We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cave Junction
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Out 'n' About Treehouse Treesort
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed three nights in the "Tree-Zebo" and loved every minute. The houses and bridges are well made and feel very secure. We especially liked our tree house because of the canvas sides so that we could have lots of fresh air. It overlooked the horse stables, and it was fun to watch the horses. The foam mattress was comfortable and it was great to have a toilet. Other points of interest: the breakfast is great with lots of options, there is wireless internet available, you can hear your neighbors very well (ours were fine), there are no locks on any of the tree-house doors (just a sign saying "occupied"), and you should not have a strong aversion to insects or spiders.

Room Tip: We LOVED the Tree-Zebo
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TiffanySG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    49
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
89
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed in the "Peacock Perch" for four nights, May 16-20, 2013. We had been wanting to visit for several years, and finally made the plans last Fall. We were not disappointed.

The first thing we did was to explore all around the grounds--lots of things to look at, a large meadow to frolic in, a forest to hike in, all sorts of fun stuff just in the area. Of course, we did the zip lining, Tarzan swinging, and the horseback riding as well: extra cost, but well worth it, A highlight for us was playing on the "Mountain View Treeway," a series of bridges connecting some of the outlying treehouses 50 feet or so off the ground.

Breakfast every day left us filled up and ready to go about the day. And our days were not empty at all. For lunch and dinner, there is an assortment of cooking appliances available to use, and a kitchen available with utensils.

The entire staff is real nice: we didn't experience a single grouch while we were there.

It surprised both of us that we got not only perfect cell phone reception, but also WiFi, at the treehouses. Nice touch.

There is a lodge house with an assortment of books and games to keep people amused for hours. Also, in the lodge house is a bathroom with a very large tub, perfect for soaking.

Every night is campfire night, when all the guests build a fire and do the usual campfire talk type stuff. We were fortunate to have a very fun group with us most of the nights we were there.

All in all, a very worthwhile experience, met all expectations. Note: if you don't like camping, this isn't for you. But if you are a camper, and would like to enjoy "camping lite," so to speak, sign right up to stay here. You'll love it.

Room Tip: Be prepared to climb a lot of stairs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jumbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
181 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We came here for my husband's birthday as a surprise trip. We stayed in the Forestree. My husband and daughter were able to enjoy the FULL ENCHILADA on the zipline, tree climb and tarzan swing. We also did a family horseback ride that was quite enjoyable. The home made breakfast was yummy both days we stayed. The staff was very friendly as were the other guests. I would highly recommended staying here at least ONCE in your life, it will be well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LoquaciousColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

On arrival we were awed by the beauty and magical nature of this place. The tree houses are awesome and delightful, though they can be tight quarters. There are so many things available to do as well: zip lines, swings (one has a 55 foot drop!), horseback riding, swimming, hiking, and just plain relaxing.

The setting is peaceful and beautiful. There trees everywhere as one would expect but also lovely views of surrounding hills / mountains and sky. Word of advice: bring bug spray to ward off evening mosquitoes.

Staff was really friendly and made us feel very welcome.

Food: they do a very nice breakfast with eggs, frittatas, French toast juice, decent strong coffee, cereals, and fresh fruit. For everything else food-wise, you will need to make sure to bring your own as the nearest town is about 20 minutes away. Each unit has a small refrigerator so you can keep things cool (not really cold, but cool – see notes on maintenance below). They have quite a few gas barbeques for cooking.

All this goodness is tempered though by the need to improve on the maintenance. Our room had only 1 of 4 ceiling lights working (the 3 didn't even have bulbs). Lights in the lobby had a solar situation. Zippers on the roll up windows on our unit were stiff and couldn't be fully closed. Two of 3 carts for hauling suitcases were broken.

Overall - I'd say a great spot for an outdoor-related adventure stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dbass1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our first visit to the "Treesort" so we didn't know what to expect. We arrived at about 5:30 pm thinking that there would be a cafeteria of some sort for dinner. There was not. We had to drive back to Cave Junction for dinner. Next time we go, I'll bring something to barbeque for dinner, and sandwhich fixings for lunch, which is what most of the other guests did. They have serveral barbeques and a kitchen cabin with a microwave and large toaster type oven for anyone to use. They also have a refrigerator, ice machine, sink, and extra plates, cups and utensils so if you forget to pack anything, they probably have it covered.

The tree houses were delightful and our futon was comfortable. However, the kids had a thin foam mattress to sleep on and sleeping bags. Neither of our boys complained about their beds, but next time we go, I'll probably pack the foam pads we take when we go camping just to make the beds more comfortable. The space heaters in both of our rooms were more than adequate to heat our rooms. In the morning, things get pretty noisy because the walkways between some of the tree houses are encased with cyclone fencing, which rattles when people walk across it. On our first moring, I thought someone was cleaning their barbeque grates with a steel brush until I figured out that it was the noise from the walkways overhead. If you want a quiet morning, get a treehouse on the outskirts or the property or take ear plugs, or just resign yourself to waking up early.

There is a central fire pit area, so take marshmallows to toast. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful.

The zip line course looked really fun and while I thought $90.00 was a bit excessive, even for a 9 wire course, every party who goes zip lining has a guide or two that goes with you in case anyone needs help, so the $90.00 fee is probably a fair price. Unfortunately, we had a major car repair right before we left which ate up a chunk of our vacation budget. Fortunately, there is a smaller zip line at the back of the field that the kids could play on for free. There is also a big tire swing in the middle of the field - also free - and numerous rope swings on the property that are also free. Horseback riding is $40.00 per hour. There is no way our youngest son would sit on a horse for an hour, so they gave him a "pony ride" for $10.00. One of the employees put him up on a horse and then led him around the property for about 10 minutes. It was enough to satisfy his desire to ride a horse.

We also drove down to Crescent City and spent part of one day exploring the redwoods. It's about an hour and a half from the treesort.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main cabin for a better nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lynette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I took my young son (he was probably 10 at the time) for a week here a few years ago. It was the perfect place for a week with/for a young kid. If you have children, take them here. They will have a incredible time and it will be a warm and exciting memory filled with great stories they will carry with them the remainder of their lives. BTW, the breakfasts they make in the lodge/kitchen was awesome. My son loved them as much as I did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I had to write this review because of some of the negative reviews that I read on here about the 'treesort'. This is not a luxury resort, this place is for people with a sense of adventure and a heart that refuses to grow up. If people did a little research then they wouldn't have misplaced expectations of what the 'treesort' is all about. I was lucky enough to grow up in the Illinois Valley where the Out n About is located. This place is full of good times and memories for me. My best explanation of what a 'treesort' is, it's an e-wok village, from the spiral staircase to the long suspension bridges the Out n About is sure to bring out your inner child. The highest tree house is almost 50' in the air, 50 feet!! What I like best about recommending the Out n About to people is you decide the level of amenities you want from no electricity or running water to a to tree house with a toilet, shower, kitchen, and a queen size bed it's all up to you. They have a number of activities from horseback riding to an awesome zip line course and Tarzan swing. The best time to go depends on what your seeking, summer is a great time for a family with all the activities, and not to mention ONE OF THE BEST 4TH OF JULY CELEBRATIONS EVER!!!! The fireworks show rivals that of many larger nearby cities, that's on top of all the local food vendors and bands that play. My wife and I enjoy going during the winter, you can beat the crowds and snuggle up nice and cozy for a romantic two days or longer and you'll be happy to get the off season rate as well. If you don't believe me check out what the travel channel has to say about it.

Room Tip: If your planning a trip during the summer months make sure that you plan and book WAY in advance. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JoshuaBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Out 'n' About Treehouse Treesort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out 'n' About Treehouse Treesort

Property: Out 'n' About Treehouse Treesort
Address: 300 Page Creek Rd, Cave Junction, OR 97523-9732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Cave Junction
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cave Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Out'n'About boasts the largest concentration of rentable treehouses we know of in the world! We cater to families with children of all ages from age 1 to 100 who love new adventures with maximum fun and safety. Some have called it Glamping (glamorous camping) in the trees! Whether you like life out on a limb or something closer to the ground, we have numerous activities for everything from the most calm repose or gentle horse ride to maximum adrenaline pumping action on our ziplines and giant swing. We hope to see you aloft! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Out `n` About Treesort Hotel Cave Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing