We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel - close to airport but far from town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Bellingham, WA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Okay hotel - close to airport but far from town”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here on my recent visit to Salt Lake City. Since I was picking up two friends at the airport the next day, I decided to stay at this hotel since it was close to the airport. The hotel was very hard to find. I drove in circles several times before finally heading on the road towards Reno and then spotting the turnoff! At check-in, I presented the clerk with a coupon printed out from Hotelcoupons.com but he didn't recognize it and asked several questions about where I got it. I then said "Would it be better if I brought in the one from the coupon book itself?" He said to bring it in and he would look at it so I ran out to my car and got it. Even once he saw the coupon, it seems like he had never seen one before even though these coupon books are everywhere and I'm sure others must have used them. He excepted the $51 a night coupon and I got my room. The room was very small but was sufficient since it was only me. The place seemed pretty clean but when I went to take a bath there were several hairs in the tub - a couple around the drain and a couple more at the other end and on the shower curtain - so needless to say I didn't take a bath that night. It was pretty late when I got in so I just went to bed - otherwise I would have asked for a different room. The breakfast the next morning was very nice - lots of choices and the variety of food items was restocked as things were eaten or drank. The computer in the lobby was nice and Internet service fast. There were several vending machines for sodas and drinks and also a counter where you could purchase ice cream, popcorn and snack items which was nice. All in all - some good things and some not so good.

Room Tip: From the photos, it looked like the rooms with two beds were much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyloufromwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelslc, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Cindy, thank you so much for giving us a very important feedback. We are located off of I-80 west just past the airport. We are just north off of the freeway with great visibility from freeway itself. Downtown is only about 5-6 miles away providing great value for our guests without the high downtown prices. I am apologize that your bathroom didn't seem clean and had hair left over, we will go over this with our housekeeping department and provide more training. I apologize for the lapse in service. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and this is certainly not acceptable. I am happy that you found the room and overall hotel clean. We have an extensive breakfast every morning for our guest to have them get started on right foot. Please do consider us again on your next visit to Salt Lake City. Thank you so much for choosing Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    274
    234
    84
    79
See reviews for
292
214
103
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here the day before a flight. The hotel is cheap, clean and convenient. They provide a very good continental breakfast including waffles and a free shuttle service. Very good value for the money. I would definitively come back.

Note that there are no restaurants at walking distance so you need the car. But in 5 minutes you can reach downtown where a large number of option is available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pier Luca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelslc, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham. I am very happy to hear you found such a great value at our hotel. We are very convieniently located just 5 minutes from the airport making us the ideal location for airport travelers. We do have a great FREE continental breakfast every morning which is the perfect way to start off the day! I am very happy that you got to enjoy all the amenities we have to offer. Please do give us a call next time you are in Salt Lake City. We would love to have you as our guest again and deliver the same 5 STAR EXPERIENCE again. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockett, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I was driving back from Virginia to California with my Daughter after she graduated from college, this was our 4th and final pit stop on the trip. I would rank this hotel #1 on this road trip, couldn't be happier with the price, the cleanliness of the room, the staff or the location. I would recommend this hotel to anyone passing through SLC

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelslc, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hello Robert, Congratulations on your daughter graduating from college. I am sure she is excited to begin her life post college! Thank you so much for taking the time out to give us the feedback on your stay. I am very happy that you found our hotel to be YOUR #1 on your long road trip. We pride ourselves on being one of the friendliest and cleanest hotels in the area. There is no bigger compliment for my staff to hear that our guest left our hotel feeling satisfied and willing to recommend us to others. Please do give us a call again next time you are in Salt Lake City or passing through, we would love to have you as our guest! Thank you so much for choosing Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#21 of 75 in Salt Lake City
259 reviews
2.4 mi away
Airport Inn Hotel
Airport Inn Hotel
#56 of 75 in Salt Lake City
447 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn Salt Lake City Airport
Rodeway Inn Salt Lake City Airpo...
#51 of 75 in Salt Lake City
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#33 of 75 in Salt Lake City
681 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Salt Lake City
Quality Inn & Suites Salt Lake C...
#53 of 75 in Salt Lake City
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Airport
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Airpo...
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport
Address: 61 N Tommy Thompson Rd, Salt Lake City, UT 84116-2819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Salt Lake City International Airport, Ski Resorts and Hill Air Force Base. Free Shuttle to and from the Airport.For comfortable rooms at an affordable price, book your stay at Microtel Salt Lake City Airport hotel near Utah’s Hogle Zoo. We offer free parking for your vehicle so you can easily enjoy all the area has to offer. Ask us about our Park N Fly options and save even more!!Greet the day with free continental breakfast before working out in our fitness center. Our pet-friendly Salt Lake City hotel offers suites as well as handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Salt Lake City Airport
Microtel Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport Hotel Salt Lake City
Microtel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Microtel
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing