We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Experience Overall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt Lake City Marriott University Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Salt Lake City Marriott University Park
Ranked #29 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
San Antonio, Tx
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Experience Overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Quick weekend overnight at the Marriott Salt Lake City University Park. Hotel is in a quiet part of town near the U. A little bit out of the way but not bad. Staff is obviously well trained and everyone we encountered tried hard to impress. Room was clean in everything was in good shape. Ample free parking. Had snacks in the Pitchers sports bar (not so good) and breakfast buffet (average) in the hotel restaurant. Full service Starbucks in the lobby was good. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisIsOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    147
    44
    43
    13
See reviews for
89
77
23
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I've stayed at this Marriott several times and have had great experiences every time. The staff there have always been wonderful. The first time I came to UT, I was stung by a bee while out hiking (imagine that). The lady at the front desk brought up soda and white vinegar for me to put on the bite (very nice of her).

The rooms are a decent size. It's a decent sized hotel. They have a nice gym and pool. They have an on-site restaurant, a bar, and a Starbucks. Also, if your business takes you to the hospital, they have a complimentary shuttle.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here for two nights at the end of term when picking up my son from college. Normally would stay at University Guesthouse but didn't plan enough in advance. We had rewards points so this worked out alright. Rates are normally more than UG and no breakfast included here. Parking lot is larger and easier to find a spot for a pickup truck. Right at the edge of campus so that works out well. They do have a full service Starbucks so that is nice for grabbing a cup of coffee before you head out. Staff was efficient and rooms were clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IdahoGems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

First problem: no free WiFi. Not cool. $10/day on top of the room rate. Stayed 6 nights so $60 total. Had to argue with the desk clerk, but did get it removed. 2nd problem: poor maid service. Would not restock coffee/tea. Daily complaint ignored. Small bathroom, no tub. University Guest House was $30 less, had free WiFi and full breakfast and closer to campus. Much better all around. Stay there if you are in town for UU activity.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eyeballbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeS278, General Manager at Salt Lake City Marriott University Park, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to provide feedback to the Marriott University Park. You are a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. I apologize that we fell short of our goal. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid the housekeeping issues that you experienced. I would like to extend an invitation for you to return and give us the opportunity to provide you with an exceptional hotel experience. Please contact me directly when you would like to make a reservation. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel while visiting the University of Utah. It is minutes from just about anything in Salt Lake City. It is up the road from downtown, while also close to I80 if you are interested in going to Park City or any of the other skiing locations. The staff was very friendly, and were able to accommodate any request, including one for firmer pillows. The bed was very comfortable as well. They have a free shuttle that takes you to any point on the U of U campus, and can go pick you up once you have completed your business.

The only minor inconvenience i encountered was the fact that housekeeping for some reason did not refill the supply of coffee/tea in the room. However this was resolved with a call to the front desk, who ended up sending some up.

Room Tip: The rooms with a mountain view really are beautiful in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Need a place to stay? Come here and try it out. At the guest service desk a lady named Denise is very nice genuine and honest. She goes above and beyond of her call of duty. Thank you so much for helping me out today!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Recently remodeled, new everything. The bar lets you use the Marriott Platinum reward for drinks at the bar, unusual at Utah Marriotts. Due to the license they have, you also don't have to purchase food to get a drink, which is nice. I always get consistently great service there, and either side of the hotel provides stunning views of the Salt Lake Valley. Look into their packages from time to time. Sometimes for just a few dollars more you can get things like $50 bar/restaurant credits, bottle of wine in the room, etc. Some of the best package deals I have seen in the valley. My favorite hotel to stay at in the SL Metro area by far. Much better value than the downtown locations, hopefully they keep it that way!

Room Tip: Either side has beautiful views. Quieter rooms are in south wing (don't open into large atrium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meh122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake...
#13 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
3.1 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
University Guest House & Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
#28 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake City Marriott University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake City Marriott University Park

Property: Salt Lake City Marriott University Park
Address: 480 S Wakara Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84108-1211
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salt Lake City Marriott University Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Salt Lake City Marriott University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City University Park Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott University Park Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing