We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salt Lake City Marriott University Park
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“terrible experience!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Terrible experience at this (University Park) Marriott! My room was not lockable! I reported the issue, and after more than an hour, it was still not fixed! I then went straight to the manager, who finally put some attention on the matter. Seems like there was no sense of urgency on security, which should be a top priority! In addition, they mischarged my credit card, and I had to call to remove the wrong charge. Terrible!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    164
    47
    44
    14
See reviews for
113
87
27
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Price, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The staff was pleasant & even though they had a desk clerk in training, there was no delay or issues during check in. I stayed on the 6th floor in one of the newly renovated rooms & it was beautiful. The bed was extremely comfortable & the new reading lights attached to the bed worked wonderfully for use of my laptop. Unfortunately they charge for internet access & don't plan on drinking one of the two bottles of water provided unless you plan on paying for two as they charge your credit card $3.50 whether you use one or both.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmartak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Neve written a review whie still staying at the hotel but the lack of attention to detail, as another previous traveler noted, is a bit overwhelming. Renovation still going on and it isn't too bad; staff doesn't seem up to it though. They are Pleasent in difficult conditions no doubt, room reservation with my preferences not here on arrival, clearly new training staff on front desk at 3pm, major check in time, 4 calls for items not in room("will be right up" ) and nothing delivered for 3 hours. Now no TV remote in room. And no clear directions to restaurant and bar. Unless you are here for medical reasons the Marriotts downtown or by airport are the better deal and choice. And the medical center officials will point out they have better rates at comparable hotels in the area. Looking forward to the Courtyard in Little Rock tomorrow!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank redrover62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My was was having some procedures at the University of Utah Health Care Center. This hotel is adjacent to the Center and extremely convenient, the main reason for our stay. BUT, we were pleasantly surprised by the help given us during our stay, from helping remove snow from our vehicle to unloading and loading our luggage. We will definitely stay there when we make a return visit in June.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights for work. They are still working on renovations but the rooms were newly renovated, large, and quiet with great views. The bar was relocated and for beers they were not serving draft. Still, beer was $3 a pop, so I am cool with the beer bottle! Reception was helpful and friendly. They provided free starbucks coffee in the morning and cookies in the afternoons. They also had free wine tasting, although I did not had the chance to try it....too busy checking the town. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want a calm, serene place to rest. It is a little far from attractions although they have a shuttle which can drop you off near the trolley or at the 1100th street were some restaurants are located.

Room Tip: Ask for views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmenTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Was here for a work trip and was delighted by the quality of the rooms (completed new) and the super friendly and helpful staff. They even have delightful shuttle drivers who will take you various places within a couple of miles of the hotel. When I was there, the hotel was still under renovations but it looks like it will be GREAT when completed (and the renos did not bother me one bit!).

Room Tip: Free coffee in lobby starting at 6:30am! Mountain view was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManayunkMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, Ca.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed on the campus for a week while we went to look for a house to rent. The hotel was close to the mountains, a corner bakery within walking distance and other restaurants and shopping just down the street. The hotel faces the mountains, beautiful! The staff was fantastic and the breakfast bar and snacks throughout the day was a great surprise. Clean, friendly and quiet. Loved it!

Room Tip: You can either face the mountains or the city. The hotel is up on a hill so the view of city is equa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fotocrazyoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.6 mi away
University Guest House & Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
3.1 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#20 of 75 in Salt Lake City
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake...
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
252 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake City Marriott University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake City Marriott University Park

Property: Salt Lake City Marriott University Park
Address: 480 S Wakara Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84108-1211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salt Lake City Marriott University Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salt Lake City Marriott University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City University Park Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott University Park Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing