We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, full-service Hilton property in downtown SLC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Salt Lake City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good, full-service Hilton property in downtown SLC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is my second time staying at this property.
This hotel has many things going for it:
-fitness center with adequate equipment
-whirlpool and pool
-outdoor seating on the second floor, overlooking the city
-close to Squatters (one block away)
-restaurants and bar on site
Two things that are lacking:
-free shuttle service to/from SLC airport (like some of the other hotels provide)
-a functioning/staffed Executive Lounge (it's just a big room with furniture but no service - last time they had bottles of water in the refrigerators; this time they did not.)
However, you can arrange for a discounted airport shuttle ride from the hotel.
Nice choice in SLC.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisinnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    374
    161
    68
    20
See reviews for
148
214
78
569
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We have stayed here on three separate occasions. Very well appointed and they are pet friendly. Rooms are recently remodeled and very clean. Walking distance to many restaurants and a nice mall. Staff is very polite and accommodating. Garage parking is a bit tight.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coast T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKProtzman, General Manager at Hilton Salt Lake City Center, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear cst2cst151,
Thank you for your recenty visit and compliments. We strive to offer geniune friendly hospitality at the Hilton City Center. We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Salt Lake City.

Jeff Protzman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderful night at the Hilton in Downtown Salt Lake City. We were in the city just for 1 night to see Wicked. Had a room with a king-sized bed on the 14th floor. Bed was extremely comfortable and room was very quiet. One of the best nights of sleep in a while. Within walking distance of several restaurants, bars, the Capitol Theater and City Creek. Parking is usually extra but I was able to get a rate on priceline that included self parking. Definitely will be a place I will stay again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 2malamutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKProtzman, General Manager at Hilton Salt Lake City Center, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear 2malamutes,
Thank you for your recent visit and great review. With out recent room renovation we upgraded our beds. We believe our location is perfect for guests wanting to experience downtown SLC... go to the theatre or enjoy one of many restaurants and lounges within walking distance.
We hope to see you again for the next show at the Capital Theatre.

Jeff Protzman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I had a five-day conference in SLC and brought the family with me. Room was comfortable. Staff was very friendly and accommodating - they didn't have the exact room type we had reserved, so they upgraded us to a larger room on an executive floor to make it right. Hotel is well-located, very close to downtown shopping and to the Mormon Temple. No complaints - this is a good option when in downtown Salt Lake City.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKProtzman, General Manager at Hilton Salt Lake City Center, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear RoadTripNeil,
Thank you for your recent visit, and posting. We strive to "make it right" for our guests. I agree with your posting.....We believe our location is perfect for a short walk to Temple Square or shopping at City Creek.

Thanks again

Jeff Protzman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
188 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This has all the quality you would expect from a Hilton, but lacks polish. The rooms and beds were very comfortable and the housekeeping staff keeps the place very clean. The staff is friendly. The dresser is our room was full of nicks and scrapes, undoubtedly because of its age. The hotel has no café-style restaurant expect for breakfast. The prices are high. The sole restaurant for dinner is Spencer’s Steak House where it will cost you $50 per person for a complete meal. Fret not; there are many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel of various qualities and prices. Fret not, unless it is raining or snowing outside. I was attending a conference. If that conference was held again at this hotel, I would not object to staying there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank godolnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKProtzman, General Manager at Hilton Salt Lake City Center, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear godolnj,
Thank you for your recent visit and posting. I appreciate the details that you shared on your experiences at our hotel and in downtown Salt Lake City. I agree, there are numerous restaurant options for our guests to choose from within walking distance with a wide variety of cuisine and price ranges. I appreciate the information regarding the dresser condition. We are currently refinishing our dressers int he guest rooms and should be completed within 60 days.

Thanks again for staying with us.

Jeff Protzman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The conference rate was $149/night with the same rate available for a few days before and a few days after. A week or so after I made my conference registration, I decided to stay an extra night and was quoted $179, NOT $149, using the same conference rate code. Decided to see what the AARP rate would be for the extra night on Friday $89!!! Made the AARP res and requested to stay in the same room which was done. WIFI policy is weird, which is why I dropped from overall Excellent to Very Good. One code for the conference rooms and one code for the guest rooms. Unlike other conference hotels where you have free wifi for your entire stay through out the edifice, Hilton makes you sign in every day and it is SLOW. Bring your own pillow if you like one that is a bit firm and gives support. Last but not least, sign up for Hilton Honors. I did at check-in time and got a credit of $167.

Room Tip: Rooms with two queen beds are really with two kings. Pleasant surprise. Also in that room is a cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKProtzman, General Manager at Hilton Salt Lake City Center, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Joan P,
Thank you for your recent visit and the detialed information that you have provided regarding the accomodations and reservation process. I apologize for the internet connectivity problems that you experienced. We are process of completing a major upgrade with AT&T to improve our connectivity speed throughout the hotel. We will complete this upgrade by the end of September, which will greatly improve the WiFi speed for our guests.

Thanks again for your business and your posting.

Jeff Protzman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a conference for 4 days. Got a good rate through the conference. The room was large. The air-conditioning was strong, but located in a corner of the room such that only that corner stayed cool and the rest of the room not so much. Despite being there for a conference which required use of the internet, the internet connection was horrendous. I was given a "coupon code" to log in, however the conference internet code never worked properly and the internet kept switching to AT&T which the hotel said was not the right connection. If I was able to connect properly I was signed off within 15 minutes of connectivity. Very slow and frustrating. There was a public internet connection in the lobby which was spotty.
The food offerings in the hotel are average. It is nicely located 10-15 minute walk to the family history library and near the mall. There is no free shuttle to the airport which was a disappointment as many other hotels in the area have this service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hnsadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler T, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Salt Lake City Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear hnsadler,

Thank you for your recent visit to our Hotel for your conference. We appreciate any feedback that is given to help us improve our service to valued guest such as yourself. I apologize for the internet connection problems, due to a high volume of business at the hotel the connectivity of the internet is spotty at times. We are taking the necessary steps to improve our internet quality and to make it more accessible for guests during peak business times.
Again, I want to thank you for your feedback and I hope that if you consider us again, that your stay will be above average.

Tyler Teran
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.3 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Salt Lake City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Salt Lake City Center

Property: Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Address: 255 S West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Salt Lake City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with spacious rooms and an indoor pool and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Salt Lake City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Salt Lake City Hotel Salt Lake City
Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Hilton
Hilton Salt Lake City Center Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing