We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cave Junction
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vertical Horizons Treehouse Paradise
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Vertical Horizons is a wonderful experience - highly recommended. My husband found it because I've always said I wanted to sleep in a treehouse. It's several miles outside of Cave Junction which is a small town. You drive past several ranches to get there and arrive at a pretty compound with the host's home, the building with showers and can see the three treehouses nestled in the trees above. The treehouses are spaced nicely. It has a great rustic feel to it - peaceful and charming. We stayed in Calypso, which was delightful. The tree comes right up through the middle of the treehouse and the decor is tasteful with a quilt on the bed. The treehouse has a porch outside with a beautiful view across the landscape. Another nice thing is that the place was equally comfortable for couples, families, etc. We were there as a couple but other folks had families with them and it was comfortable for all.

Breakfast is hearty, made with local ingredients wherever possible. We had locally-made sausage and bacon, berries and other fruit along wth eggs, pancakes, etc. You can go down to get coffee while you wait for breakfast, which is served outside on the porch.

Apparently there's another treehouse-hotel in the area but our understanding is that the other one doesn't have the peaceful feel of Vertical Horizons and that it's higher-intensity with a focus on zip-lining. Hopefully if owner Phil ever builds a zip-line at Vertical Horizons (we suggest not) he does it in the same tasteful way that the treehouses were done.

I'm not sure how reviewers could find Vertical Horizons mediocre. To each his own, but for us it was just what we expected - rustic, charming, peaceful and unique.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We came here because of the treehouse concept, but not only were the houses cool (we stayed in the Shitake - perfect for a family of four) but the owners have also done a great job with the B&B. The bath house is clean and well appointed, the breakfast was great, and the grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in the "Cottage" which is secluded and quiet. Watched deer play underneath us every night. A quick walk down to the main house for an outstanding breakfast. (wifi there if you really can't live without it) 20 minutes from Oregon Caves. 10 minutes from town. if you want a quiet peaceful place, this is it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chuk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I struggled hard and failed to find something that I did not like about our visit. The reservation process was painless via a quick phonecall to Jodie. Our treehouse was perfect for us and was clean comfortable and very well provisioned. Phil made us a really nice bonfire and we loved the view and the sounds around the fire. We took along some cheese and wine and enjoyed a lovely time around the fire. The entire property is a paradise and the breakfast was delicous and spectacularly presented. If you are in the vicinity you would be hard pressed to find a better place to stay. The caves is a great add on for a trip to the treehouses.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cottage and loved it. There was a cute little loft that worked great for our daught...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marktatham2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We’ve stayed at several B&B’s across the country and although it was neat to be in a tree house there weren’t many special touches around to really make the experience stand out. We loved the idea of staying in a tree house but this place was missing the “wow” factor for us. Maybe our expectations were too high but the actual tree house felt more like a cabin on stilts and pretty generic. Property was well kept, cabin and bathrooms were clean, and the pets were great! (The dog and cats seemed more excited to have guests then the owner, Phil.) Breakfast was good but again seemed generic consisting of pancakes, bacon, and fruit. This was not served in the tree house as the website said it was in the main house as the family wasked around & cleaned. Overall we’re happy we got to experience this place but don’t plan on going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheMasonClanOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

My family and I completely enjoyed our stay at Vertical Horizons. It was a splurge to stay there and I'm rather happy that we did. We stayed at the cottage which was great for our daughter (4 1/2), she loved sleeping in her loft and out of the three tree houses it was our favorite (nice porch). The setting is beautiful, breakfast was fantastic. The bath house left a little to be desired but no biggie. After making our own dinner on their grill, the owners lit a campfire and had plenty of willow switches for roasting marsh mellows. I thought this was a great touch. Would we go back, likely not as it is expensive but we certainly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oregonlahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Had a wonderful peaceful stay in the Calypso at Vertical Horizons. The treehouses are spotlessly clean and beautiful. The breakfast was wonderful and the owners hospitality was great. If you want a great night sleep in a clean treehouse this is the place to go! We stayed at the other treehouse place which is very unique but it was far from clean and peaceful. If you have a bunch of kids that you want to run wild go to the other treehouse place. Go to this place for a well built, beautiful, clean, private, peaceful treehouse experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julann71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vertical Horizons Treehouse Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vertical Horizons Treehouse Paradise

Property: Vertical Horizons Treehouse Paradise
Address: 3305 Dick George Rd, Cave Junction, OR 97523-9623
Location: United States > Oregon > Cave Junction
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cave Junction
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a state of the Art Treehouse Bed and Breakfast, pristine grounds, local organic foods, fun activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vertical Horizons Treehouse Paradise Hotel Cave Junction

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing