We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Peery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peery Hotel
Ranked #48 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    163
    82
    51
    48
See reviews for
64
169
57
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

What a perfect place to stay. My husband and I stayed in Salt Lake City and I chose the Peery because of its downtown location and history. The lobby was impressive opulence, beautifully maintained and the antiques were outstanding. All of the hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable. offering recommendations for places to see and restaurants to visit. Anything we requested they delivered on. You MUST stay here!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeeryHotel, Manager at Peery Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

William Powers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is right downtown and the staff is so nice. Even though it was built in 1910 they have done a great job in remodeling. We stayed there last night because in Utah it is only about 10 degrees outside and our furnance decided to committ suicide, there was no way I was going freeze another night and since we both work downtown I wanted a downtown hotel to drive to work this morning, This is a very classy place as long as you remember just how old it is, We got a double room. The beds have wonderful canapies over them and those memory mattresses are really nice, But........... The heater in our room was not working (lol I know we went there to get warm) but they did bring up two large space heaters that did a very good job of warming the bed area. The bathroom did not get warm and it had no outlets in it, and it was so small that you had to sit across the toilet seat so your knees to not hit the ttub. And no room for the sink so it was out in the bedroom area. to be honest my husband and I had a great time because we could only laugh at the ironey of staying in a hotel to get warm and the hotel room heaters did not work either! LOL

Room Tip: umm do not chose room 246 as the heat does not work. I am not ever sure if this hotel is aircondtion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The lobby area was great, the rooms were quite large, and the staff were helpful. It was very quiet for being a holiday (between Christmas and New Years). The Temp. beds were very comfortable. Great restaurants nearby, and a short walk to the Temple and the City Creek Shopping Mall.
We had to ask for more toilet paper twice, since no extra rolls were in the bathroom. The coffee and apple cider were great, but we wished they were available at other times than just in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stay here every year for our anniversary and never regret it. You can stay in a fancy brand new Marriott or Hyatt pretty much anywhere, but it's rare to find an old hotel that's been preserved as well as the Peery. The staff was friendly, the room was very clean, and it is always decorated BEAUTIFULLY for Christmas! It's within walking distance of everything in downtown SLC, including tons of fantastic places to eat and Temple Square. Plus, the amazing king size memory foam mattress made it worth a return stay all on its own. We'll be back again next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a king suite or double queen room. The normal king rooms are pretty teensy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Peery Hotel. I had read previous reviews that stated the rooms were small; I would have to say we had more than enough room for the two of us. The bathroom was a bit small and was just a shower, but that was fine for us. What I loved about this hotel was the uniqueness. It felt like we were staying in an charming historic hotel rather than a plain, drab, unremarkable chain. Great location as well. The bed was huge and super comfy. I am very fussy when it comes to noise from other rooms but we had no trouble at all during our stay. We had a great view of the city, and parking was only $10.00. There was a nice selection of coffee and tea available in the morning in the lobby which we took advantage of. The staff was friendly at check in and check out, and housekeeping did a great job. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blahmonstergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Peery was amazing. We went there for 2 nights for our honeymoon. They upgraded our room for free when we checked in because it was our honeymoon and they had an upgrade available. We had an amazing room. The bed was fantastic and very comfortable. We had a problem with the room across the way being very loud at about midnight, my husband called down and they came up immediately to warn the party. After about 20 minutes we called again to let them know that they noise was still terrible and the nightstaff came right up after our call and broke up the party and stayed until they stopped making noise. The quickest response i have ever received. Also the staff was extremely helpful, they offered suggestions on places to eat when we asked and when we called to ask where we could buy a bottle opener for our sparkling cider someone brought one right up that we used and they simply asked that we leave it in the room when we checked out. The bathtub was very comfortable and larger than i expected considering when the hotel was built. I am tall but i was still able to completely fit in the tub. Overall they made our honeymoon better than i think it could have been anywhere else in Salt Lake. The price was reasonable and we were very satisfied. The only problem that i see i that you have to pay for parking but we just left our car with my family and rode the Trax home.

Room Tip: The Rooms in the middle of the hotel are quieter than those towards the outside. Also, ask if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.4 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake Ci...
#32 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#45 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peery Hotel

Property: Peery Hotel
Address: 110 W Broadway (300 South), Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peery Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peery Hotel, established in 1910, is a historic landmark hotel whose architecture is rooted in the Early Prairie and classical revival styles of the time. The renovation of this Grand Dame pays homage to the many time periods during its operation, thereby creating true American Heritage style. The interiors have a "collected over time" feel with unique and unexpected art throughout. Many vintage inspired pieces are mixed with some of the original antique pieces creating a fresh historic feel that is more unique than the heavy traditional hotels of old. The hotel is inclusive and accessible to the business and vacation traveler alike. The Peery is a historic hotel with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Peery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peery Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah
Peery Salt Lake City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing