We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice location for work and shopping” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice location for work and shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is pretty decent.

Checkin was quick, was in the room within 2 minutes from walking in (gold card service helped)

The room was sweeeet.. i had a balcony which i used pretty much every day.. was nice to sit out and read before I hit the sack. The hotel is on a busy road but its nothing like a New York or London city.. Its pretty relaxed as a city.

Breakfast, Bar. Service was pretty decent, food all good in price and taste (recommend the Salmon salad)

Location,
your next to a nice shopping mall, that links to another one (cant remember the name), and then 3 blocks away there is another outdoor shopping mall. Loads of decent places to eat and get a beer

Staff, All really pleasant.

Bad point, parking is below the hotel, waiting for the lifts can be a problem. and then the parking area is a sauna.

Room Tip: Try for a lower floor, anything higher will take ages, the elevators are pretty slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    243
    100
    31
    9
See reviews for
90
87
30
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Good - Very comfy beds, memory foam that felt so good when I went back home I hated my mattress! The rooms were quiet, clean, and well maintained.
Downside - very little drawer space – so 2-3 days should be okay but we were there for 8 nights so you should bring extra hangers as I did based on a friend’s trip earlier this year. . The wall plug ins seem a bit confusing but we did not need them.

minor issues - In room internet worked 85%-90% of the time but there were a lot of people (entire hotel!) trying to use it so that may not be an issue for your trip.
On site parking is expensive but you are in a great location to not have to drive to many things so this may not be an issue.

Room Tip: We were on the north side, facing the capital and it was a magnificent view to the Great Salt Lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Average hotel with boxy featureless rooms. That said it was clean and spacious, the bed comfortable and the location across from the Salt Palace just about perfect. OK for business travel but I would not use this place as a vacation base.There are some rather good restaurants around and it backs onto a new mall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diver4359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
397 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed here while attending a conference at the hotel. As always, the Marriott experience was great from check in (Jana noted my Gold Member status and upgraded me before I could even request it) to the Concierge services (Alisa and the other staff members there). They managed to deal well with the chaos of our conference (we're not a quiet, calm bunch) and still maintain their professionalism. The Starbucks staff in the hotel were exceptional--always smiling and willing to converse.

The hotel may be showing its age a bit, but it's holding up well enough. The bed, linens, towels were all nice.

I was on the 16th floor and it was quiet. Others noted that they were also facing the street and that there was a bit of noise. If you're a light sleeper, opt for a higher room.

Excellent location adjacent to the City Creek shopping and restaurant areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurryG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is first rate! My husband and I stayed there while on a tour and I must say it's one of the best Marriot's nationwide. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. It is located conveniently to shopping, dining and other venues.

Room Tip: The pool and spa area are great - clean with toweling provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel was clean and staff were friendly. I forgot my phone charger and one of the staff found one for me to use for the duration of my stay. During the day, food was provided by the hotel for the conference but after the conference it was hard to find a place to eat especially on the weekend - Sunday was the worst day. For such a large property, the banquet held as part of the closing ceremony was understaffed ten fold. While the food was good, the wait staff was not prepared for such a large event.

Moral of this review, nice hotel to stay at if your going to see the city but not so good if you are choosing this hotel for a large event utilizing their banquet facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MS3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband & I had a day to get away and stayed in the Marriott. Staff was friendly & helpful.Hotel is older but remodeled and nice, You can always count on a nice room at a Marriott property. Great view overlooking City Creek and the fountains. Location was great as we could walk all over Salt Lake to the different places we wanted to go. Drove up to Snowbird and hiked and enjoyed Octoberfest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.4 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Do...
#23 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek

Property: Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Address: 75 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#25 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features an excellent fitness center and pool, located adjacent to City Creek Mall and across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown At City Creek Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing