We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for a Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salt Lake City Marriott University Park
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We got our room at this hotel last minute, and were thrilled to get a Marriott for a reasonable price. Unfortunately, we soon realized why we got it for such a good deal.

The whole hotel was under construction. Although it didn't happen during the night, starting early in the morning, all we heard was construction, which seemed like it was right above us. This was very annoying, as we were trying to sleep, and at one point, my son was trying to take a nap and couldn't because of all the noise.

The bathroom wasn't very well maintained. The grout looked dirty, and there was hair in the tub.

The fact that we had to pay 9.99 for internet was ridiculous. This is the only hotel we've stayed at in the last two years where that was the case.

When I ordered room service, it was a bit unnerving for the girl to take my credit card. She didn't come back with it for 30 minutes. This might be normal procedure, but I feel it would be better if they had a portable credit card reader.

There were a few good things. The lady at the front desk found us a king size bed (even though at first she said there weren't any),

Although the restaurant was expensive, it was good service and the food tasted good. I would recommend including a side with the meal, rather than having a 3.00 additional fee. We thought that was a bit odd.

We really wanted to like staying here, but I doubt we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaelba2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
There are newer reviews for Salt Lake City Marriott University Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 479 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

The bell man Nick was very pleasant and helpful.
My husband couldn't sleep because there was a bear on the 7th floor snoring.
It cost $20 to upgrade to the next floor. There pool looks nice but didn't get to check it out it closes at 10 pm. The glass elevators are nice.

Room Tip: Ask for the 7th floor.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mashia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

This is my 3rd Marriott experience in the US, and their service continues to recieve good marks from me. This Marriott has a good and friendly staff, which makes a working trip bearable. If I have to complain about something, its the food in their American Grill restaurant, I had the saltiest seafood bisque here!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManilaMinitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is in many ways a typical Marriott. It's distinguishing feature was it's size (much like the Mayan-style one in Albuquerque, this one has a confusing layout with a large, cold atrium area). The rooms were nothing special. Our room with two doubles did not have a dresser for clothing, which was inconvenient for two people over a four-day stay.
I have heard positive reviews about the hotel's "award-winning" restaurant, and ate there for breakfast. The weekend breakfast buffet had a good selection and was replenished frequently. However, on the weekday we were there, the restaurant was understaffed and our food took an inordinately long time to arrive. It was tasty when it did come though.
Personally, I didn't like having to cross the hotel lobby to go to the fitness and pool/spa areas. They are tucked away down a long hallway off the bar area. The hot tub was really warm, which was nice considering how chilly it can be in Salt Lake when a temperature inversion sets in. The fitness center was clean and roomy and had plenty of workout machines with individual TV monitors and a weight area.

Room Tip: There is construction right now, and it seemed like it would continue through 2013. I think some of...
Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank DurangoFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed to the Marriott for business with the University.
The location is very convenient and there is also a free shuttle that can pick you up and drop you off to some of the University buildings.
The room was clean and spacious. The staff very nice and helpful.
I enjoyed the pool and the fitness area (with includes treadmills, bikes, weights).
They have a very small Starbucks coffee shop and a restaurant close to it were I enjoyed breakfast and dinner.
I will definitely come again to this place for my future stays.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilie_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The staff here is terrific, I've stayed three times and been treated well every time. The hotel is spacious and large, appears to function well for large groups from what I witnessed. They have a good restaurant which does a terrific breakfast buffet and there's a nice sports-bar with a decent happy hour sometimes. If you are Marriott Gold or Platinum the concierge lounge is smallish but well stocked and on weekends you will get the breakfast buffet in the restaurant instead. The pool I am in LOVE with! It is large and warm with a good hot tub - the room is glassed in with an amazing view of the nearby mountains. The adjoining workout room is spacious and well-equipped. Often in the past when I've stayed solo in hotels geared toward large groups I felt like an unwelcome annoyance but I felt respected and welcomed here. The location is great for the University, is closer to downtown and shopping than it appears, and just down the road from many attractions like the Natural History Museum, Red Butte Gardens, the zoo, etc. The Junior Suite is very nice if you opt for that, and if you worry about noise from the atrium design there are quieter rooms, though I never noticed the noise was bad.

Room Tip: There are some good views from higher floors (ask for a view) and if you are sensitive to noise ask...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soo2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a must stay if your are visiting Salt Lake City. It's east of downtown on the University of Utah campus but these folks realy take hospitality serious. I was given a nice Jr. Suite and breakfast each morning and warm apple cider every afternoon and evening! The room was vwery clean and the bed and bedding was very confortable. Climet control was just right. The work center was very user friendly and the entire staff was very hospitable. That sounds corney but some hotels don't try to earn your business and this one is not one of them. It was a very quiet hotel at night. Hats off, I enjoyed my stay in SLC and this hotel was one of the reasons. Dinning on site stays open late and they have room service if you wish to dine in.

Room Tip: Ask to upgrade to a Jr. Suite and get a fulling living arera plus the bedroom along with a bar area...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
3.2 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,859 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
3.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake City Marriott University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake City Marriott University Park

Address: 480 Wakara Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84108-1211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $107 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salt Lake City Marriott University Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salt Lake City Marriott University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City University Park Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott University Park Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing