We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleepless Night”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Marine Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marine Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ajo
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Sleepless Night”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hotel room was cheap, but not worth the bug bites rotten smell or thin walls. Arrived in Ajo in the evening, by morning my family noticed a crack from under the door for sun to shine inn. I personaly will never stay at this hotel again.Notified front desk of the insects in room, they just looked on.Other guest also complained of infestation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NEWLYWEDZ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    8
    3
    13
See reviews for
13
11
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

The room met the basic requirements. TV, heater, spacious room etc. This is the cheapest one in Ajo and nothing to complain about.
There was no one in my adjacent room. Not sure if you can hear the sound if someone is there in the next room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gokulanathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajo, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Room was basic but very clean - staff was very friendly and helpful - wifi came in very strong. It suited our needs for 1 adult and 2 children. We forgot an Ipod and every effort was made to return it to us quickly. Great location for visiting Organ Pipe National Monument and for hiking in the desert.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed in the Park Model Suite of this motel for Christmas vacation 2011. The suite is fully functioned for my family (2 adults w/ a small child). We got foods from the grocery store on the other side of the road and cooked all meals at the suite. We can see great landscape with cactuses from the room. The staff is very friendly and kind. It was a so good trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aike0034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

I recently stayed at the Marine Motel with a friend, in one of the motel's trailers. It really is in a great location of Ajo. It was simple, very clean and affordable. The bed was comfortable, the sheets and towels are soft and smell like fabric softner. Nice clean kitchen, living room and dining room area. We really felt welcomed and well taken care of by the staff. There is a stunning view from the window of the sunrise over the mountains! I recommend waking up early to see this. And don't forget to visit the Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument. Breathtaking.....

Room Tip: There is a supermarket across the street. The motel has a outdoor grill you can use!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMaslany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
199 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is a budget hotel well located for visiting the Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument which is 40 miles away to the south, and the closest hotel to the Monument. I was initially put in a small single room far away from reception, and when the Wifi connection didn't work well, the receptionist kindly transferred me to a more comfortable double room at no extra charge for a better Wifi signal. The rooms are quite basic, so avoid if you are used to being pampered.

Room Tip: Be close to the Wifi connection if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank levado656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

I had to go to Ajo for 17 days and was a little wary of the city's accommodations. I spent the entire time in one of the Marine Motel's trailers (complete with cable, a stove, a full-size refrigerator, A/C, microwave, and separate bedroom). For the duration of my stay, I didn't see a single insect in the room, I didn't hear any noisy guests, and the towels were changed daily. It's also directly across the street from the only grocery store in town and a gas station. If I'm ever unfortunate enough to return to Ajo, I'm staying in the Marine Motel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leewright27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Motel

Property: Marine Motel
Address: 1966 N 2nd Ave, Ajo, AZ 85321-1120
Location: United States > Arizona > Ajo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marine Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Marine Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Ajo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing