We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Above average” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Above average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed here for a week in Nov 2013, on business.

Having stayed in a Marriott before in San Francisco, I was pleasantly surprised to see this hotel was actually in a much nicer condition with more amenities

The hotel has a great central location, attached to a Mall- great if, like me, you forgot your iPhone charger cable and had to go buy a new one! Being able to walk next door to an Apple store was very convenient.

There is a Starbucks in the lobby which was very nicely presented, and although there are major refurbishments going on in the lobby, it doesn't cause a problem with noise etc. The staff are all extremely friendly and can't do enough for you.

The room I was in was facing North, toward the mountains and the view was lovely (12th floor) but i sadly didn't get a balcony which was a shame.

The room is very comfortable, the beds are great, no issues there, and the TV has 48 channels although most of US TV is terrible and filled with doom laden adverts. You do get HBO and FX though, which I found to be great and mainly advert free (and film heavy). You get a minibar fridge with no contents, which is fine for chilling cans of drink you've brought in. Also, there is a coffee/tea making machine which uses cartridges that are replenished every day by housekeeping.

All in all, great stay, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a high floor, north facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BugPowderDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    244
    101
    31
    9
See reviews for
90
87
30
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

What an excellent location! Adjacent to the new City Creek mall. A block away from Temple Square. Adjacent to Convention Center. Its too bad that the hotel can't figure out a direct entrance into the mall instead of having to walk down the sidewalk a few hundred feet. If you feel like walking and a little variety, walk down to the Gateway mall (Union Pacific sign at the end of South Temple) and enjoy its stores and restaurants.

Hotel, itself, is delightful. It usually has some special rates on weekends (beginning on Thursday) which make it affordable. The concierge lounge is standard Marriott -- a nice place to sit with friends if you just want to chat. The breakfast selections vary slightly -- and are good and filling. The view from the concierge lounge to the south is great! (Too bad the view is not to the north -- there is a great view of the temple)
Bed is luxurious and comfortable - great sleep. Temperature control in the room is good. Housekeeping is almost excellent (the shower liner needed replacing or scrubbed).
Overall, the perfect place to stay in Salt Lake.

Room Tip: Rooms to the north on a higher floor have a great view of the temple
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SequimWATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Point, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is actually my second year to stay at this fabulous hotel!! Service was great. Clean rooms! Short walk to the Salt Palace Convention Center!! Anytime I am in SLC for business with my company, ZIJA International, this is where I will be staying!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here for just one night. Check-in & check-out was a breeze. Staff was attentive and very helpful. The room was spacious, bed was very very comfortable, and bathroom was just average. I do not remember if there was a mini bar. However the best part is the location of the hotel. It is part of the City Creek Mall. Its a nice little mall, just about a year old, with a lot of shopping options, including an apple store. Had breakfast at Kneaders Bakery at the mall, instead of the hotel. Do that!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arpan-chat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I love this hotel! We stay here often just to get away and feel spoiled for a few days. This hotel is in the perfect location for shopping, restaurants and touring SLC! The pool is the best with the retractable roof!! Great service. Will stay here again and again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CelesteA23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

It's a Marriott. That's all fine. But it's in a very, very noisy location and well, between the constant traffic and the bar blasting music, I do not recommend the place for those of you looking for a good night sleep. And very thin walls and doors to the hallway.

It's location is great if you want to party and not sleep, but its not good for the business traveller. It's my first negative review of a Marriott for its poor construction to protect the traveller from outside noise.

Zero stars for quality of sleep...nice bed means nothing with a place blasting music outside. It's getting two stars because its quality is otherwise like any Marriott.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and there clearly must not be any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novicetravellgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo ny
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Very nice hotel. Even had laundry facilities which was very helpful for us as we were on a 16 day bus tour! Beautiful pool. Great friendly staff. From our window, we could see the Temple. Great location, across the street from the convention center. The restaurant was nice and very accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank damily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.4 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Do...
#23 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Property: Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Address: 75 S West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1590
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#25 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features an excellent fitness center and pool, located adjacent to City Creek Mall and across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown At City Creek Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing