We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Potato Pie Heavan”
Review of Henry's Soul Cafe

Henry's Soul Cafe
Ranked #10 of 69 Restaurants in Oxon Hill
Restaurant details
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sweet Potato Pie Heavan”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Henry's is famous around the country for its sweet potato pies. They are really good. The rest of the menu it typical soul food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a good bargain spot for "no frills" soul food”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This review actually is for the U Street, N.W. location. This is primarily a carry-out joint, but there is a small counter where approximately 4 persons can sit and eat. The plates are styrofoam and the utensils are plastic. The portions are large for the price and the food is satisfactory. The staff is "no nonsense", and don't seem to have a lot of patience with folks who can't make up their minds. I had the barbecue ribs. The ribs were meaty (no babybacks here), but could have used more seasoning. The sauce was just ok. The mac n' cheese, greens, and corn bread were fine. My companion had the fried fish and thought it was good.

I indicated that it has "outdoor seating." However, the seating is a few old dining room chairs on the sidewalk. You have to balance your food on your lap and avoid eye contact with hungry looking passerbys.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BuffyMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“yummy 2 my tummy”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I went to the K Street location in DC. The decorum was disappointing but the food was yummy.

I purchased two fried fish dinners with mac & cheese, greens and corn bread. The filet fish was very meaty and fulfilling and the servings were generous and delicious.

I am looking forward to visiting again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank d b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best soul food I've ever had”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Can't wait to go back to Dc to eat at Henry's again. everything so good and great price. Sweet potato's pie to die for mhhhhhh and that fried okra omg!!! They have 3 locations in the DC area so if you visit the capital this is absolutely to try!!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elliz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is the best macaroni and cheese I have ever had, bar none. The sweet potato pie is also fantastic.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aporco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry's Soul Cafe also viewed

 
National Harbor, MD
 

Been to Henry's Soul Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing