We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Lodge at Fabulous Oregon Caves National Monument”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chateau at the Oregon Caves
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cave Junction
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The Chateau at Oregon Caves National Monument is a very rustic lodge -- some would classify it among the "Great Lodges" of the National Park system. However, it is nothing like the Ahwahnee in Yosemite or the great lodges and hotels in Yellowstone, or even the very nice lodge in nearby Crater Lake. The Chateau has very small rooms that feel like they haven't been updated since before World War II. We were first given a very long, narrow room on the 3rd floor that was clearly converted from an attic space at some point, with an odd narrow off-shoot for the toilet and a separate nook for the shower. It felt claustrophobic and rather spooky in there. We asked for a different room and the staff were kind enough to offer us an alternative, which we took. The walls are covered in some sort of fireproofing material painted a terrible brown color and there are exposed pipes in the room carrying the sprinkler system. Clearly, fire safety was high on the priority list for the architect and builders. The water pipes for many of the rooms around us could clearly be heard, so there is no need for an alarm clock as the sounds of neighboring guests using their bathrooms in the morning is sufficient to wake all but the deepest sleeper.
Having said all that, the Chateau is a charming place with a nice common area next to the Lobby with arm chairs to admire the "canyon view" out of the picture windows. The diner in the basement is a charmer, with a double horse-shoe of diner bar seating.
The staff were all-around friendly and the cave entrance is literally a few dozen feet from the Chateau. After all, if you're staying here, it's because you want to sign up for the first cave tours of the morning!
Set your expectations correctly, slow down and enjoy a night in a hotel that time forgot about.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor rooms, third floor rooms are a little spooky
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BayAreaDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 336 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2011

I'm a big fan of historic National Park type Lodges & this one fits in with some of the good ones like Timberline, Crator Lake & the Old Faithful Inn (my favorite). Hand crafted & unique, this "chateau" offers peace & quiet (at least after the day trippers leave) with it's rustic charm; large old timbers, beautiful windows, fixtures & Monterey furnishings. Another great thing is that there are no TV's or phone/internet service. Well built in the 1930's from local materials, today the floors are un-even, the interior walls are thin & the plumbing is noisy - but the charm & ambiance make this building a treasure. The staff is very friendly, caring and attentive to the quests needs and the food & wait service in the main dining room is some of the best that I have experienced in a National Park or Monument hotel. Note that the coffee shop closes at 5 pm.
Oh ya, the cave is right there too. Sign up for your cave tour at the Park Service Chalet building (next to the Chateau) 1st thing in the am before the day tourists arrive. The Park Service only reserves spaces the day of the tour. Dress warm as the cave is a constant 44 degrees & the tour takes around 90 minutes.



.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eugene-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This is a bit of a tough review to write. I'm a fan of historic National Park Lodges, and this one definitely falls in that category. The setting is scenic and the lodge has plenty of character. The evening we were there, there was a musician entertaining in the lobby, and plenty of books and board games to occupy your time (no TVs, phones, etc.). Rooms are basic, with some character, including some older pieces of furniture. Not super comfortable -- you'd want better if you were outside a national park -- but more than plausible. The lodge's central heating system didn't seem to be turned on (this is a cold place, even in June), but an effective portable heater was provided to remove the chill.

But there are plenty of negatives, too. First, the dinner menu is very expensive -- and there are no alternatives. We were running a bit late, and decided to eat dinner in Cave Junction, about a half hour away. I'm sure a comparable dinner at the lodge would have been twice the price. Breakfast in the coffee shop (the nicer restaurant is only open for dinner) was OK, nothing special. Prices were slightly to the high side, but not crazy expensive.

Staying at the lodge enabled us to take the first tour of the morning, which was quite convenient. The ranger giving the tour was friendly and knowledgable, and we enjoyed it. That said, I kept thinking "why is this cave a national monument -- it's a pretty mediocre cave." So if you've been to a "great" cave, be prepared to be a bit underwhelmed. Outside the cave, there are a couple of decent walks you can do -- including a nice half hour hike from the cave exit back to the lodge (we were the only folks on the tour who did it, despite the ranger's recommendation) -- but not loads of hiking or other activities. So I think a one night stay would be enough for most folks.

The rate for our 2-bed room was $120, and I'd never pay that for what I got outside a national park. So is it worth a visit? Your call. We were on our way from Redwood Nat'l Park to Crater Lake, so probably so. I wouldn't go out of my way to get here, and I would certainly consider the merits of just day-tripping and staying elsewhere.

BTW, if you do stay, ask to see the "ghost book" for the property. I recommend reading after AFTER you spend the night!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
6  Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

It was very convenient to spent a night there and took a first tour to the caves. Kids liked the rustic atmosphere there and the view from the window was breathtaking! We were there on Memorial weekend and it was snowing! But the hotel itself is very shaby and I expected more comfort for that price.
Overall, I think it worth to stay a nigth there if you are going to the caves, just not expect too much from your Delux Room.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank Libava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We decided to stay here to see the caves, and we love old National Park Lodges. Not sure based on previous reviews what to expect, but I figured we were only going to be there for 1 night so we could deal with what ever came our way. Well, we fell in love with it from the moment we walked in. It's like stepping back in time. We had a deluxe room with a queen bed on the second floor overlooking the visitors center and stream/ pond at the end of the lodge. The rooms ARE old, but that is part of their charm. The bed was comfortable and our room had some of the original painted Monterey furniture. There were 2 floor lamps on either side of our bed for reading, we had to unplug both at night to use the outlets to charge our phones but I love that they haven't gone through ripping up the walls to "update" this lovely lodge. In the evening after our tour we had dinner at the restaurant and then hung out in the great room. Lots of people there reading and playing board games and cards (provided in the lounge). Breakfast in the diner was fun, the waitress there as well as the waitresses from the dining room the night before were great, cheerful and attentive. The desk staff (Jennifer in the evening?) were very friendly and efficient. We spent the next night near Grant's Pass before heading to Crater Lake. In retrospect my husband and I both agree as nice as the place was we spent there we would have rather spent a second night at The Chateau. If we had to do it again, arriving when we did, at 3:00 pm, rather than going right on the 5:00 pm tour we would have relaxed around the lodge and had dinner, gone on the tour and hiked the next day after breakfast, spent a second night, and then headed for Crater Lake, it was that relaxing and the Chateau was that charming.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Rude service, crappy rooms, paper thin walls, cafe had poor food, dinner was great but expensive, has unadvertised wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blerngth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We've stayed at a number of lodges in National Parks. They tend to range from truly dreadful to quirky and charming. Luckily, this one is quirky and charming.

First, the quirky. Our rooms was truly two adjoining rooms each with doors to the hallway and separate bathrooms. That's how they accommodated a family of three. It worked great for use because my daughter was thrilled to have her "own" room and key, even though they were attached. There are no televisions, air conditioning, or phones. There is limited wifi in the lobby but we didn't use it. This would bother many people, but that's part of the lodge experience for us.

Second, the charming. The setting is just gorgeous. We were on the stream side of the hotel with lovely views of the canyons and stream. We also truly enjoyed the lobby with the available cards and games, and guests taking turns on the piano.

Our room was very comfortable and, surprisingly, quiet. Furniture looks to be of the period, 1930s.

Be aware that when you make your reservation, you will also need to make a dinner reservation. The dining room is quite small and they only seem to seat two tables each 15 or 20 minutes. We got lucky and got an early dinner time when we checked in. The menu is limited, but the food was good. The view is also good. Just be prepared to wait a bit as the waitstaff seems to be a bit overwhelmed.

The downstairs diner is open for breakfast and lunch. We had breakfast when it wasn't crowded. Very cute place, but I can imagine you'd have to wait when it got busy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candyice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave Junction
23.3 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
537 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#3 of 18 in Grants Pass
646 reviews
24.6 mi away
Buona Sera Inn
Buona Sera Inn
#2 of 18 in Grants Pass
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24 mi away
Weasku Inn
Weasku Inn
#1 of 15 in Grants Pass
436 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Chateau at the Oregon Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateau at the Oregon Caves

Address: 20000 Caves Hwy, Cave Junction, OR 97523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Cave Junction
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cave Junction
Price Range: $99 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Hour drive from Grants Pass Oregon. The Chateau is a six-story structure with a reinforced concrete foundation and a superstructure of wood frame construction with enormous post and beam interior supports. The building spans a small gorge and a great deal of the building's mass is banked into that depression. The first floor houses mechanical equipment. The second contains basement storage areas. The dining room, coffee shop and kitchen areas are on the third floor--at the same level as the lower trout pool grotto at the immediate head of the gorge. The fourth floor is at road level and contains the entrance lobby and some hotel rooms. The two upper stories have additional hotel rooms. Exterior walls are shiplap siding sheathed with cedar bark, giving the building a shaggy, rustic appearance.(Sorry no pets allowed at this time) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Chateau at the Oregon Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Cave Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing