We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Review Highlights
A Nice way to spend the morning

Go in the morning. That is when they have all the activities for the children. There were cow... read more

Reviewed April 25, 2019
Greg F
,
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Kids Want to Return!

What speaks volumes about this place is that our grandchildren want to return to the farm! The... read more

Reviewed July 14, 2018
cofeebeans
,
Colorado
Read all 22 reviews
  
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
11
10
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
11
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wagon ride feed the chickens visitor center sheep goats milking animals trail
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 22 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2018

What speaks volumes about this place is that our grandchildren want to return to the farm! The website helped us plan our trip, informing us of the times for milking cows, feeding chickens and wagon rides. The rangers were very knowledgeable, friendly and patient with the children. Our 5 1/2 year old granddaughter loved the idea of milking the cow and readily participated. The rangers were so good with the kids, our 2 1/2 year old grandson participated too! The wagon ride was about 15 minutes and we saw horses, goats and lots of berries on the bushes we drove by. After the wagon ride, we cooled down in the visitor center and saw a baby chick that had just hatched. The kids were able to play in an area with age appropriate toys. The kids were able to go into the chicken yard and feed the chickens. Again, the rangers were extremely patient and helpful with the children. When we return to visit our grandchildren, we will definitely bring them here!
I had taken my young children to this farm 27 years ago and they had loved it. This farm did not disappoint me when taking my grandchildren as they loved it too!
Things to know before you go: Look at their website for the schedule of activities. Wear walking shoes and take water. Be sure to sign up for the wagon ride when you arrive as they can only take a set number of people on each ride. Plan to go in the morning when all the activities take place. We went on a hot day but the morning temperatures were fine and we left before noon so it was just hot walking to the car.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank cofeebeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

I had been past this place many years, but I stopped in for the first time. I missed out for so many years. It is your average farm, but it is still a nice place to see. It has a good history behind it too.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank JohnBCowgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2018

We really enjoyed the rangers and their information. Plus it was fun for the kids to see the horses, feed the chickens, and see a real farm. The wagon rides were down for the day and the cow milking hadn't started up yet, but those would have been great. We didn't have a lot of time to stay there, but wish we had.
Free parking, free admissions, and fun. There is good space so kids can run and you don't have to have them RIGHT by you. You can kind of enjoy the place without having to watch kiddos like a hawk.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank luv2laflissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017

I've taken my kids here twice in the last 6 weeks. My daughter loves being at Oxen Hill Farm.

Oxen Hill is tucked in between 295, 495, and the rest of the Maryland side of the Potomac/Anacostia River. Despite this, the park is quiet and you could almost be way out in the country. The only sign that you're still in the DC Metro area is the looming MGM tower that you can spot from some points in the farm. So, if you're looking for a nice relaxing area to be out in nature, the park is it!

The farm has several buildings you can go into, including a visitor/activity center. There are many trails you can walk around on that are dirt and gravel.
This is a working farm, and as such, there are chickens, mules, pigs, horses, and cows. The park staff usually list feeding times for these animals, so keep an eye out for that. For the chickens at least, you can go into the pen and help, which my daughter loved!

In the visitor's center, there is a play area for smaller children and a space where the rangers will often do story time or other activities.

I believe on most days there is a wagon ride that lasts approximately 15-20 minutes and takes you around the farm.

Everything is free. The parking lot is a short walk from the farm. The roads/trails are rough but should be okay for some strollers. There is a picnic area at the parking lot as well.
Don't expect something as large as Mount Vernon -- this is a smaller farm, but it is still worth going to, especially if you have kids.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Cullen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017

If you want a place you and your child can enjoy in quiet and space, Oxon Cove Farm is the perfect place. Even though it's within minutes of Washington D.C. the Farm is on a hill overlooking the city and is just far enough way to seem absolutely isolated and quiet. With horses, cows, pigs and chickens to watch and plenty of grass to run around, you can spend a peaceful hour in the sun, enjoy a picnic or meet friends. Pick an off-season winter day and you'll have the farm nearly to yourself. The visitor center has a child center for play with farm equipment and a great book store for you to stock up on animal books. When the chicken coop is rebuilt kids will be able to toss feed to chickens, and when the cows are in milking season they'll even get to tug on the udders for a chance to milk a cow. The farm is not one of those sites rich in history or drama, but it's perfect for the small child.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Gryfudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews