We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, rooms not so nice”
Review of Oregon Caves Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cave Junction
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oregon Caves Lodge
North Bend, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, rooms not so nice”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We bought the TWO package - cave tour, two nights stay and two dinners -- all for two people. The hotel is a beautiful, rustic old charmer, but the rooms aren't all that nice, and room temperature is unregulatable. The radiator absolutely COOKS the room, so the windows were open a lot, making for a cold room. We found a balance and left both on/open, but woke up freezing because the NOISY radiator heat is turned off at night. There was absolutely nothing special about the room that would warrant the $150/night or balance out the temp problems - NOTHING. The dinners were VERY disappointing. There doesn't seem to be any quality control in the kitchen, but if they had someone in charge who knew what they were doing, it could have been a nice dining experience. It was not. Twice.

Room Tip: See the caves, visit the gift shop, but do not stay or eat at the lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hooplehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

First off, the location is just beautiful. This is one of the most beautiful places I have stayed in a long time. Inside the lodge is a quiet and relaxing place just to sit and read a book. There is also a cafe where you can get homemade milkshakes and onion rings with pretty friendly service. My group went on a few hikes around the lodge before we went to bed, including one at sunset. I recommend that sunset hike to anyone who wants to see true, natural beauty. When we got into the room, I had to sleep on a roll-away but I didn't mind that because the room could only fit one regular bed. If you think of it in a positive way, it's pretty cool. It is like you are staying in the 1930s! In the morning we got a great tour of the caves and checked out without a problem. I would definitely recommend to stay at this place. It really is a two day trip, but boy was it fun.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmaoconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

The chalet was built in the 1930's. The appeal is location as it is a 20 mile winding road back to town. We stayed there 2 nites. The location is very much in the woods and just feet from the cave opening. There are hiking trails also. It was hot there when we stayed and there is no air and we got the setting sun so the room was hot.

This is a rustic chalet and nothing close to a posh resort . I knew that so it was fine. The coffee shop was old school like the old soda fountains with a winding counter and no tables. Dining room was OK but the food seemed a bit overpriced for what it was but then you are not close to anything else.

I was fun for a night or maybe two but any more would be a long time there as the trails are not long hikes.

Also when warm at night just go near the cave opening and get a nice cool breaze out of it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

You can't beat the location if nature is what you want. The lodge/chateau is rustic, but nice. The main dining room was a little disappointing, but the coffee shop was excellent. We plan to come back again even though it is 1,500 miles from home.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoefromOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax, California
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

The Chateau at the Oregon Caves (I am unsure why they call it "the Lodge" here) is celebrating its 75th anniversary in 2009, and a visit there is like a step back into a different time. Everything from the design, to the furniture, from the diner to the ambivalence created by the 30s and 40s music playing in the lobby, takes you back to that time, similar to today, of economic and international uncertainties. But, as back then, the magnificent Chateau in the mountains can also transport you away from all those troubles.

The pace there is much more relaxed than at any of the other National Park Lodges I have visited. The guests seem to be less tourist like, and while families are found there, children are fewer, and the average guest age is a bit more mature. Aside from the caves themselves, which generally warrant only a single 90 minute tour in a visit, and a few short and generally unchallenging trails, there are few attractions, and Monument calls for a overnight visit as opposed to a longer stay more common at Yosemite, Yellowstone, or even Crater Lake. This probably accounts for the lack of families, as most would make a day-trip rather than overnight stay.

This is not to say that the sights there are not wonderful. The Siskiyou Forest and mountains in which the Chateau sits are beautiful and the Caves are the most unique in the West. The graceful pace and serene setting create a more romantic retreat, attractive to couples. And the architecture and facilities are awe inspiring and inspirational.

Inside your room, however, be prepared to be under-whelmed. While the views can be gorgeous, particularly if you are looking out at the canyon, or the Caves Creek pool, the walls are thin and lined with unattractive fire-retardant tiles. The sprinkler system hangs from the ceiling, and the bathrooms are plain. The beds can be sunken in the center, though the furniture is authentic period western-lodge style. You will hear the neighbors walking about, and running the water, and you might be awoken in the night by the pipes knocking. If you can attribute this all to the fact that it is a historic lodge, operated on a restricted budget, and not a modern comfort and convenience center, and can appreciate the lack of telephones and TVs in your room, you will enjoy your stay.

Dining at the Chateau is one of the places most pleasant surprises. For as few guests as make their way there, and with it so out-of-the-way and lacking of competition, the Chateau performs grandly. In fact, I can say that the evening dining room is the best of any national park lodge in which I have eaten. Most lodge ding rooms seem to take for granted that their guests will accept what they get in exchange for the views.

The Chateau, perhaps recognizing there are less families and more discerning couples, strives for excellence. The food has been unique, scrumptious, and tastefully presented, with a fair price. The service has been good, perhaps because the servers seem to be local and comitted rather than the seasonal workers usually found in National Park Lodges. The view from the Dining room is gorgeous, and the Cave Creek stream runs through it. The 30s style Diner is a kick and serves up a nice continental breakfast for hotel guests, as well as lunch at additional cost for all. Be sure to look into Cave Tour, Dinner and room package deals.

Please keep in mind, The Chateau is simply not for everyone, and those seeking luxury and urban elegance would be severely disappointed. But those appreciative of architecture embracing nature, and a wonderful and romantic setting, will find it memorable. I did so much so that I proposed to my wife five years ago there, and celebrated the five year anniversary with a return trip this year, and I can think of no more memorable place to have done it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geislg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon Coast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Living in Oregon all my life, I have always heard good things about the Oregon Caves and more recently about the Oregon Caves Chateau. My son and I had some leisure time before school started back up and we decided to check it out!

Well we were not disappointed! We arrived just in time to catch one of the multiple daily tours of the Oregon Caves. What a natural wonder! To think it only took me 43 years to find it! Not only did the 43 year old enjoy the caves but it was interesting enough to keep the 16 year old's attention as well.

After the tour we hiked on several of the many groomed hiking trails, and witnessed the abundant wildlife. After the outside entertainment we retired to our room to clean up for dinner. The Chateau itself is an amazing piece of architecture. The large wooden beams and iron hardware, not to mention the giant rock fireplace is amazing. Plenty of places to sit and enjoy the view or warm up to a roaring fire. Several board and card games are available free for guests.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and quaint. This is not a luxury hotel, but it is very comfortable. We had our dinner in the dining room at the chateau. The menu was excellent, something for everyone.

I would highly recommend this vacation spot for a family or a couple looking for something out of the ordinary and for those who enjoy the outdoors!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank OregonTrail007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTA BARBARA
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Great charm and ambience until you try to get some sleep. The walls here are paper thin, I could hear the entire conversation of the people in the room above me. The lobby below closes at 1030 pm but a bunch of people remained down there til midnite and a woman with a very whiny voice talked on and on endlessly... and, for a place with very few children, I am dismayed to say that this is the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. Would have had more peace and quiet at a truck stop on a highway somewhere. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave Junction
23.3 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#3 of 18 in Grants Pass
630 reviews
24.5 mi away
Buona Sera Inn
Buona Sera Inn
#2 of 18 in Grants Pass
405 reviews
23.3 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Weasku Inn
Weasku Inn
#1 of 15 in Grants Pass
425 reviews
23.5 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#12 of 18 in Grants Pass
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chateau at the Oregon Caves
The Chateau at the Oregon Caves
#1 of 2 in Cave Junction
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oregon Caves Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oregon Caves Lodge

Property: Oregon Caves Lodge
Address: 20000 Caves Highway, Oregon Caves National Monument, Cave Junction, OR 97523
Location: United States > Oregon > Cave Junction
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Cave Junction
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Oregon Caves Hotel Cave Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing