We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating!”

Great Cats World Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fascinating!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We visited this park on a 107 degree day, but it was still worth it. The cats are very well cared for and hand raised so they respond to the trainers and enjoyed by the spectators. Many of the cats are famous from National Geographic photo shoots as well as calendars. There are several rare or extinct cats in the park. While it is a private park, it is part of the national breeding programs along with zoos so the standards of care are very high. I guarantee you will see more cats than you will see at any zoo because of the relationships between the cats and caregivers. Although safely caged, the cats are easily seen and appreciated.

Tours begin whenever people arrive so you never have to wait around for a tour to start. There is a nice gift shop with cold water for sale when the weather is hot. There is also big canopies and misting tubes near the cat enclosures so its as comfortable as possible during the summer.

It's easy to find - right on Highway 199 right outside of Cave Junction.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank road_tested2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    34
    10
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must for kids and big cat lovers!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were the first visitors of the day so we had the first half of the tour to ourselves. Staff is great with answering questions and educating you on each cat and its species. The animals are treated well and alternate days off so you won't see every cat but you will see one from every species. You are literally within 10 feet of the cat's pen while the guide is interacting with the cat from outside the pen, an experience you won't get at most zoos or animal parks!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kazrewom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the stop...if it's early.”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great Cats World Park is located just under a mile south of Cave Junction Oregon and are very easy to find as they are located right off of Highway 199. The staff are all very friendly and very knowledgeable and they have a fairly large gift shop where you check in. You are 'never late or early" for a tour as they will put you into a tour already in progress and then finish the beginning part of the tour at the end for people who show up "late." The guides give you very detailed information on each species you come across and give you a history on how they came to have that particular cat, they also try to get the cats to do small demonstrations of standing up and moving around. One thing that I really liked is that none of the animals they have are taken out of the wild. They come from zoos, or rescues; the cougar they have was a rescue from a family who lived in a regular house an thought it would be a good idea to have a Cougar for a pet! Unfortunately I went in the afternoon on a very hot day and this is just not the time to go. The cats are lethargic, there is very little shade and some of the enclosures, though clean looking smelt very strongly of urine.
If you are in the area and have a chance to go in the morning or on a cool day I definitely recommend it but if it's really hot out.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ORgirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Me and my 19 month old daughter went and had a blast. It was quite hot when we went but they have mist machines and it was all worth it. They have an awesome variety of cats and they all know the trainers and put on a great show. You get to see them close up and in action it was a great experience. Highly reccomend it to all travelers of all ages

Helpful?
1 Thank wardawg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

It is a little spendy but the ability to see all of the cats make it so worth it.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank cookiebstrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Cats World Park also viewed

 

Been to Great Cats World Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing