We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wore the kids out!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cave Junction
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Out 'n' About Treehouse Treesort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The treehouse resort is much better, and much nicer than its website would suggest. The website is absolutely terrible and doesn't do the resort/campgound justice. I went for three nights with my three grandkids, ages 8, 10 and 11 and we are ready to return. The breakfast is good and there are healthy choices. The staff at the resort are amazing - all of them were helpful, kind and patient with the kids. The treehouses are varied. Each one is unique and offers something special. The experience is alot like being at summer camp, what with the ziplines, rope swings, swimming in the crystal clear water of the swimming hole, horseback riding, crafts classes and the like. Sitting around the community campfire and making s'mores with the other campers was the highlight of our evenings. The people attracted to this kind of experience were all friendly and lots of fun. It gave the grandkids the chance to run wild in a safe and fun outdoor setting. There were a few couples without kids, but they generally joined in the fun. It is a little expensive considering that each separate activity has a price tag. But we look forward to our next trip. I suppose I need to start saving NOW!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank MargaretWashburnBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 170 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is unique... Camping out in the trees! This treesort is located in Southwest Oregon. Getting there is part of the fun as you pass through beautiful views along the way. But when you arrive, you know you are going to have a special treat living up in the trees! This is special for couples and families. Not only living in the trees but experiencing a hearty breakfast. You can choose other things to do like zip lines which we did. This is awesome! Around te campfire at night we toasted marshmallows and made smoores! I felt like I was 12 again! Do it!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
15  Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

When you look at the website you have lots of options for types of treehouses. All the ones on the main site are situated in a camp ground type enviornment (resort). I choose the Lily Pad which was one mile offf the resort on private property (retreat). if you are looking for quiet, romance this was the location to choose. My kids were a little disappointed because they wished we would have chosen the resort where all the other kids were however mom loved that my kids could play loud at all hours with out disturbing others. It was less then a one mile walk back to the resort where we had 100% access to all their ammenities (rock pool, rope swings, kids free ziplining, etc). The retreat also had a private gazebo, an awesome BBQ set up, play ground (was only missing the firepit). Both options included a full breakfast. This is a must do trip for kids age 5-12. We will do it again next year.

Room Tip: see above. All of the treehouses were great... you cant go wrong with whatever you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank SarahsSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

this has been our second visit to the treesorts, and it was a lot of fun. i think the best age to bring kids is 6-14 years, not any younger, although i'm sure the sky bridges are very safe there is a lot of walking up steps and swings that may not be great for very young children. if your very afraid of heights, don't go. if not, this is a wonderful experience, there was a very communal feel both times we went, and kids and adults will make new friends. i would suggest bringing at least one or two other families with you though.

Room Tip: these tree houses all have very small interiors, if your traveling with four or more people in a tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our stay at the treesort was definitely one of a kind. all the treehouses , bridges, and staircases are very well made, we never felt unsafe at all. the place was easy enough to get to. we loved the surroundings and the staff was nothing but professional, knowledgeable, and super friendly. we stayed in the Treezeebo and it was a blast. we had fun just simply relaxing. the queen bed was so very comfortable, we all slept quite well. and the sleeping bags on the bunks were thick and fluffy and comfortable as well. the treehouse was clean and inviting with fluffy towels and a mini fridge and electric heater- the weather was nice but a little chilly, pleasant. the wifi had perfect reception at all times. also, there was no TV in our treehouse which was fine with us. they have several bathrooms on the grounds and a shower, which were all clean. they also have zip lines. the zip guides really know what they are doing and it is quite an awesome experience. the horses were right beside our treehouse and it was neat to visit with them during our stay. they looked happy and clean and their living spaces looked clean as well. the breakfast was DELICIOUS both days we stayed there. they make everything from scratch and fresh. some items served were breakfast quiches, muffins, pancakes, sausages, scrambled eggs just to name a few. the coffee was really good too and they had a great assortment of teas to choose from as well as hot chocolate powder. everything about this place was truly WONDERFUL, ENJOYABLE, RELAXING, PEACEFUL, MAGICAL. this is something you must experience for yourself, keep in mind that THESE ARE REAL AND TRUE TREEHOUSES. we will definitely be going back to rough it at The Out N About Treesort in Cave Junction Oregon year after year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank yatzee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Just wanted to share that our family of four ( children ages 8 and 5) had a fabulous time at this place last labor day weekend. We stayed in the Forestree which was clean and cozy. The kids absolutely loved this resort from the river filled swimming hole ( brrrr) , various swings, pirate treehouse, our forestree cabin, to the zip lining (their favorite) and of course hanging out with other kids here. The breakfast in the mornings were plentiful and yummy. We spent one day exploring the giant redwood forest along the California coast which was 40 minutes away.

Here are the few downsides: the bugs.... mosquitos, flies and bees while we ate outside the first
day. We solved this by eating in the ac common dining room for the duration of our stay. Also there was this darn rooster that would wake us up at the crack of dawn.

Overall it was a great vacation destination for our family. My husband who initially had doubt about this place even admitted he had a fantastic time. The kids often beg to go back and w will as soon as we can get a reservation. They are booked out pretty far in advance for summer time.



my sleep at the crack of dawn.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
7  Thank bnrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The Ziplines were great!!! The staff for those was helpful, safety minded, and fun. Those I would do again. The tree houses were...interesting. It is one step up from camping, and not for the claustrophobic or not-so-agile guest. The houses were sturdy and clean. The ladders narrow and entering and exiting them was a thoughtful process. The bridges were as a swinging bridge would be. The electrical was scary- lights that turn off and on with the closing of a trap door or a footstep nearby and the wiring and surge strips hanging out. The main house bath has a large circular window over the tub in the shower- covered over by a see through lace curtain that is at least a foot shy of covering the window- and the walk way, along with the grounds keepers quarters, are just outside that big picture window (think "free show"). The swinging walkway also has a birds eye view into the rest of that bathroom. No Privacy at all in that bath!!! The outside bathrooms are better, but very much campgroundish. The desk and kitchen crew were helpful and friendly. The breakfast they provided was abundant and tasty. Another guest put it that the workers and grounds were definitely from the hippie era. Very granola... So, I give it an average~ unique and creepy at the same time, camping with an interesting twist. Definitely go for the Ziplines though!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank MissLea178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Out 'n' About Treehouse Treesort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out 'n' About Treehouse Treesort

Address: 300 Page Creek Rd, Cave Junction, OR 97523-9732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Cave Junction
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cave Junction
Price Range: $90 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Out'n'About boasts the largest concentration of rentable treehouses we know of in the world! We cater to families with children of all ages from age 1 to 100 who love new adventures with maximum fun and safety. Some have called it Glamping (glamorous camping) in the trees! Whether you like life out on a limb or something closer to the ground, we have numerous activities for everything from the most calm repose or gentle horse ride to maximum adrenaline pumping action on our ziplines and giant swing. We hope to see you aloft! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Out `n` About Treesort Hotel Cave Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing