We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice, historic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peery Hotel
Ranked #49 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Rock Springs, Wyoming
1 review
“Nice, historic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I'm amazed at some of these reviews. If you want a new, cookier cutter hotel, clearly this isn't for you but there are plenty of chain hotels nearby. If you're looking for a unique hotel with charm and character, pick this one! We stay here often and we've never had problems. The rooms have all been well cared for, housekeeping is great and the beds are wonderful. Parking is paid but so are many other downtown hotels.

I highly recommend this hotel but do keep in mind that it's historic! Jeeze!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wyoguy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeeryHotel, General Manager at Peery Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future. We take pride in the history and design of the property and attempt to maintain its charm. I have forwarded your kind remarks to our Housekeeping Director. I know that our staff takes pride in making sure the cleanliness of our rooms meets the standards of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    152
    77
    47
    47
See reviews for
59
159
56
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the last several years, quality is DOWN. Parking used to be free, now it's $12, internet is $10, should be free for this price, TV very limited, no pay per view, no HBO, room was cold, heat very reluctant, toilet required 2 flushes, one (only ONE) bar of soap for sink AND bath, bad matress, definitely transferring to Little America next time. This place was once worth the $140, they seem to have really cut back on the amenities. Such a beautiful historic property ... such a shame ... hasta la vista, Peery ...

Room Tip: one tip ... Little America
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salt Lake City hotels

chico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Parking is free on street from 8 pm to 8 am only. Otherwise you need to pay $10-12 for 24 hours. Paid parking areas are abundant. Guest must pay for wifi as well. That being said, hotel was very tidy, rooms a little dated, but fine. It was a funky, old hotel, nicely redone a few years ago, so showing its wear and tear again, but clean. Easy to get to from I80. Restaurants are everywhere, great mall about 4 blocks away. Desk staff polite and lobby was beautiful. I got room super cheap through Priceline, so didn't complain about parking or wifi, but published rates are higher and I would have definitely felt cheated if I paid full price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryChico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeeryHotel, General Manager at Peery Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and concerns. Guest reviews are very important in order for us to improve on our services. I do recognize and understand your frustration with parking and WIFI. We are looking into additional options to more alleviate the frustrations associated with these charges and better accommodate our guest needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A very nice hotel. The building is historic and neat. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I am going to go to my new and approved rating system and give this spot a 3.25 star. Next to shopping bars restaurants

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wholenessmoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeeryHotel, General Manager at Peery Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, Herts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Noisy air conditioning, shower designed for midgets, meagre breakfast in room (no dining option), and the failure of the paid-for wifi system in the room all add up to a pretty disappointing experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LeaSinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights after leaving Yellowstone and on our way to Monument Valley. This proved to be a good move, having read some positive reviews here, and the hotel is also a top choice listed in the Lonely Planet Guide to the USA. We were not disappointed. the staff were friendly and courteous on check-in, and extremely knowledgeable about the area when we wanted to know about the best restaurants/bars/ sights for our short stay. The hotel itself is beautiful with an old world charm. The foyer makes a statement with its impressive staircase, antique furniture, chandeliers and fireplaces. It was pleasant to find a water cooler placed there which was regularly topped up and filled with lemon slices-very refreshing.

We were told we would be in one of the larger standard rooms, which was all that was available on check-in, however, there wasn't a great deal of room and the bed was so large that the door to the room almost hits the bed when you open it. Don't let this put you off however, as this is one of the biggest and most comfortable beds we have ever slept in, and we were very reluctant to leave it!

Breakfast can be ordered before midnight to be delivered to your room in the morning. They call this their 'Silver Tray Service' which sounds very grand but is in fact quite ordinary and not really worth the money.

The hotel is very well located for all amenities and it is fun to walk around town looking at the spectacular Mormon temples and churches. There is an awesome view of the mountains at the end of what seems like every street that you look down and it is only a short drive to the Great Salt Lake which is a must-see and very hard to describe, just go!


We had a fantastic night in nearby Gracie's Bar where there was live music and a brilliant atmosphere, and the food was amazing both nights we were there-Mexican at The Red Iguana, and Japanese at Benihana. All in all, a fab stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights in the Peery. The Peery has loads of old world charm and character, is only mins away from Downtown and has staff that are very helpful and professional indeed.... greatly appreciated. Also, the hotel is directly across the road from two great bar and restaurants (Sqautters and Graciers).

The only problem with this hotel in my view is that there is no room service and no dining facilities. Guests can order delivered breakfast however if you fill in the order and leave the request on your door nob before 12am. Apart from that, no way to get a meal or a snack.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#46 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake Ci...
#35 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Dow...
#43 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#15 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peery Hotel

Property: Peery Hotel
Address: 110 W Broadway, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peery Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1910 & listed on the National Historic Register, The Peery Hotel is the top boutique hotel in Utah. The Peery is located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City and is within walking distance to shopping, theaters, nightlife and over 60 restaurants. The Peery offers Tempur-Pedic beds, complimentary continental breakfast and a state of the art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Peery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peery Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah
Peery Salt Lake City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing