We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salt Lake City Marriott University Park
Ranked #22 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Treatment”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed on the Concierge level. It was wonderful. We love the lounge, food, and atmosphere. Rooms are great.
BEST OF ALL: The Concierge, Jim. He is the ultimate concierge. Cheerful, witty, quick, and just a bundle of energy, He could make anyone's say enjoyable!
+
I have a Service Animal. She was welcome as well. (She likes to ride the glass elevator)
I want to thank the Marriott for their accomodating of Service Animals!
We will definately go back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Concierge level. It is well worth a few $ more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pywackit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    160
    46
    44
    13
See reviews for
105
84
26
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Maybe it's just me but I expect certain comforts to be standard with a room without paying extra. For example, having to pay an extra $9.95 day for wiifi and extra for a small fridge or microwave which was not available anyway. Staff was curteous to go to their own break room to warm up my left overs. I was given coupons for breakfast but was turned away at the cafe and directed to pick up my to-go breakfast box from a lobby room and had to take it back to the room. Not much a selection either. Choice of egg and cheese burrito or sandwich. No fruit, cereal, muffins, waffle, etc. The TV remote would not work and could not be fixed the first night.
I have received much more for much less elsewhere.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank cdn_cajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
226 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It is currently undergoing renovation, which is smart because it is hitting that point where it's looking rundown. That being said, the room size is generous (I had a suite). I liked that the bedroom is in the back with the livingroom closer to the hallway where the ambient noise is loudest. Convenient Starbucks on the ground floor, which made my 6:30 a.m. commute much more pleasant.

The staff is super friendly, and the location is close to some great restaurants near the University. Not walkable, but only about 6 minutes away.

Room Tip: The suites for platinum members have a great layout and a fridge if you will be staying a while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kait414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel is located approximately 3 miles from the heart of downtown SLC. They are going through a renovation, so I have hopes for improvements in the concierge lounge and fitness center. The rooms have been nicely updated. However, the concierge lounge is very simple, and most often self service. The wine offerings are terrible, which is what you expect for $6/glass. The restaurant fare is simple. I could also hear the guests in the room next to me, so I thought the stay was a bit noisy. The fitness center is large, but the equipment malfunctioned. The advantages from staying here versus the 2 full service Marriott's downtown are: it is less expensive and free parking. It is not my favorite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllClear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

During a recent stay, several inches of snow fell overnight. Walking out to my car, I was dreading the idea of dealing with the downfall in my dress shoes. Suddenly two Marriott employees approached me, armed with snow scrapers. They insisted I get in the car to stay warm while they removed the snow and scraped the ice. I was flabbergasted by this level of service. Likewise, the nightly wine reception in the lobby is unheard of at most Marriott properties.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNTraveler2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We got our room at this hotel last minute, and were thrilled to get a Marriott for a reasonable price. Unfortunately, we soon realized why we got it for such a good deal.

The whole hotel was under construction. Although it didn't happen during the night, starting early in the morning, all we heard was construction, which seemed like it was right above us. This was very annoying, as we were trying to sleep, and at one point, my son was trying to take a nap and couldn't because of all the noise.

The bathroom wasn't very well maintained. The grout looked dirty, and there was hair in the tub.

The fact that we had to pay 9.99 for internet was ridiculous. This is the only hotel we've stayed at in the last two years where that was the case.

When I ordered room service, it was a bit unnerving for the girl to take my credit card. She didn't come back with it for 30 minutes. This might be normal procedure, but I feel it would be better if they had a portable credit card reader.

There were a few good things. The lady at the front desk found us a king size bed (even though at first she said there weren't any),

Although the restaurant was expensive, it was good service and the food tasted good. I would recommend including a side with the meal, rather than having a 3.00 additional fee. We thought that was a bit odd.

We really wanted to like staying here, but I doubt we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaelba2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The bell man Nick was very pleasant and helpful.
My husband couldn't sleep because there was a bear on the 7th floor snoring.
It cost $20 to upgrade to the next floor. There pool looks nice but didn't get to check it out it closes at 10 pm. The glass elevators are nice.

Room Tip: Ask for the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mashia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
3.1 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#18 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.6 mi away
University Guest House & Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake...
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
3.4 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#21 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake City Marriott University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake City Marriott University Park

Property: Salt Lake City Marriott University Park
Address: 480 S Wakara Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84108-1211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salt Lake City Marriott University Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your Salt Lake City Marriott University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City University Park Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott University Park Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing