We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salt Lake City Marriott University Park
Ranked #24 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for business. They were in the process of upgrading rooms and lobby so a lot of construction. My room was re-done and was very nice. Bathroom modern with great shower. Room service was fast and correct. Food was food too. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernylloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 492 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Okay, this is an older Marriott, but very well maintained. The rooms are very nice, bedding is great, and very clean. Staff is very good. nice restaurant, great for breakfast or lunch. This hotel is in a very quiet location with plenty of parking. Very nice Marriott and less money than the ones downtown. 10 minutes to downtown. Good restaurants nearby. You will need a car.

Room Tip: In a nice location, very quiet. All the rooms are pretty much the same. Very good value versus the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csolsen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed on the Concierge level. It was wonderful. We love the lounge, food, and atmosphere. Rooms are great.
BEST OF ALL: The Concierge, Jim. He is the ultimate concierge. Cheerful, witty, quick, and just a bundle of energy, He could make anyone's say enjoyable!
+
I have a Service Animal. She was welcome as well. (She likes to ride the glass elevator)
I want to thank the Marriott for their accomodating of Service Animals!
We will definately go back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Concierge level. It is well worth a few $ more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pywackit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Maybe it's just me but I expect certain comforts to be standard with a room without paying extra. For example, having to pay an extra $9.95 day for wiifi and extra for a small fridge or microwave which was not available anyway. Staff was curteous to go to their own break room to warm up my left overs. I was given coupons for breakfast but was turned away at the cafe and directed to pick up my to-go breakfast box from a lobby room and had to take it back to the room. Not much a selection either. Choice of egg and cheese burrito or sandwich. No fruit, cereal, muffins, waffle, etc. The TV remote would not work and could not be fixed the first night.
I have received much more for much less elsewhere.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank cdn_cajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It is currently undergoing renovation, which is smart because it is hitting that point where it's looking rundown. That being said, the room size is generous (I had a suite). I liked that the bedroom is in the back with the livingroom closer to the hallway where the ambient noise is loudest. Convenient Starbucks on the ground floor, which made my 6:30 a.m. commute much more pleasant.

The staff is super friendly, and the location is close to some great restaurants near the University. Not walkable, but only about 6 minutes away.

Room Tip: The suites for platinum members have a great layout and a fridge if you will be staying a while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kait414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel is located approximately 3 miles from the heart of downtown SLC. They are going through a renovation, so I have hopes for improvements in the concierge lounge and fitness center. The rooms have been nicely updated. However, the concierge lounge is very simple, and most often self service. The wine offerings are terrible, which is what you expect for $6/glass. The restaurant fare is simple. I could also hear the guests in the room next to me, so I thought the stay was a bit noisy. The fitness center is large, but the equipment malfunctioned. The advantages from staying here versus the 2 full service Marriott's downtown are: it is less expensive and free parking. It is not my favorite.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllClear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

During a recent stay, several inches of snow fell overnight. Walking out to my car, I was dreading the idea of dealing with the downfall in my dress shoes. Suddenly two Marriott employees approached me, armed with snow scrapers. They insisted I get in the car to stay warm while they removed the snow and scraped the ice. I was flabbergasted by this level of service. Likewise, the nightly wine reception in the lobby is unheard of at most Marriott properties.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNTraveler2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
3.1 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#18 of 75 in Salt Lake City
663 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
3.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.6 mi away
University Guest House & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake City Marriott University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake City Marriott University Park

Address: 480 S Wakara Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84108-1211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $89 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salt Lake City Marriott University Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salt Lake City Marriott University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City University Park Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott University Park Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing