We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ski trip to Utah” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Ranked #23 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Ski trip to Utah”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2006

We stayed two nights (Feb. 2nd-4th) at the Marriott Downtown Salt Lake City, on a last minute ski trip to Utah.

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We took advantage of their ski package that includes lift tickets to the ski area of your choice. This works out to be a lot less expensive than even discounted lift tickets offered around town.

We felt the room was just average for a Marriott. We were on the 14th floor facing south. The room was clean and comfortable. But I wasn't overly impressed. I read various positive reviews before I booked it and I guess I was expecting something special. It seemed to look and feel like any typical downtown Marriott. I have previously stayed at the less expensive Sheraton down the street and found the rooms to be very similar. The Marriott also charges $10/day for parking where other hotels do not charge. We ate breakfast at the hotel and thought it was very good.

In summary, I would stay there again for the friendly staff and the affordable ski package. But I would not pay a lot extra to stay here over other area hotels.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    259
    105
    34
    11
See reviews for
96
93
32
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juno Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2006

Stayed at this hotel for a conference. I enjoyed my stay. Rooms were good size and front desk service was wonderful! Conference food supplied by hotel was great. Elevations restaurant food was average. Centrally located to all downtown spots.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank guavabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2005

We stayed in the Marriott Downtown for one night. Our stay was great. The view was beautiful from our window. The rooms are very nice and we will stay again when the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Erx733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2005

I stayed at the Marriott for the weekend of Sept 9-11th. I will say, the moment I got into the lobby, I was checked in, in less than 2mins. It was quite impressive. The lobby is very elegant, they have two restaurants, a bar, and a Starbucks. It was very clean, our room had a nice view of the city. Big king bed, and plushy pillows. Its right across from the streetcar line which takes you to surrounding areas. Temple Square can be viewed from certain areas of the hotel, you can see the mountains in front of you. The hotel has access to the mall from the ground level. Overall its nice for the price..

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmoreno76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2005

While I found Salt Lake City a little on the boring side, my stay at the Marriott Downtown was a very pleasant experience.

I attended a week long conference at the Marriott and Salt Palace across the street. My room was spacious, extremely clean, well appointed, quiet, and had a very comfortable bed and pillows. The view from my 14th floor room was very pleasant. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I give them an A+.

The only downside - very minor - is that the bar, Pitchers, is rather small. Regardless of the size, the bar staff was very accomodating - you'll never go thristy or hungry.

Overall, I rate this as one of the best hotel stays I have ever had.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paperclip1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2002

Got this through Priceline for $32. He he. Was mid-week, 1 night, first week of October 2002. Self-parking was $8 per night, so that raised the effective price to $40.

They gave us a non-smoking room with king-size bed on 14th floor even though we were priceline freeloaders. Never treated us like second class citizens. Staff was very helpful with directions to places.

Loved our stay. Bed was most luxurious and comfortable I have ever stayed in. Pillow top was a little too soft for my wife's back, though.

Used pool and hot tub. Very nice. Very large fitness/workout room (actually 2 -- a cardio rooom was separate), but didn't use them. Don't like the types of weight machines they had.

Whole place had very luxurious feel to it. Don't know what most people pay for a room here but I can definitely say this was a very well spent $32/$40.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.4 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#21 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Property: Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Address: 75 S West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#25 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features an excellent fitness center and pool, located adjacent to City Creek Mall and across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown At City Creek Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing