We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old world hotel...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peery Hotel
Ranked #48 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great old world hotel...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights in the Peery. The Peery has loads of old world charm and character, is only mins away from Downtown and has staff that are very helpful and professional indeed.... greatly appreciated. Also, the hotel is directly across the road from two great bar and restaurants (Sqautters and Graciers).

The only problem with this hotel in my view is that there is no room service and no dining facilities. Guests can order delivered breakfast however if you fill in the order and leave the request on your door nob before 12am. Apart from that, no way to get a meal or a snack.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    159
    80
    50
    49
See reviews for
63
166
57
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carrollton, Ky
Level Contributor
346 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Peery Hotel while in Salt Lake City. Our room was very well furnished, clean & smelled like new. We were tired from a long journey but it was very pleasant just sitting in the beautiful lobby. There is a container of cold lemon water in the lobby in the afternoon, great on a hot day. Also coffee & tea on a sideboard in the morning. We would recommend this charming hotel to any visitor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelers1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

if your jaw doesn't drop to the floor when you walk into the lobby of this hotel, then you are staying in MUCH nicer places than I'm used to... this place is a palace... GORGEOUS chandelier and staircase, old fashioned piano, HUGE spacious lobby... and i haven't even gotten into the room yet... the beds are amazing..so comfortable, better than 95% of any other hotel I've ever stayed in, the rooms are clean (sure some things are 'outdated' but for me thats the charm of a historic property) the architecture is stunning, the staff is beyonf helpful and the amenities are very nice!! I HATE when hotels give you a Shampoo/Conditioner in one.. so its nice to have both shampoo AND conditioner, especially since i have very long hair and cannot comb it without conditioner!! LOL if you have a chance to visit to salt lake, do yourself a favor and check out this hotel... its one of a kind and a gem.

Room Tip: get a room with a jacuzzi tub!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PKJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I was recommended by friends to stay here and I am so happy I took the advise! All the beds are memory foam so of coarse I just slept like a baby! It is well maintained, staff was fabulous and clean! Since its a historic building it just made it so charming and unique! Will be back here again and again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I realize many registers show this hotel as a three star, but there were too many problems here. They have taken a grand dame of SLC hotels and have done nice work in areas, but there are a lot of deficiencies. The paint was really peeling from window frames, the wallpaper was peeling in the bath and the tightness of the room was more extreme than I expected even after reading how small the rooms were. The pull down window shade left much to be desired. (The Tempurpedic beds were very comfortable!) This is not a hotel where I would ever recommend taking children as the noise level from room to room or in the hallways is just too distracting. Keep up the work and it will hit four stars, but it just has a long way left to go. It is wonderful to see something so historic being preserved. The lobby area is huge and has a beautiful fireplace and some lovely antiques. The old elevator is, well, old, but it is pretty cool.

Room Tip: Request outside rooms so you don't have to stare at the ceiling of the outer levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cruiserspecialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salt Lake City hotels

Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

So wonderful to be excited about a hotel. It was a million times better than I hoped. The bed was better than our comfy bed at home and the decor was pleasing and very well done. It's marvelous to have a choice from all the "box" hotels. We like local!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a historical bulding! It is clean, it smells very good...a lot better than some of the "new" hotels I've stayed in. There is no hotel parking really, but being downtown...that is pretty much how most places are. The service was great and the employees were very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kadiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.1 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake Ci...
#34 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.3 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#22 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peery Hotel

Property: Peery Hotel
Address: 110 W Broadway (300 South), Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peery Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peery Hotel, established in 1910, is a historic landmark hotel whose architecture is rooted in the Early Prairie and classical revival styles of the time. The renovation of this Grand Dame pays homage to the many time periods during its operation, thereby creating true American Heritage style. The interiors have a "collected over time" feel with unique and unexpected art throughout. Many vintage inspired pieces are mixed with some of the original antique pieces creating a fresh historic feel that is more unique than the heavy traditional hotels of old. The hotel is inclusive and accessible to the business and vacation traveler alike. The Peery is a historic hotel with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Peery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peery Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah
Peery Salt Lake City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing