We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for! Death threat not included!”
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Garden Inn
Ranked #66 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for! Death threat not included!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Well, I wasn't coming here expecting The Ritz. I had paid little more than $50 for my stay and needed a place to sleep for two nights. I am a 20 year old girl, and was staying on my own. I was approached by 3 different men one night on my way home (on the street outside) and that was enough to freak me out. I went in and wrote down all of their descriptions in case I was murdered. To my horror, a man walked into my hotel room in the morning claiming to be hotel staff. I don't think he was! He apologised and left when I screamed, saying he had the wrong room.

As for the room itself, it smelled badly of mould and I felt like I couldn't breathe in the air safely. I put my towel over the pillow to sleep with more peace of mind (from germs).

The wifi that was supposedly offered was down, much to my inconvenience. I am British so my cell phone required wifi to work.

Breakfast was mediocre, but what are you expecting for the price.

There appeared to be a pool but I wouldn't touch it if you paid me.

All in all, a cheap motel for a cheap experience. I wouldn't go back out of choice but it wouldn't kill me if I was to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    40
    80
    67
    123
See reviews for
67
81
42
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Arrived and couldn't find our reservation. We waited for 30 minutes until the asst manager finally found it. We decided to stay one more day and my wife paid. She noted a couple of days that later that they charged her for two days. We emailed the hotel - no response
The breakfast area was filthy and what was there was skimpy
Room was ok but dated
Would never go back

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salt Lake City hotels

Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

There were two positives to this hotel, the price and the location. It was located in downtown with easy access to all major highways and only about 10-15 minutes from the airport. Also, it was cheap, so I guess I got what I paid for. the room was very old and very dingy. when we got there the carpet in the whole room was wet. The wall paper was dirty and peeling. The comforter had burn holes in it from cigarettes, despite the fact it was a nonsmoking room. The door did not seem very secure, which wasn't good because we were on the first floor. Plus, the week we were there, the cops got called because there was a shooting in the parking lot, which I realize can happen anywhere, but let's just say, I'm not surprised based on the people that were generally hanging around. The service was good though and the staff was helpful when needed.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumdoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taber, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I tried to give this hotel a fair review as the price was good. The room was filthy, several stains throughout carpet, black mood in. The bathroom with wallpaper trying to cover it up, the door frame to the bathroom was rotting out from what appeared to be water damage. There was lots of water damage on our ceiling by our sink, the ceiling tikes were walling out. The first morning we got up my husband went to get ice, the door was locked so he asked he cleaning lady if she could open it, when she couldn't she left to get help....a minute later a homeless man opened the door and vacated the ice room. The free breakfast was great except there were a few homeless people there as well, don't get me wrong I have nothing against homeless people however it was difficult to sit and eat my breakfast with the smell. Would not recommend and will not go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This inn is probably owned by Comfort Inn but not up to their standards. A fifties’ type design. Clean and comfortable with space for two queen beds. Staff anxious to please and respond almost immediately to a request. Typical continental breakfast but slow to replenish offerings. Rate attractive for late September but some other more upscale motels offer similar prices. Walkable distance to all major attractions downtown. Free shuttle from and to airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liliOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place is gross and disgusting. Very dirty, entries to buildings have never been cleaned cement was dirty never seen a power wash or mop. All the rugs in the halls and rooms very dirty and sticky. Furniture dirty. Thought i was in Tijuana Room service started banging on door at 8am to clean came back several times until I had to yell at them to leave me alone until checkout. What a rip off the place needs a total over haul and new management.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I am no cleanliness dramatic, however this place was really bad. Smoke smell all around (in a non-smoking room), stains all over the carpets and walls, including the bathroom (housekeeping really does not recognize red blood spots on the white toilet here). Very messy around the rooms (glass, paper, cans, ...). Would never dare to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakub_Kintan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#50 of 75 in Salt Lake City
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#45 of 75 in Salt Lake City
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
SpringHill Suites Salt Lake City...
#44 of 75 in Salt Lake City
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake C...
#57 of 75 in Salt Lake City
842 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Inn

Property: Royal Garden Inn
Address: 154 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2701
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Hotel Salt Lake City
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Inn Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing