to the east made my family and me a little uneasy. There are only a few national-chain restaurants nearby. The indoor swimming pool was only open one hour per day (9PM-10PM), which was kind of odd. Some front desk clerks even thought the pool wasn't even open at all.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank savfjcpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxon Hill
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Oxon Hill
3.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites National Harbor/Alexandria Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington DC - Oxon Hill
1.7 mi away
The Westin Washington National Harbor
1.7 mi away
AC Hotel National Harbor Washington, DC Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel

Property: Harborside Hotel
Address: 6400 Oxon Hill Rd, Oxon Hill, MD 20745-1116 (Formerly Clarion Hotel National Harbor)
Location: United States > Maryland > Oxon Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oxon Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Harborside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Harborside Hotel ... Sleep, Shop and Explore Our Nation's Capitol Like Never Before The Harborside Hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 95/495 (Capitol Beltway) Exit 3A in Oxon Hill, Maryland, just steps away from the New MGM Grand Casino site and minutes from downtown Washington, DC, National Harbor and historic Old Town Alexandria. The neighboring area offers a variety of restaurants and year round entertainment at National Harbor as well as shopping at Tanger Outlets less than 1 mile away. This modestly priced, non-smoking, full service, high-rise hotel is comprised of 194 well appointed large guest rooms and suites with double queen or king-sized beds. All rooms are equipped with coffee makers, iron & ironing boards, cable TV, telephones with free local calls and free Wi-Fi is available throughout the facility. The Harborside Hotel amenities include: the Gallant Fox Restaurant & Lounge, over 7500 sq.feet of banquet and meeting space, room service, indoor heated swimming pool, fitness center, business center and ample free parking. The goal of our hotel is to provide outstanding service to our guests focusing on individual business and leisure travel, as well as travel associated with a variety of groups. Our well trained, enthusiastic Harborside staff is always pleased to be at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Oxon Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing