We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, but not great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salt Lake City Marriott University Park
Ranked #22 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Los Angelas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, but not great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

I love this hotel, when I travel to Salt Lake on business there are two hotels I enjoy staying in: this Marriott or Little America. This is a great stay, but is not centrally located as the downtown hotels are.

Great service, friendly people, everything I would expect from such a nice town.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamiezausaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    158
    45
    43
    13
See reviews for
102
82
26
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, DE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

You can't beat this hotel for the price and distance to both downtown SLC and the ski resorts. We have stayed at the Courtyard by the airport for the past few years and they raised their rates so high that we decided to try this place. 10 minutes to downtown (yes, you need a car) and 20 minutes east on I80 to Park City. The hotel was clean and quiet and I got a breakfast-included rate which made our mornings easy and made the rate even better. Internet was not included, but Marriott seems to be going that way (I have encountered this several times this year on business).

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sue19711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed five nights on a business/pleasure trip. The staff was very friendly and helpful, they knew how to get around town. The room was clean, but the air conditioner did not work well, the room was either too hot or too cold and we never changed the thermostat. The AC had a mind of its own and made noises. The bathroom was very small and made it difficult for two people to get ready in the morning. On the second night one of the lights went out in the bathroom and it was reported to the desk and was never replaced. Everyday the room was cleaned differently, sometimes we got new towels and other times not, sometimes the bed was completely made up and other times not, sometimes we got new drinking glasses and other times not, etc. I could not believe they charged guest to use the internet, both in our room and at their business center. We stayed at the Fairfield (a Marriott hotel) by the SLC airport and the internet was free. Which is nice when you just need to print out your boarding passes. The food was expensive and not that good. If possible I will not stay here again. It is very convenient to the University which is nice if you have a meeting there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeeBeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed at the hotel for a meeting one weekend and it was a very pleasant experience.Our room was fine and the restaurant met all our needs.The only downside was what I thought was an unnecessary charge to use a computer for checking email. At a hotel like this I expected it to be free.The hotel has a very nice view, but there are no restaurants or shops around it within walking distance so a car is really needed if you plan to explore the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacup610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

By far the most friendly and helpful hotel staff of any hotel I've ever stayed at! This hotel is a little bit older, but has been well taken care of and is in good shape. Great location!

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank gray88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

Of all the hotels I've experienced in SLC, this one is easily the best value at $89.00 a night thru Expedia- what a deal! Traveled to SLC for an extended weekend with my wife without the kids. Staff was very polite and check-in was efficient. We were upgraded to a junior suite, which was a bit bigger than the standard room. Really intimate (translation-tiny and I mean tiny!) bathroom, especially for a junior suite. Nice flatscreen TV. Awesome bed and pillows (which is why I usually stay at Marriott or Westin hotels). Stayed four days and NEVER heard a sound outside our room- very quiet and peaceful. This hotel was a bit dated but very, very clean. The hotel is not downtown, but we found it convenient to Park City, Union Park and Hogle Zoo. The hotel location at the base of the foothills provides for really nice night-time breezes to help cool you off- great for a sunset or early morning stroll. Didn't sample the food at the hotel but there are a ton of good restaurants very close by- Rodizio Grill in Trolley Square is killer if you are a meat lover like me. If you travel to Park City, make sure to check out the outlet mall there. It's one of the nicest I've seen with a great variety of stores.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabinboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

This hotel is so nice inside it has a Chihuly (They told me it's real) chandelier hanging in the atrium. The atmosphere is nice, pretty quiet, seems business-oriented, kind of mild contemporary. It's one of those places that kind of nickle-and-dimes you though, with overpriced eats and drinks, business center (at least last year), etc. This is probably because you are a captive audience - there is not much around here in terms of retail - you are on the edge of the Utah campus, near red butte gardens. If this is where you want to be then the location is a 5, if you want to be downtown, then the location is a 2.

Rooms are nice, Marriott quality. These rooms tend to show up on priceline alot during the summer months when they have more trouble filling the place - so there's your value. I wouldn't pay rack rate to stay here, but 40 or 50 bucks on priceline is another story. (I priceline alot in SLC and got this hotel 3 or 4 times - watch out - it's in the downtown zone)

If you have a car, that would be best. Then you can drive the 10 minutes to downtown, and Salt Lake is an easy parking city. It is not the easiest place in the world to find - there is a tricky left turn - so mapquest it first. (head towards red butte gardens / University of Utah).

I definitely recommend this as a hotel - but make sure you are cool with the location first.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEIdahoThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
3.1 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#18 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.6 mi away
University Guest House & Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake...
#15 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
3.4 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#23 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake City Marriott University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake City Marriott University Park

Property: Salt Lake City Marriott University Park
Address: 480 S Wakara Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84108-1211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salt Lake City Marriott University Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Salt Lake City Marriott University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City University Park Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott University Park Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing