We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to bring the whole family and come again! Incredible and enchanting experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cave Junction
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Out 'n' About Treehouse Treesort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2012

From the first phone calls, folks were so friendly and helpful! Had no trouble finding the place w/ directions.

We pulled in and this place seemed like something from a fairy tale!
Enchanting and innovative! There are so many different sizes, designs, and heights (for those not wanting to stay up too high).

We stayed in the Magistree and were in awe at the room for 6-8 sleepers and beauty and design, especially in the wood work in the balcony.

Breakfas had a wide variety of quiche, fruit, breakfast bakes, muffins, french toast, juice and coffee. Delicious!
Again, the staff were ALL so friendly!

I noticed a previous review stating Out N About to be dirty. This is NOT the case. The rooms were very clean but of course you'll track in a tad bit of dirt from your shoes but that's to be expected w/ dirt grounds and trees on the grounds.

LOVED it and wished we had stayed longer! We've already started converaations of having a family reunion here! So much to see and do near by!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jensnookums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 172 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

The treehouses and cable bridges are amazing. The ziplines are great. The staff was very welcoming and extremely helpful. Great place for a fun and different getaway for a couple even better with the kids! It has tons of swings and activities for the children but also cool stuff for the grown up kids in us all :) The only thing negative is the owner has obviously been doing this for a long time. He was great at avoiding questions and directing you somewhere else. For running such a cool place he's not very personable. I figured after spending the amount we spent he would have been more appreciative of his guests and more willing to communicate with us. My advice, go and you will have a great time. Just stick with talking with the staff and leave the owner alone. He's a grump!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mandigrl0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed at the Calvaltree in July. The kids would prefer a treehouse higher up and on the aerial treeway next time we stay. I loved the stone-lined pool, and they loved the tree swing, zip lines and horses. Sleeping in the treehouse was unique and comfortable. Bring your wallet, though, as our 2 night stay with ziplines and horseback rides for 4 was about $900.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kids_on_the_road_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed there for ourr anniversary and it was the most romantic place we could have found. We had a wonderful experience. The people were very friendly and the home cooked food was great. Its well worth going and lots of activities to choose from for adults and the kids. I highly reccomend this place where else are you going to experience staying in an upper class tree house. Loved it and plan on going back. Thanks

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We found the Out N' About Treehouse Treesort quite by accident! We were looking to sleep in a tipi when Google automatically filled in the words "treehouse" for us. Really?! You can do that?! We stayed four nights and five days and they were the very best of our vacation, in fact, after we continued on with our road trip, the rest of the days seemed a little faded compared to those five magical days in a place that feels like the Ewok Village in Star Wars! So named because of the suspension bridges connecting all the treehouses together and because of the glowing lights strung up among the trees at night. The stars are unbelievable because it is so dark at night. You even have a clear view of the Milky Way! Don't worry if you are afraid of heights because there is a treehouse for you too! The houses are all unique, and are all at different levels from a few steps to dizzying heights, and all are different styles from rustic to shwanky!
We were greeted by the Staff members, one of which is the daughter of the mastermind behind these half dozen treehouse wonders. They were all so warm and accommodating! So were the kitchen staff who made breakfasts so delicious, my mouth is watering at the memory. Visitors provide their own lunch and dinner but a fully-equipped kitchen is available to the campers; from BBQs to spatulas. There is a common campfire pit with lots of chairs and tables to congregate and it truly feels like a close-knit community after only a few days. It is so easy to make friends and we all left with each others' emails and addresses and unforgettable memories. There are so many things to do right on location! From ziplining to horse back riding to swimming in a natural pool where it would be all too easy to imagine fairies flitting about your head. (A word of warning though! Because it is a natural pool and comes right from the river it can be very refreshing!! :D Brrrr!)
My children loved to feed the horses who were more than willing to eat! There are also free range chickens led by a majestic looking rooster named Stu, whom we all referred to as "Stew" because of his cheerful wake up call at the crack of dawn!
And if perhaps, visitors run out of things to do, there are plenty of things to do nearby, like the Oregon Caves, Crater lake, blueberry picking, sightseeing etc. People love it so much, that they are always booked solid a full year in advance so plan waaaay ahead of time!

Room Tip: it depends on your height tolerance, from almost ground level to way high up in the tops of the tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shooshies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed at the satellite facility (The Lilypad) because the main treesort was full. At first we were disappointed but now I wouldn't have had it any other way. Yes, its dirty, and there are lots of mosquitos, but sleeping way up in the tree, with only canvas roll down windows, was amazing. The only draw back was the toliet in the treehouse, is right next to the bed with only a curtain to pull around you... so you better be comfortable around one another! Also, I didn't care for the outside shower - it was a good shower, but also, just a curtain, and quite aways away from the treehouse - all I could think about were scary movies that involved psychos in the woods... But the owner, Sandy, was a nice lady and a great cook! We would stay again for sure!

Room Tip: Book a year ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AHAMMONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed 1 night on our way to Southern Oregon, and found the Treesort to be a very well-built, clean compound. The tree houses were obviously built with care, expertise, and attention to detail. Many different ones to choose from, so review the descriptions carefully to match your needs! Ours had a loft bedroom (PleasanTree) - not so comfortable climbing up to for a couple of 50+ year olds. Should have picked one with a real bed.

Offseason the place was quieter and not crowded -- no dramas being performed on the charming theater stage, for instance. In the summer, I bet the place is absolutely magical. In the morning, we enjoyed an old fashioned breakfast of fresh eggs and waffles in the main house -- delicious. I have grandkids and would love to bring them here.

We got a tree house with a bathroom; but there's also clean, well built public bathrooms with showers on the grounds.

My only complaint was that, the night we stayed, several teenagers were shrieking and running around the grounds til 1 am or so. No one apparently tried to rein them in or tell them to quiet down. So we didn't get to sleep until late. Things are definitely wilder in the country.

Room Tip: Read tree house descriptions carefully to fit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Out 'n' About Treehouse Treesort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out 'n' About Treehouse Treesort

Address: 300 Page Creek Rd, Cave Junction, OR 97523-9732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Cave Junction
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cave Junction
Price Range: $90 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Out'n'About boasts the largest concentration of rentable treehouses we know of in the world! We cater to families with children of all ages from age 1 to 100 who love new adventures with maximum fun and safety. Some have called it Glamping (glamorous camping) in the trees! Whether you like life out on a limb or something closer to the ground, we have numerous activities for everything from the most calm repose or gentle horse ride to maximum adrenaline pumping action on our ziplines and giant swing. We hope to see you aloft! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Out `n` About Treesort Hotel Cave Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing